boardhome
Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Calendar
          Agendas
          Minutes
          Board Members
          Respiratory Care Committee
          Acupunture Advisory Committee
          Physician Assistant Committee
Licensure
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Fees
          Education
          FAQ
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
Information
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Email:Medboard@llr.sc.gov
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4500
        Administrator:Sheridon Spoon
        Advice Counsel:   Adam Russell (Discipline)   **
        Advice Counsel:   Darra Coleman (Policy)   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners

Respiratory Care Practitioners (RCP) Licensure Information

The following files are in portable document format (pdf) and require the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print.

Licensure Applications/Forms

List of Approved Respiratory Care Continuing Education Programs

Application for Approval of Respiratory Care Continuing Education Program (pdf)


The following are the basic requirements for obtaining licensure to practice as a respiratory care practitioner. Applicants should consult the South Carolina Medical Practice Act to obtain the detailed requirements.

Permanent License Requirements

  • Passage of entry-level NBRC exam (CRT)
  • Verification from all states in which RCP held licensure
  • A copy of certificate/diploma from respiratory care program

Limited License Requirements

  • Proof of graduation from a program approved by the Joint Review Committee for Respiratory Therapy Education or a signed affidavit stating date of expected graduation within 45 days

Reactivation Requirements

In order to reactivate your South Carolina respiratory care practitioner license, you must submit an application and:

  • have all state licenses/certificates verified (active and inactive)
  • provide 30 hours of CME obtained within two years of this application and
  • provide a statement to the Board regarding your activity since your license was placed on inactive status by the Board. This statement must include all places of employment, job titles and job duties.

Update from Limited to Permanent Licensure Requirements

  • Proof of passage of entry-level NBRC exam (CRT)
  • Update fee of $80

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)


The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.