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General and Mechanical Contractor
Information for Better Compliance

South Carolina's

What’s Inside

South Carolina Department of
Labor, Licensing and Regulation

General And Mechanical
Contractor License

Requirements
If an entity or

individual in this state is
engaging in regulated
general or mechanical

commercial construction
work in an amount exceeding

$5,000, which includes the total cost of
construction for the project, a general or
mechanical contractor license issued by the
South Carolina Contractors’ Licensing
Board is required. The total cost of
construction is defined by the total cost of
labor, profit and materials, regardless of
who pays for the materials. A licensed
general or mechanical contractor may
engage in commercial and residential
construction. If a contractor is solely
engaging in residential construction, he/she
must be licensed or registered by the South
Carolina Residential Builders Commission
and cannot perform regulated general or
mechanical construction work in excess of
$5,000.

A general or mechanical contractor
performing residential work must comply
with the Contractors’ Licensing Board
licensing law, not the Residential Builders
Commission statutes. The statutes regulat-
ing general and mechanical contractors are
found in General and Mechanical contract-
ing statutes, Sections 40-11-5 through 40-
11-430 of the 1976 South Carolina Code of
Laws, as amended. The regulations are
found in Sections 29-1 through 29-10.
Definitions for the different types of work
regulated are found in 40-11-410. Section
40-11-430 relates to issuing building
permits. Section 40-11-360 relates to
situations not requiring licensure. Disci-
plinary actions are found in Section 40-11-
110. Section 40-11-340 states an entity
licensed under Section 40-11-410(1)(2)
and (3) may act as the sole prime general
contractor on a project if 40 percent or
more of the total cost of construction falls

The regulation of burglar
alarm system businesses was
introduced in 1986 under Act
Number 512 and became
effective July 1, 1987. The
new law requires any entity
that engages in burglar alarm
work to have a burglar alarm

license issued by the South Carolina
Contractors’ Licensing Board. The require-
ment to have a fire alarm license became
effective on January 1, 1993, under Act
Number 360.This legislation required
licensure for burglar and fire alarm work
with limited provisions for enforcement.

Burglar and Fire Alarm Licensing in
South Carolina

The alarm statutes were totally revised
under Act 367, which became effective
January 1, 2001. The revised statutes
provided a list of 24 grounds for the Board
to use to take disciplinary action against
anyone in violation of the alarm statutes. In
addition, the Act provided the Board with
the ability to issue a fine up to $5,000 for
each violation of the statutes. The depart-
ment was given the authority to issue a
citation in the amount of $500 for each
violation and issue a Cease and Desist Order
(C&D) for licensed and unlicensed persons

General and Mechanical Contractor
Compliance Information
Continued on page 4 &5

Bugular and Alarm Information
Continued on page 3
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The “Contractors’ Review” is a publication of
the S.C. Contractors’ Licensing Board and the
South Carolina Department of Labor,
Licensing and Regulation. It is distributed
three times annually to licensees, building
officials, architects, awarding authorities and
various federal, state and local government
officials. Suggestions for articles  in this
newsletter are welcome. Send written
notification to Board Administrator Ron
Galloway, or call him at (803) 896-4686.

BOARD MEMBERS

Joe Chandler, Chairman, Public Utility
Contractor Member

Greenwood

Frank Walker, Vice Chairman, Electrical
Contractor Member

Rock Hill

Lewis Caswell, HVAC Contractor Member
Columbia

Daniel Lehman, Burglar / Fire Alarm
Contractor Member

Edgemoor

Mark G. Plyler, At-Large Public Member
Columbia

Wendi J. Nance, At-Large Public Member
Columbia

James T. Tharp, Building Contractor Member
Columbia

Kimberly L. Lineberger, Highway Contractor
Member

Greer

TELEPHONE NUMBERS
General Information:           (803) 896-4686
Licensing:
   General Contractor
       Tracy Gunter             (803) 896-4608
   Mechanical Contractor
       Rhonda Jackson            (803) 896-4627
    Alarm and Fire Sprinkler:
       Patti Muckelvaney         (803) 896-4624
   Inspections:
       Chas Nicholson             (803) 896-4611
       Stan Bowen              (803) 896-4856
       Andy Dempsy              (803) 896-4820
   Complaint and Violation Compliance:
       Joyce Thurber              (803) 896-4634
Licensing Fax:              (803) 896-4701
Compliance Fax:              (803) 896-4364

All 2003-2004 South Carolina Fire
Sprinkler Contractor licenses issued by this
Board will expire at midnight July 31,
2004. A 2004-2005 renewal application
will be mailed to each fire sprinkler
licensee during the month of June. The
renewal fee is $100, which includes one
qualifier. All additional qualifiers must pay
$100 each. Please include your Certificate
of Insurance with the renewal form that
lists the South Carolina Contractors’
Licensing Board as the certificate holder.

Renewal applications received after July
31, 2004, cannot be accepted, per statute.
The application will be returned to the

License Renewal for Fire Sprinkler
Contractors for 2004-2005

Administrator’s Corner
The following is a clarification as to when an entity may bid concrete or struc-

tural framing work. If either type of work exceeds $5,000 and the entity performing the
work is the prime contractor for the work to be performed and the work is not ancillary to
the construction of a building, a general contractor license with either a concrete or
structural framing classification must be obtained. A prime contractor is an entity that has
a contract directly with the owner to perform the work. Ancillary is defined as being
auxiliary or subordinate.

A general contractor with a building classification may perform this type work if the
work is ancillary to a building in which the prime contractor has a contract to construct.
He/she may not bid concrete or structural framing work if the work is not ancillary or
subordinate to any type of building construction, which the contractor may legally
construct.

applicant, and the licensee must complete
an original application and pay the original
application fee of $250 in order to receive
the fire sprinkler contractor license.
Grandfather qualifier certification cards
that are not renewed by midnight July 31
will expire and cannot be renewed without
the NICET Level 3 certification.

In the event you do not receive your
renewal application by July 5, 2004, please
call the Board’s fire sprinkler licensing
section and ask for a duplicate fire sprin-
kler renewal application. The Board’s
telephone number is (803) 896-4624 or
(803) 896-4686.

2004 Board Meeting

Date                     Time                     Location                                      Room #

April 15 10 a.m. Kingstree Building, Synergy Office Park 111
Columbia, S.C.

July 15 10 a.m. Kingstree Building, Synergy Office Park 111
Columbia, S.C.

October 21 10 a.m. Kingstree Building, Synergy Office Park 111
Columbia, S.C.

Ron Galloway
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A licensed general
or mechanical contrac-
tor may utilize the
services of unlicensed
subcontractors to
perform work within
the limits of the

licensee’s license group
and license classification or sub-classifica-
tion, in accordance with Section 40-11-
270(C) of the 1976 Code of Laws of South
Carolina, as amended.

Section 40-11-270(C) expressly
provides that licensees may utilize the
services of unlicensed subcontractors to
perform work within the limits of the
licensee’s license group and license
classification or sub-classification, pro-
vided the licensee provides supervision.
The licensee is fully responsible for any
violations of the chapter resulting from the
actions of unlicensed subcontractors
performing work for the licensee. There-
fore, in accordance with Section 40-11-
270(C), subcontractors working for a
licensed general or mechanical contractor

who provides supervision are not required
to be licensed in order to engage in
construction that is within the licensee’s
classification and group limitation, regard-
less of whether the amount of each
individual’s portion of the project exceeds
$5,000.

The statutory authority to utilize
unlicensed subcontractors is vested in
licensed general or mechanical contractors
under Section 40-11-270(C), as mentioned
above.  Consistent with general contract
law, an unlicensed subcontractor may
utilize another unlicensed subcontractor to
fulfill the contractual obligation to perform
the work for the licensee, unless the
contract expressly prohibits such action.
Consequently, a licensee would have to
refer to the contract to determine whether a
right exists under its terms to reject other
unlicensed persons employed by the
subcontractor to fulfill the contract.  Only a
court has jurisdiction to enforce the
provisions of a contract.

A licensed general or mechanical
contractor may not utilize an unlicensed

Clarification for Hiring Unlicensed Contractors
subcontractor to perform work that is
outside the licensee’s classification or
group limitation.  Section 40-11-270(C)
authorizes unlicensed persons to perform
work that is within the limitations of the
licensee’s license group or classification or
sub-classification, provided the licensee
provides supervision.  Therefore, if the
work is outside the authorized scope of
authorized practice for the licensee, an
unlicensed subcontractor may not perform
the work if a license is otherwise required.
See Section 40-11-30, which prohibits
unlicensed practice. A contractor with a
properly awarded contract for a project
may hire properly licensed subcontractors
for work not within the license classifica-
tion of the bid holder. Example: A general
contactor with a building classification to
build a building may subcontract mechani-
cal work or other work not covered under
the licensee’s license classification that
exceeds $5,000 for each classification of
regulated work, provided the work is
subcontracted to a properly licensed
contractor.

in violation of the law, which included
hiring or aiding and abetting an unlicensed
contractor. If the C&D is violated, the
department may refer the matter to an
Administrative Law Judge for consideration
of a possible $10,000 fine and/or imprison-
ment. The fine for each violation of
unlicensed activity, if submitted through a
magistrate or solicitor, went from $500 to
$5,000.

Recently an issue concerning the use of
registered employees came before the
department. The following paragraph is a
clarification for the registration of employ-
ees.

Burglar alarm business employees who
have access to burglar alarm records or have
information pertaining to a burglar alarm
system that could compromise the system
or who perform any activity or work which
involves the set-up, installation or connec-
tion to a burglar alarm system in any
manner at a client’s address must be
registered with the Board under the burglar
alarm license belonging to the business
engaging in work pertaining to an alarm

system. The employee may be full time or
part time and issued an IRS Form W-2 for
wage withholding or an IRS Form 1099 for
compensation as an independent contractor
or employee (contract employee).

Licensees are reminded that they are
fully responsible for the actions of regular
and contract employees who represent one
or more alarm businesses. An employee
selling burglar alarm systems for more than
one licensee must be registered with all
burglar alarm businesses that the employee
represents. Registered contract employees
may not indicate to prospective customers
that he/she is a burglar alarm entity, which is
offering free burglar systems or installation
or activation of a burglar alarm system and
will have a licensed burglar business to
install the system. Such conduct is engaging
in the burglar alarm business and requires
licensure. Offers to sell, install or activate a
burglar alarm system must be made in the
name of the licensed burglar alarm business
in which the registered contract represents.

If a licensee has branch offices, each
branch office must have a primary qualify-

ing party assigned to that office and also
have a license number assigned to that
office. Please refer to Section 40-79-220(A)
of the Code of laws of South Carolina, as
amended, for further clarification. The
requirements for registered employees are
found in Section 40-11-220 (C).

A copy of the alarm statutes may be
obtained from the Board’s Web site,
www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Contractors,
download Chapter 79, Burglar and Fire
Alarm Statutes, laws/policies, Code of
Laws, or call the office for a copy, (803)
896-4686. Burglar and fire alarm licensees
may also be found on the Board’s Web site.

In conclusion, current actions the Board
may take against a licensee include license
cancellation, suspension, revocation or
restriction of the authorization to practice or
the issuance of a fine or citation. Anyone
aware of an entity or individual that is in
violation of the contracting laws in this state
may anonymously contact the department
and report the violation. All reports of
violations of the alarm statutes have been
and will be addressed upon receipt.

Bugular and Alarm Information Continued from page 1
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General And Mechanical Contractor
License Requirements

If an entity or individual in this state is
engaging in regulated general or mechani-
cal commercial construction work in an
amount exceeding $5,000, which includes
the total cost of construction for the
project, a general or mechanical contractor
license issued by the South Carolina
Contractors’ Licensing Board is required.
The total cost of construction is defined by
the total cost of labor, profit and materials,
regardless of who pays for the materials. A
licensed general or mechanical contractor
may engage in commercial and residential
construction. If a contractor is solely
engaging in residential construction, he/she
must be licensed or registered by the South
Carolina Residential Builders Commission
and cannot perform regulated general or
mechanical construction work in excess of
$5,000.

A general or mechanical contractor
performing residential work must comply
with the Contractors’ Licensing Board
licensing law, not the Residential Builders
Commission statutes. The statutes regulat-
ing general and mechanical contractors are
found in General and Mechanical contract-
ing statutes, Sections 40-11-5 through 40-
11-430 of the 1976 South Carolina Code of
Laws, as amended. The regulations are
found in Sections 29-1 through 29-10.
Definitions for the different types of work
regulated are found in 40-11-410. Section
40-11-430 relates to issuing building
permits. Section 40-11-360 relates to
situations not requiring licensure. Disci-
plinary actions are found in Section 40-11-
110. Section 40-11-340 states an entity
licensed under Section 40-11-410(1)(2)
and (3) may act as the sole prime general
contractor on a project if 40 percent or
more of the total cost of construction falls
under one or more of the licensee’s license
or sub-classifications. A properly licensed
mechanical contracting entity must have 51
percent of its license sub-classification in a
construction project to be listed as the sole
prime contractor.

General And Mechanical Contractor
License

A general and mechanical contractor
license is in the form of a small wallet-size
card. The wallet card lists the contractor’s

name and address, abbreviated license
classifications and monetary group
limitations per project. This is the actual
commercial contractor license. The wallet
card lists the date the license was issued
and the date it expires.

Qualifying Party Certificate Of Achieve-
ment

A Certificate of Achievement is issued
to an individual and indicates the
examination(s) the individual has passed
which enables the individual to be a
qualifying party for the licensee. The
qualifying party Certificate of Achieve-
ment indicates the individual is qualified to
enable a contracting entity to engage in
certain regulated construction. The
Qualifying Party Certificate of Achieve-
ment is not a license.  The business has the
license, not the qualifying party. In order to
qualify for examination, the qualifying
party must have two years of experience
within the last five years in the classifica-
tion in which he/she is applying.  A
municipal business licensing office and the
building officials’ office should not issue a
business license or building permit based
upon a wall certificate or certificate of
achievement.

If a qualifying party does not qualify, a
contracting business regulated by the
Board within four years of passing the
required examinations, he/she will lose
qualifying party qualifications. If a
qualifying party leaves the employment of
the licensee and does not qualify another
licensee for four consecutive years, the
licensee will lose his/her qualifying party
qualifications and must pass the required
exams to qualify for another licensee. If the
qualifying party leaves the employment of
the entity, both the entity and qualifying
party must notify the department in writing
within 15 days of departure. If the depart-
ment is not notified within 15 days, the
entity’s license will be immediately
cancelled. If proper notification is made,
the license remains in good standing for 90
days until the entity can get another
qualifying party to qualify the entity to
engage in business.

General And Mechanical Monetary
License Group Limitations Per Project

All general and mechanical contractors

are issued a license classification based
upon the type of regulated work in which
the contractor is qualified and has received
a license for a particular scope of regulated
work. General and mechanical contractors
are also issued a group limitation for each
separate project. This means the contractor
is limited to a certain dollar value per
project. This dollar value limitation is based
upon the minimum net worth of the entity
as established in Section 40-11-260.

The total dollar value per project may
not exceed the contractor’s group limitation
for groups #1 through #4. Group #-5
contractors are not limited to a dollar value
per project. Group #5 is unlimited in the
amount of work that the contractor may
perform.

In order to determine if a contractor is
within its designated monetary group
limitation, the total cost of construction for
the work to be performed, which includes
the total cost of labor, profit, and material,
is within the licensee’s group limitation.
This group limitation is determined by the
financial net worth of the entity seeking
licensure. The net worth is determined by
submitting a financial statement at the time
of licensure or during license renewal. The
licensee may never go below its required
net worth. If the licensee goes below the
required net worth for the group limitation
assigned to the license, the licensee must
notify the department immediately. The
licensee’s group limitation will be reas-
signed to the proper group limit based upon
the submittal of a new financial statement.
Please refer to Section 40-11-260 for
explicit details.

License group limitations are listed on
backside of the contractor’s license wallet
card along with the abbreviation of the
classification(s) of work the contractor may
perform.

Contractor Classifications
Definitions for the different classifica-

tions of work regulated are found in
Section 40-11-410.

(A) A general contractor’s license is
limited to four major classifications.  They
are building, highway, public utility, and
specialty. Under these classifications, there
are 26 sub-classifications.

General and Mechanical Compliance Information Continued from page 1
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(1) The building classification is the
only major classification that has two
different examinations, the limited and
unlimited building exam.

 (a) The general contractor limited
building exam allows a contractor to apply
for a contractor license to build structures
from the ground up or perform renovation
work and make additions to existing
structures. New construction from the
ground up and additions for these struc-
tures is limited to three stories in height.
Renovations to existing buildings do not
have a height restriction. If a contractor
wants to engage in work in excess of three
stories in height, the unlimited general
contractor exam must be taken.

 (b) The general contractor unlimited
building exam allows a contractor to apply
for a contractor license to build structures
from the ground up or perform renovation
work or make additions to existing
structures, regardless of the height.

(B) A mechanical contractor’s license
has six major classifications. The mechani-
cal classifications are: plumbing, heating,
electrical, lightening protection, air
conditioning and packaged equipment.

Performing Contracting Work
An individual or entity may not perform

or offer (submit a bid in any form) to
perform regulated general or mechanical
contracting work for which the total cost of
construction is greater than $5,000. (See
Section 40-11-30.) If regulated commercial
work is $5,000 or less, state law does not
require a license. However, a municipality
or county may adopt an ordinance requir-

ing a contractor to have a license for
commercial work regardless of the cost of
the project.

A subcontractor performing work for a
general or mechanical contractor is not
required to have a license if the work
performed falls within the general or
mechanical contractor’s license
classification(s). The licensed contractor
hiring an unlicensed subcontractor must
supervise and be responsible for the sub’s
work. Please refer to Section 40-11-270 for
further clarification.

Section 40-11-340 states that an entity
licensed under Section 40-11-410(1)(2)
and (3) may act as the sole prime general
contractor on a project if 40 percent or
more of the total cost of construction falls
under one or more of the licensee’s license
or sub-classifications. A properly licensed
mechanical contracting entity must have 51
percent of its license sub-classification in a
construction project to be listed as the sole
prime contractor.

General and mechanical contractors
must advertise and engage in regulated
contracting work in the exact name that
appears on the entities’ contractor license.
Failure to do so may result in a $500
citation.

It is unlawful for a licensed contractor to
bid in any name other than the exact name
that appears on its contractor license card.
If the contractor bids in another name, bids
over the group monetary limitation, or
outside the classification in which the
contractor is licensed, the licensee is
subject to disciplinary action under

Sections 40-11-110 and/or 40-11-370.
Section 110 also provides a list of possible
violations of the contracting statutes.

If an improperly licensed contractor is
found on a project, the contractor may be
issued a fine and required to leave the
project and not return. This can cause
problems for the contractor and the owner
and can be very costly to both. The owner
may be issued a fine for hiring an unli-
censed contractor and may have to find
another contractor to finish the remaining
construction.

It is unlawful for an owner, a construc-
tion manager, a prime contractor, or any
other entity with contracting or hiring
authority on any construction project to
divide work into portions so as to avoid the
requirements of the state contracting
statutes. The department is authorized to
issue a Cease and Desist Order (C & D) to
anyone for contracting without a proper
contractor license. If an individual or entity
receiving a Cease and Desist Order fails to
stop the contracting work after the issuance
of a C & D, the matter may be referred to
an Administrative Law Judge for a possible
fine of up to $10,000 and/or imprisonment.

Copies of the contracting statutes
regulated by the Board, are available at the
Board’s Web site, www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/
Contractors. Please refer to the Code of
Laws and Regulations (Practice Act).
Licensee look-up, which allows you to look
up the name or license number of general
and mechanical contractors licensed with
the Board also is on the Web site.

Have You Moved? 

It is the responsibility of the licensees to keep the board office aware of current address and telephone information. When these
changes occur, please notify this office immediately.

Please submit the following information:

Date: _________________________________________________________________________________

Name of Licensee: ______________________________________________________________________

Old Address: ___________________________________________________________________________

New Address: __________________________________________________________________________

Old Phone Number: _____________________________________________________________________

New Phone Number: ____________________________________________________________________

Signature: _____________________________________________________________________________

General and Mechanical Compliance Information Continued from page 4
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Recent Disciplinary Actions
Cease and Desist Orders
The following individuals and/or entities were
issued a Cease and Desist Order for performing
contracting work without a proper contractor
license, certification or registration or exceed-
ing it’s the contractor license classification or
other reasons:

• Gladney Painting and Thomas
Gladney, Columbia, S.C.

• Alpine Electrical Service nad Ivan
Richardson, Camden, S.C.

• Feltman and Associates and Dean
Feltman, Charleston, S.C.

• Mechanical Jobbers Marketing Inc.,
and Jerry Trevino, Stone Mountain,
GA

• A to Z Glass and Home Repairs,
Myrtle Beach, S.C.

• Liberty House Builders and Eddie
Hudson, Ashville, N.C.

• Concentric Project Controllers, Inc.,
and Randy Cameron, Florence, S.C.

• Richard’s Construction Company,
Woodruff, S.C.

Employers Beware!
Employers in South Carolina are required to post two employment notices from the South

Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation in a place or places where employees can
see them. These posters are: OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health) and the Labor Law Abstract
(Payment of Wages, Child Labor, Right-to-Work).
Three other state agencies also require employment postings: the Employment Security
Commission’s “Workers Pay No Part of the Cost for Job Insurance” (UCI 104) and “If You
Become Unemployed (UCI 105); the Workers’ Compensation Commission’s “Workers Comp
Works For You”; and the Human Affairs Commission’s “Equal Opportunity is the Law”.

Due to budget constraints, LLR is no longer printing these posters. They can be downloaded
from this site.

Currently, the following agencies are still printing the posters in an all-in-one format:
• S.C. Employment Security Commission, (803) 737-2474,

www.sces.org
• S.C. Human Affairs, (803) 737-7800 or 1-800-521-0725,

www.state.sc.us/schac
• S.C. Workers’ Compensation Commission, (803) 737-5700,

www.wcc.state.sc.us

• Carolina Construction Specialties,
Inc. and Nathan Hughes,
Orangeburg, S.C.

  • Cool Aid Heating & Air Condi
tioning and Sherry Hering,
Charleston, SC. Repsondent
exceeded its mechanical contrac
tor license group number 4
limitation of $125,000 for HVAC
work on a project in North
Charleston, S. C. Fine was
$1,000.

• Hill Plumbing Camden, S.C.
• G & G Maintenance, and Roger

Grier, Darlington, S.C.
• Kary Edwards Painting and Kary

Edwards, Bowman, S.C.
• T J S Home Improvement and Larry

Sanders. Columbia, S.C.
• Delfino Home Services,

Westminister, S.C.
• Dalby & Associates and Richard

Dalby, Charlotte, N.C.
• T H Douglas, Gray Court, S.C.

• R T D Associates, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.
• Johnson Sandblasting and John

Johnson, Mullins, S.C.
• 7 Fold Protective Services, Inc. and

William T. Bullard, North Myrtle
Beach, S.C.

• Carolina Industrial Services, and
William B. Dollar, Sumter, S.C.

• Fox Interiors and Paul Fox, Brooklet,
GA

• Omega Steel, Inc and Wayne
Wheeler, Bloomingdale, GA

• Purvis Painting and Ralph Purvis,
Burton, S.C.

• PCS Premier Construction Specialties
and Michael Graham, Myrtle Beach,
S.C.

• R. Irvin Shuler Builders, Santee, S.C.
• G & G Maintenance and Roger Grier,

Darlington, S.C.
• Best Price Security Systems Broker-

age, LLC and Raymond Glover

Citations Issued Continued page 7

Fax-on-Demand for Forms
You can obtain forms and other information about the South Carolina Contractors’ Licensing Board through the Fax-on-

Demand system. You will not have to wait for information to come in the mail. Applications are available at the touch of a button
and can be sent by fax directly to you. The system is voice activated. Call 24 hours a day toll free, 1-888-269-7646 and select
option number 4 for the Contractors’ Licensing Board. Follow the instructions, and state what documents you need.
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Citations Issued Continued page 8

• Robert Allen Black, Sr. Town and
State Missing Here

• Aycock Lightning Protection
Company, Inc., and Michael York,
Sumter, S.C. Respondent submitted a
bid for roofing work in Sumter, S.C.
without being properly licensed.

• Daniel Baxley, Georgetown, S.C.
Respondent engaged in electrical
work in Hemingway without being
properly licensed.

• Care Free Plumbing and Fred
Howard, Summerville, S.C. Respon-
dent exceeded their group number 4
mechanical contractor license.

• A & B Plumbing, N. Charleston, S.C.
Respondent offered to perform
plumbing work without having a
plumbing license.

• R.P. Ridgil Plumbing Company,
Ladson, S.C. Respondent submitted a
bid in excess of their mechanical
contracting license.

• Champion Services, Inc., and John
Worden. Respondent submitted a bid
for roofing work without being
properly licensed.

• Gilstap Roofing, Inc., and Charles
Gilstrap, Greenville, S.C. Respondent
performed roofing work on a
commercial building and did not have
a license to perform the work.

• Youmas Heating and Air Condition-
ing and Willie Youmas, N. Charles-
ton, S.C. Respondent submitted a bid
in excess of their mechanical
contracting license.

• Myatt & Bates Heating & Air
Corporation, Charleston, S.C.
Respondent submitted a bid in excess
of their mechanical contracting
license.

• Starr Services and Henry Wade,
Charleston, S.C. Respondent
submitted a bid in excess of their
mechanical contracting license.

• Master Mechanical Services, Inc and
Fred Wilson, St. Stephen, S.C.
Respondent submitted a bid in excess
of their mechanical contracting
license.

• Lorenz Electrical Services and John
Lorenz, Charleston, S.C. Respondent
submitted a bid in excess of their
mechanical contracting license.

• Zack Smith Paving and Sealcoat,
West Columbia, S.C. Respondent
engaged in asphalt paving work in
Chapin, S.C. without being properly
licensed.

• Spruill Design, LLC, Charleston, S.C.
Respondent submitted a bid for a

metal building without being properly
licensed.

• Advanced Services and Danny
Brown, Landrum, S.C Respondent
performed HVAC work and did not
have a proper license.

Citations Issued
      The following individuals and/or entities
were issued a citation by the department for
violation of he contracting statutes and agreed
to pay a fine:

• KAL Industrial Services and Joey
Herring, Augusta GA. Respondent
engaged in regulated construction
work and did not have a license to
perform the work. Fine was $500.

• Associated Contractors and Henry
Glover, Columbia, S.C. Respondent
exceeded their general contractor
license monetary group limitation.
Fine was $500.

• TQM Roofing and Richard Brazell,
Statesville, S.C. Respondent engaged
in regulated construction work and
did not have a license to perform the
work. Fine was $500.

• NTEC Systems, LLC and Thomas
Pontero, Marietta, GA. Respondent
engaged in regulated roofing
construction work and did not have a
license to perform the work. Fine was
$500.

• Young’s Painting Service and
Michael Young, Columbia, S.C.
Respondent exceeded their general
contractor license monetary group
limitation. Fine was $500.

• Richard’s Construction. Inc.,
Woodruff, S.C. Respondent exceeded
their general contractor license
monetary group limitation. Fine was
$500.

• Mallard Marine Construction, Inc.,
and Walt Braswell, Hilton Head, S.C.
Respondent exceeded their general
contractor license monetary group
limitation. Fine was $500.

• Simon and Watson, Charlotte, N.C.
Respondent hired an unlicensed
contractor to perform regulated
HVAC work that required a contractor
license. Fine was $500.

• Perigo Heating and Air Conditioning,
Mt. Holly, N.C. Respondent per-
formed regulated HVAC work that
required a license and did not have a
proper license to engage in the work.
Fine was $500.

Consent Orders and/or Fines Paid
The following individuals or entities agreed to a
Consent Order for violation of the contracting
statutes:

• Robert Brockmeier, Campobello, S.C.
Respondent hired two unlicensed
contractors to perform regulated
construction work on a restaurant
located in Inman, S.C. Respondent
performed work as a qualifying party
for two licensed entities; both actions
are in violation of the contracting
statutes. Fine was $5,000.

• Darr Construction Co., Trinity, N.C.
Respondent divided a regulated
contraction project into portions to
evade its group # 4 financial limita-
tion of $750,000. The project was in
the dollar amount of $2,085,000 and
located in Clover, S.C. Fine was
$5,000.

• Carolina Security and Wiring, LLC,
Greensboro, N,C. Respondent’s
employee unknowingly performed
work out of the employee’s residence
that could have been determined to be
a branch office, which required
licensure. Respondent agreed to pay a
$250 Consent Order.

• Southern Quest Construction, Inc.,
and Billy Snell, Jr., Dothan Alabama.
Respondent hired an unlicensed
contractor to perform regulated
construction that required a contractor
license. Fine was $1,300.

• Rehab Builders Inc., and Charles
Lipsky, Winston-Salem, N.C.
Respondent entered into a contract
with a sub-contractor to perform work
that exceeded the sub’s license group
limitation and divided regulated
construction work into portions to
evade requirements for proper
licensure. Fine was $4,600.

• Arrow Builders and Bill Kenneally,
Hubbard, Ohio, Respondent per-
formed a commercial up fit on a
regulated construction project located
in Columbia, S.C. and did not have a
contractor license to perform the
work. Fine was $2.000.

• Southern Coastal Maintenance
Company, Inc. and Edward
McDonnell, Murrell’s Inlet, S.C.
Respondent performed HVAC work
on a regulated construction project
and did not have a proper license to
perform the work. Fine was  $500.

• Fred’s Construction Management and
Fred Whitmire, Gray Court, S.C.
Respondent used the qualifying party
certification of Robert Brockmeir to
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obtain a contractor license when
Brockmeir was not a full-time
employee as required under the
contracting statutes. Fine was $5,000.

• Carolina Construction Specialties,
Inc., and Nathan Hughes. Respondent
performed regulated general contract-
ing work with an expired license.
Fine was $3,700.

• Rich Home Security and Elizabeth
Rich, Swansea, S.C. Respondent
performed burglar alarm installation
for two projects and did not have an
alarm license to perform the work.
Fine was $1,000.

• Pye Barker Fire and Safety, Inc.,
Kennesaw, GA. Respondent per-
formed an inspection on a fire
sprinkler system and did not have a
fire sprinkler license to perform an
inspection. Fine was $250.

• Perrigo Heating and Air Condition-
ing, Mt. Holly, S.C. Respondent does
not have a license to perform HVAC
work in Clover, S.C. and borrowed
the license of another contractor to
engage in the work. Fine was $5,000.

• Dalby and Associates and Richard
Dalby, Charlotte, N.C. Respondent
engaged in interior renovation work
for a motel located in Florence, S.C.,
and did not have a license to perform
the work. Fine was $1,900.

• Fox Interiors and Paul Fox, Brooklet,
GA. Respondent engaged in interior
renovation work for a school project
located in Beaufort, S.C., and did not
have a license to perform the work.
Fine was $900.

• G & G Maintenance and Roger Grier,
Darlington, S.C. Respondent engaged
in metal installation work at the
Maytag plant in Florence, S.C., and
required a structural shape’s license
and did not have a license to perform
the work. Fine was $1,000.

• Diversified Fire Protection,
Wilmington, N.C. Respondent
submitted three shop drawings to the
State Fire Marshal’s Office, and the
shop drawings did not have the
required signature of the individual
that prepared the drawings. Fine was
$500.

• Mock Plumbing and Mechanical, Inc
and Jack Coohey, Savannah, GA.
Respondent aided and abetted three
unlicensed contractors by hiring the
contractors to perform work that
required a state contractor license.
Fine was $2,000.

• Omega Steel and Wayne Wheeler,
Boomingdale, GA. Respondent
engaged in metal installation work at

a school in Beaufort, S.C., and
required a structural shapes license
and did not have a license to perform
the work. Fine was $700.

• Shaw Electric Repair, Gilbert, S.C.
Respondent engaged in regulated
electrical work in Lexington, S.C.,
and did not have a license to perform
the work. Fine was $1,000.

• Ronald E. Yarborough, Tega Cay,
S.C. Respondent engaged in a project
that exceeded his general contractor
group #3 monetary limitation of
$350,000. Fine was $3,000.

• Alpine Electric and Ivan Richardson,
Camden, S.C. Respondent submitted
a bid for regulated electrical work in
Kershaw County, S.C., and did not
have a license to perform the work.
Fine was $500.

• Smarr Heating and Air Conditioning,
Great Falls, S.C. Respondent allowed
an unlicensed contractor to use the
Respondent’s license to engage in
regulated electrical work. Fine was
$5,000.

• Feltman and Associates and Dean
Feltman, Charleston, S.C. Respon-
dent engaged in a roofing project that
exceeded their general contractor
license group #4 monetary limitation
of $750,000. Fine was $2,000.

• Best Mechanical and Doug Tench,
Seneca, S.C. Respondent abandoned
a construction project in Spartanburg
and failed to timely notify the Board
of filing Chapter 7 bankruptcy as
required by statute and abandoned
and defaulted the HVAC project for
the Student Life Building at
Spartanburg Technical College
located in Spartanburg, S.C.  Respon-
dents voluntarily surrendered their
mechanical contractor license and
qualifying party certificate.

• BEMCO, Charleston, S.C. The
licensee had joint examinees as the
qualifying parties for the entity. One
examinee was no longer associated
with the entity, and the entity failed to
have to a proper qualifying party to
remain in business. Fine was $5,000.

• Robert Allen Black, Sr., Rock Hill,
S.C. Respondent engaged in mechani-
cal construction work in a name other
than the exact name that appears on
his license. Fine was $500.

• Kary Edwards Painting, Harleyville,
S.C. Respondent submitted a bid that
exceeded its group number one
general contractor license. Fine was
$500.

• 7 Fold Protective Services and
William T. Bullard, N. Myrtle Beach,

S.C. Respondents engaged in burglar
alarm work and did not have a proper
license to perform the work. Fine was
$500.

• R. Irvin Builders, Santee, S.C.
Respondent submitted a bid to engage
in general contracting work without a
building classification. Fine was
$500.

• Pyrmid Construction, Inc., Easley,
S.C. Respondent divided mechanical
contracting work in portions to avoid
hiring licensed contractors to perform
the work. Fine was $500.

• S & T Roofing & Scott McPherson,
Ladson, S.C. Respondent submitted a
bid for roofing work in Summerville,
S.C. and did not have a proper license
to bid the work. Fine was $1000.

• Anderson Mechanical and Tim
Vickery, Spartanburg, S.C. Respon-
dent submitted a bid for HVAC work
in Anderson, S.C. and was not
licensed to perform the work. Fine
was $500.

• Nick Blackhurst d/b/a William
Nicholas Blackhurst, Lexington, S.C.
Respondent failed to respond to
complete repairs on a residence in the
time frame as agreed to with the
department. Fine was $500.

• BKF Builders and Brian Black,
Taylors, S.C. Respondent failed to
respond to complete repairs on a
residence in the time frame as agreed
to with the department. Fine was
$500.

• BKF Builders and Brian Black,
Taylors, S.C. Respondent failed to
respond to complete repairs on a
residence in the time frame as agreed
to with the local building official.
Fine was $1,000.

• Purvis Painting and Ralph Purvis,
Burton, S.C. Respondent performed
general contracting work on a project
in Beaufort, S.C. and did not have a
proper license to perform the work.
Fine was $1,400.

• Rogers Industrial Contractors, Inc.,
and Leonard Rogers, Hemingway,
S.C. Respondent aided and abetted
unlicensed contractors by hiring the
contractors to perform regulated
mechanical work that required
licensure. Fine was $5,000.

• Gilstap Roofing, Inc., and Charles
Gilstrap, Greenville, S.C. Respondent
performed roofing work on a
commercial building in Easley, S.C.,
and did not have a license to perform
the work. Fine was $900.

Citations Issued Continued page 9
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• American Electrical Services, Inc.,
and Robert Armstrong, Summerville,
S.C. Respondent exceeded the scope
of electrical work permitted within
the mechanical contractor electrical
classification. Fine was $1,500.

•  Youmas Heating and Air Condition-
ing, North Charleston, S.C. Respon-
dent exceeded its mechanical
contractor license monetary group
limitation. Fine was $1,000.

• Lorenz Electrical Services, Charles-
ton, S.C. Respondent exceeded its
mechanical contractor license
monetary group limitation. Fine was
$1,000.

• Myatt & Bates Heating & Air
Corporation, Charleston, S.C.
Respondent exceeded its mechanical
contractor license monetary group
limitation. Fine was $1,000.

• Emerald Plumbing, Greenwood, S.C.
Respondent aided and abetting an
unlicensed contractor to perform
contracting work when the subcon-
tractor did not have a proper license
to perform regulated work.
Fine was $500.

• J M J Masonry, Walhalla, S.C.
Respondent exceeded its general
contractor license monetary group
limitation. Fine was $5,000.

• T W J Electrical Contractors, Inc.,
Graniteville, S.C. Respondent aided
and abetted an unlicensed contractor
to perform contracting work by
loaning its license to an unlicensed
contractor which enabled the
unlicensed contractor in the perfor-
mance of regulated work. Fine was
$5,000.

• Morris Construction Company, Inc.,
and Harry Holsberg, Greenville, S.C.
Respondent failed to disclose in its
2003 mechanical renewal contractor
application of any final judgments
and liens filed against the licensee.
Fine was $500.

• Care Free Plumbing and Fred
Howard, Summerville, S.C. Respon-
dent exceeded its mechanical
contractor license monetary group
limitation. Fine was $1,000.

• A & B Plumbing and Mark Seprish,
Mt. Pleasant, S.C. Respondent
submitted a bid for plumbing work in
Charleston, S.C. and was not licensed
to perform the work. Fine was
$1,000.

• Plyler Construction and Donald
Plyler, Jefferson, S.C. Respondent
performed substandard work on a
residential structure. Fine was $1,500.

• Harris Builders & Development,
Catawba, S.C. Respondent failed to
state on its general contractor license
renewal application that the Respon-
dent had an outstanding lien or
judgment filed against Harris
Builders. Fine was $500.

• Beever Mechanical and John Beever,
Hilton Head, S.C. Respondent
entered into a joint venture bid and
was not licensed to enter into a joint
venture bid. Fine was $2,180.

• A American Electric, Inc., and Zollie
Byrd, Ravenel, S.C. Respondent
performed HVAC work and did not
have a proper license to perform the
work. Fine was $1,250.

• Richard Hardee Masonry and Richard
Hardee, Conway, S.C. Respondent
performed renovation on an existing
building and did not have a proper
general contractor license to perform
the work. Fine was $1,200.

• Precision Roofing and Mike Dunn.
Respondent performed roof work and
was not properly licensed. Fine was
$800.

Board Final Orders
• Chris Gibson, Charleston, S.C.

Respondent failed to make the
required disclosures in his 2001 and
2003 renewal application of all final
judgments, liens, arrest warrants, and
indictments filed against him. The
Board revoked his general and
mechanical contractor license and
qualifying party certificate and issued
a $5,000 fine.

• Payne-Adams Construction, Inc., and
Jessie P. Adams and Armani
Construction, Columbia, S.C.
Respondent failed to make the
required disclosures in his 2001 and
2003 renewal application of all final
judgments, liens, arrest warrants, and
indictments filed against the licensee.
Respondent failed to provide the
department with financial statements
of Payne-Adams Construction, Inc. as
requested by the department.
Respondent failed to correct code
violations as required by Richland
County. The Board revoked the
licensee’s general and mechanical
contractor license and qualifying
party certificate belonging to Jessie
Adams and issued a $5,000 fine.

• Parsons Energy and Chemicals,
Reading, PA. Respondent failed to
obtain a construction manager
registration prior to entering into an
agreement to provide construction
management services. Fine was

$5,000. A fine of $1,000 was issued
to pay for the cost of the hearing and
investigation.

• Coastline Marine Construction and
Jason Bower, Murrells Inlet, S.C.
Respondent performed substandard
work and engaged in incompetence
by installing a seawall without having
adequate knowledge and training in
the installation of vinyl seawalls. The
Board suspended the general
contractor license belonging to
Coastline Marine Construction for six
months and issued a civil penalty in
the amount of $2,500.

• Bruce Watts, Pawley’s Island, S.C.
Respondent failed to disclose three
liens on his 2001 renewal application.
Fine was $500.

• Best Electric Service and James
Tokunaga, Columbia, S.C. Respon-
dent failed to disclose in his 2000
mechanical contractor application all
final judgments and liens filed against
the licensee and failed to respond to a
directive by the department to provide
requested information. The Board
suspended the license belonging to
Best Electric Service and issued a
$5,000 fine.

• S & T Heating, Electric & Plumbing,
Laurens, S.C. Respondent agreed to
surrender its license prior to appear-
ing before the Board for charges filed
against its license for incompetence.

• Boyce & Boyce Inc., and Robert
Boyce, Florence, S.C. Respondent
were charged with incompetence and
failed to make repairs to a residential
structure as required by an  Horry
County Building Code Official. The
general contractor license belonging
to Boyce & Boyce Inc., was revoked
and was issued a $1,000 fine.

• BFC Construction Inc., and John
Luther, Greenville, S.C. Respondent
performed substandard work on a
residence and made repairs as
approved by the Board. Fine was
$2,000. Licensee was also issued a
fine of $1,020 for the cost of the
hearing.
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