Telephone: (803) 896-4588 Theresa Richardson Matteah Taylor Mary League
Advice Counsel to the Board
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels, as well as their administrative staff.
These attorneys do not provide legal advice to
parties outside LLR.
Telephone: (803) 896-4588
New regulations for the Board of Cosmetology (Document No. 4075) became final by publication in the South Carolina State Register on June 25, 2010. Regulation 35-1(G) as published requires that each school submit a surety bond in the amount of $50,000 in order to be licensed. THIS AMOUNT IS NOT REQUIRED BY LAW. South Carolina statutes require that a school submit a surety bond in the amount of $10,000 in order to be licensed. A statute cannot be changed by regulation. APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSING OF SCHOOLS MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY A BOND IN THE AMOUNT OF $10,000.