Today's Date:

Licensure Information
Licensee Lookup
License Verification Request
Licensure with the Board
Applications and Forms
Renew Your License
Change Your Address
Application Status
Print copy of your license

Related Links

Complaint/Board Order Information
Board Orders
File a Complaint
What Can I Expect When a Complaint is Filed Against Me?

Board Information/Laws and Policies
FOIA Requests
Board Members

Board Meeting Calendar

Contact Us

Phone: (803) 896-4500

Sheridon Spoon

April Koon
Administrative Coordinator

Alex Imgrund (Discipline)
Advice Counsel to the Board

Darra Coleman (Policy)
Advice Counsel to the Board

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels, as well as their administrative staff.
These attorneys do not provide legal advice to
parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners

Physician Assistant Licenses Offered and Licensing Requirements

The following are the basic requirements for obtaining licensure to practice as a physician assistant. Applicants should consult the South Carolina Medical Practice Act and 2013 Amended Physicians Assistant Practice Act to obtain the detailed requirements.
Permanent License Application

  • Pass the NCCPA Exam and document current NCCPA Certification
  • Verification from AMA approved PA school
  • Take and pass the Medical Practice Act exam
  • Verification from all states in which a license is/was held
  • Criminal Background Check
  • 3 letters of recommendation
  • Affidavit of Eligibility
  • $120 fee
  • Personal interview with a Board Member/designee (temporary license will be issued prior to interview)

Each time the PA changes his or her primary supervising physician, a Change/Additional Primary Supervisor Form and scope of practice guidelines must be submitted. All written practice guidelines must be reviewed by the PA Committee.
Limited License Application

  • Verification from AMA approved PA school
  • Take and pass the Medical Practice Act exam
  • Proof of NCCPA eligibility
  • Submit written practice guidelines to the Board
  • Personal interview with a Board Member/designee
  • Criminal Background Check
  • Affidavit of Eligibility
  • 3 letters of recommendation
  • $25 fee
  • Signed Limited License Agreement

Change/Additional Primary Supervisor Form

  • No fee required
  • Completed form
  • Submit written practice guidelines to the Board

Prescriptive Authority Application

  • Completed application
  • Must possess a permanent South Carolina Physician Assistant license
  • $40 fee

Controlled Substance Prescriptive Authority Form

  • Completed form
  • No fee required
  • Must possess a permanent SC Physician Assistant license
  • Submit proof of completion of at least 15 contact hours of education in controlled substances

Back to Top

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.