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MEMORANDUM 

 
TO:                All South Carolina Permanently Licensed Physicians  
 
FROM:  South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners 
 
DATE:  July 1, 2015 
 
RE:  License Renewal 2015 
 
It is past the deadline to renew your medical license online.  If you wish to renew your license 
now, you must use a paper renewal form available from our website at 
www.llronline.com/pol/medical.  This form is under ‘Board News.’ 
 
Mail or deliver the renewal form along with the following: 
 

1. Renewal fee of $155.00 plus late fee of $100.00 for each month or part thereof after 
July 1, 2015 (July -$255   Aug-$355   Sept-$455   Oct-$555   Nov-$655   Dec-$755, etc) 
 

2. Documentation [certificates or transcript] showing completion of continued 
competency requirements (40 hours AMA or AOA Category I CME which must include 
two hours in prescribing controlled substances.)  For the 2013-15 renewal period ONLY, 
the board will permit hours earned from January 1, 2013, to June 30, 2013, to count for 
renewal so long as these hours were not used for 2011-13 compliance. 
 

3. A statement relating any practice activity following the expiration of the previous 
renewal period. [If you have practiced medicine in South Carolina since your license 
lapsed, there is a $1000 per month or part thereof penalty in addition to the renewal 
application fee and late fee.] 

 
SECTION 40-47-43. Renewal of expired license. 
 A person submitting an application for renewal within one year after the expiration of the 
previous authorization period shall: 
 (1) submit a completed application on a form provided by the board; 
 (2) pay a renewal fee; 
 (3) pay a late fee of one hundred dollars for any part of each month during which the license 
was lapsed; 
 (4) provide evidence of compliance with applicable continued competency requirements; and 
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 (5) provide a statement under oath relating any practice activity following the expiration of 
the previous renewal period. If unauthorized practice occurred following the expiration of the 
previous renewal period, a penalty of one thousand dollars must be imposed for any portion of 
each month in which unauthorized practice occurred. The penalty must be paid in full before 
the license may be renewed by the department unless otherwise provided by the board. 
 
HISTORY: 2006 Act No. 385, Section 1. 
 
Should you have any questions concerning the legal requirements for late renewal, please 
contact our office at (803) 896-4500.   
 
 
 


