|Board Phone:||(803) 896-4670|
|Board Staff:||Jeanie Rose|
|Board Staff:||Norma McAllister|
|Advice Counsel:  ||Georgia Lewis   **|
|Directions:||110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC|
**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.
General License Requirements:
(1) 18 years of age. (2) Not have been convicted of a felony or any other crime involving fraud or moral turpitude within the preceding five (5) years. (3) Not have had an auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer or auction firm license revoked within preceding five years. (4) Payment of a fee to the Auctioneer Recovery Fund. (5) Submission of a criminal history conviction record from SLED or from an equivalent agency if applicant is from another state. (6) A revoked license may be reinstated upon an affirmative vote of a majority of Commission members. (7) The Commission may consider an applicant's credit record and auctioneering license disciplinary history. A $10 fee must be paid for applicant's credit investigation.
(1) Submission of a written application on a form approved by the Commission. (2) Satisfactory completion of a written examination approved by the Commission (3) An apprentice auctioneer must name a licensed auctioneer to serve as the supervisor of the apprentice.
(1) Submission of a written application on a form approved by the Commission. (2) Has held an apprentice auctioneer license, served as an apprentice auctioneer for the preceding year and has taken a written examination approved by the Commission and performed on it to the satisfaction of the Commission. An apprentice auctioneer must include an evaluation by his/her supervisor. (3) A person who has successfully completed the equivalent of at least 80 hours of classroom instruction in a course in auctioneering at an institution approved by the Commission may be licensed as an auctioneer without holding an apprentice license and serving as an apprentice for one year. A transcript is required. Satisfactory completion of a written examination provided by the Commission is required.
(1) An individual, partnership, corporation, or any other legal or commercial entity, upon written application on a form approved by the Commission may be licensed as an auction firm. (2) Payment of fee to the Auctioneer Recovery Fund and other fees as determined by the Commission. (3) A designated person must satisfactorily complete a written examination approved by the Commission. (An individual who is licensed as an auctioneer in South Carolina and who is the designated person applying for an auction firm license is not required to take the auction firm examination.)