boardhome
Today's Date:

Licensure Information
Licensee Lookup
Licensure with the Board
Applications and Forms
Fees
Education
FAQ
Renew Your License
Change Your Address
Application Status
Print copy of your license

Publications
Publications
Related Links

Complaint/Board Order Information
Board Orders
File a Complaint
What Can I Expect When a Complaint is Filed Against Me?


Board Information/Laws and Policies
Laws/Policies
FOIA Requests
Minutes
Board Members
Agendas
Board Meeting Calendar

Contact Us

Telephone: (803) 896-4800
Email: contactllr@llr.sc.gov

Molly Price
Administrator

Theresa Garner
Program Assistant

Georgia Lewis
Advice Attorney




South Carolina Auctioneers' Commission

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLYING FOR AN AUCTION FIRM LICENSE
Read instructions carefully before filling out application forms.

(1) Complete the application form.  Application must include photograph and notarized signature.

(2) Certified check or money order in the amount of $435 ($300 two-year license fee, $100 recovery fund fee, $25 examination fee and $10 credit report fee). If you are exempt from taking the auction firm examination please only submit a certified check or Money order in the amount of $410.

(3) Firm applicants must take a written examination, unless the individual designated as the applicant is a licensed auctioneer. (Licensed real estate brokers and real estate firm applicants are not required to take the auction firm examination if they have associated themselves with a licensed auctioneer to handle transactions peculiar to the auction profession.)

(4) Along with the application, SC applicants must submit a criminal history conviction record from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) www.sled.state.sc.us or equivalent agency located in the applicant's resident state.

(5) All applicants must complete the Escrow/Trust Account Certification Affidavit and have it notarized.

(6) Out-of-state firms applying for a license, complete the Designation of Agent for the Service of Process form provided. The form must be notarized. Partners or officers of a firm or company must sign as principals for the firm or company.
Return the completed packet to:

S.C. Dept. Of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Auctioneers' Commission
Post Office Box 11329
Columbia, South Carolina 29211-1329
(803) 896-4800 FAX (803) 896-4484
Your application will not be considered for testing or licensing until the entire packet is completed.
You will be notified by mail of your scheduled examination date, if required.


INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLYING FOR AN AUCTIONEER OR APPRENTICE AUCTIONEER LICENSE

All auctioneer applicants must either be (1) licensed in a reciprocal state; (2) have completed one- year apprentice auctioneer program in South Carolina; or (3) have successfully completed an accredited auction school.
Please submit the following:

(1) Completed application form and affidavit of eligibility. (Application must include notarized signature and photograph.) Apprentice auctioneer applicants must have the supervising auctioneer complete item 17 on the application.

(2) Certified check or money order in the amount of $435. ($300 two-year license fee, $100 recovery fund fee, $25 examination fee and $10 credit report fee.) Reciprocal applicants must submit $410 since no examination is required.  Apprentice auctioneer license fee is $235 for a one-year license.

(3) Auctioneer applicant must submit either a copy of diploma or notarized evaluation statement from apprentice supervisor. Reciprocal Auctioneer applicant must submit a certification letter from your resident state's licensing board or commission indicating your auctioneer license in that state is current and in good standing.

(4) Application must include a criminal history conviction record from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) or equivalent State Law Enforcement Agency in the applicant's resident state.

(5) Applicant must include the completed Escrow/Trust Account Certification Affidavit and have it notarized.

(6) Non-resident applicants must complete the Designation of Agent for the Service of Process form provided. This form must be notarized.
Return the completed packet to:

S.C. Dept. of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Auctioneers' Commission
Post Office Box 11329
Columbia, South Carolina 29211-1329
(803) 896-4800 FAX (803) 896-4484

Your application will not be considered for testing or licensing until the entire packet is completed.

You will be notified by mail of your scheduled examination date, if required.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.,m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.