Telephone: (803) 896-4800 Molly Price Theresa Garner Hardwick Stuart
Fax: (803) 896-4424
Advice Counsel to the Board
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels, as well as their administrative staff.
These attorneys do not provide legal advice to
parties outside LLR.
Telephone: (803) 896-4800
Q. WHAT DOES A FORESTER DO?
(A) Foresters advise landowners about management of their woodland. This includes long term care; when to cut and how to cut; advice on planting needs and what species of trees to plant, at what spacing. They advise on harvesting of timber, prepare the timber for sale and make the sale for the landowner in many cases. They buy timber for wood using industries and supervise the cutting by company crews. Many industries provide forestry services for private landowners with the stipulation that their company will have the opportunity to buy timber when harvesting is done. They advise in fire prevention and assist with suppression of wildfires and assist with many other professional activities in the development, protecting and harvesting of wood products. Many are in supervisory positions including administration.
Q. DO YOU HAVE TO BE REGISTERED TO PRACTICE FORESTRY IN SOUTH CAROLINA?
(A) Yes, with very few exceptions. A landowner can do forestry work on his or her own land or a full time employee can do forestry work on the owner's land, under the owners direction. Any person can do forestry work under supervision of a registered forester.
Q. WHAT QUALIFICATIONS ARE NEEDED IN PREPARATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A FORESTER IN SOUTH CAROLINA?
(A) A B.S. Degree in Forestry, passing the SAF Certified Forester examination plus two years of experience in professional forestry work under the supervision of a registered forester; OR
six years of experience in professional forestry under the supervision of a registered forester and pass the SAF Certified Forester examination.
Have a positive recommendation from at least three foresters registered in South Carolina.
Q. DOES SOUTH CAROLINA GRANT RECIPROCITY TO FORESTERS WHO ARE REGISTERED IN OTHER STATES?
(A) Yes, for those states that have laws compatible with South Carolina's. Foresters who have not taken and passed an examination for registration may have to take the South Carolina exam.
Q WHAT IS THE PROCEDURE FOR BECOMING REGISTERED AFTER PASSING THE EXAMINATION FOR REGISTRATION?
(A) Complete the required experience. Submit a completed "Application for Registration as Forester" packet, including verification of employment and personal/professional reference forms, along with applicable fees.
Q WHAT IS THE COST OF REGISTRATION AS A FORESTER?
(A) Application Fee $30 - with "Application for Registration as Forester."
Registration Fee $40 (two-year license fee). The registration fee is prorated for applications received after April 1 of the year prior to renewal (2012, 2014, etc.). The prorated registration fee is $20.
Renewal Fee $40 - every two years. Licenses expire biennially, on June 30.
Q WHO OFFERS CFE COURSES FOR FORESTERS?
(A) Schools of Forestry, primarily in the Southeast, but courses from other schools can be used; South Carolina Forestry Association, Society of American Foresters and its affiliates; U.S. Forest Service; American Pulpwood Association and its affiliates; wood using industries, forestry specialists, etc.
Q HOW MANY CFE CREDITS ARE REQUIRED AND AT WHAT INTERVAL?
(A) Effective July 1, 2007, registered foresters are required to obtain 20 CFE credits during the two-year licensing period (July1, 2007-June 30, 2009). At least ten (10) credits must be in Category 1; other credits can come from Categories 2-6.
Q WHERE CAN I GET STUDY MATERIALS TO HELP ME PREPARE FOR THE EXAMINATION?
(A) Contact the Society of American Foresters, 5400 Grosvenor Lane, Bethesda, MD 20814-2198, or www.safnet.org.
Q WHEN ARE RENEWALS REQUIRED?
(A) Renewal information is mailed to each registered forester a minimum of 30 days in advance. Beginning in 2007, licenses will be renewed every two years. Registrants have the ability to renew online using a credit card.
Q WHEN IS THE DEADLINE FOR RENEWING?
(A) Licenses expire on June 30 every two years. However, licensees may renew until the end of September, a $15 late charge will be added for all renewals from July through September, and the forester is placed on probation until the renewal and penalties are paid. After September, the registration lapses and the cost of application and registration must be paid again, plus an additional $100 reinstatement fee.
Q WHAT PROCEDURES DO I NEED TO FOLLOW TO REGISTER A COMPLAINT?
(A) The complaint form and instructions for filing a complaint can be found on our website at: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Environmental/index.asp?file=complaint.htm