boardhome
Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Calendar
          Agendas
          Minutes
          Board Members
Licensure
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Fees
          Education
          FAQ
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
Information
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Email:Contact.LTHCA@llr.sc.gov
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4770
        Administrator:April Koon
        Board Staff:Stephanie Calhoun
        Advice Counsel:   Georgia Lewis   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Board of Long Term Health Care Administrators

Frequently Asked Questions

How often is the license exam given?

The license exams are given year-round by computer-based testing. The exams are given at Prometric (a.k.a. Sylvan) Testing Centers throughout the United States.

How long can one spend taking the examination?

The time limit for the national portion of the exam is 3 hours. The time limit for the state portion of the exam is 2 hours.

How many questions are on the exam?

There are 150 multiple-choice questions on the national exam and 50 multiple-choice questions on the state exam. This applies to both the nursing home administrator and community residential care facility administrator license exams.

What is a provisional license?

A provisional license is a license used for a temporary period of time and is substantiated by need. The license is issued to the applicant who has been found by the Board to meet pre-examination qualifications when the applicant has been appointed the administrator of a nursing home or community residential care facility without a licensed administrator in charge.

Is an administrator required to meet the continuing education requirements to renew his or her license in an inactive status?

A licensee must provide proof of Board-approved continuing education at the time of license renewal in order to renew as inactive and active.

Can an administrator use continuing education approved by the National Continuing Education Review Service (NCERS) of the National Association of Boards of Examiners for Long Term Care Administrators (NAB) for license renewal?

The South Carolina Board accepts hours earned at continuing education programs with NAB NCERS approval for license renewal.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)


The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.