Mailing Address: SC Board of Nursing,
Attn: APRN Department,
110 Centerview Dr., Ste 202,
Columbia, SC 29210
Information for Applicant
South Carolina is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC). The NLC does not affect additional requirements imposed by states for advanced practice registered nursing. A multi-state licensure privilege to practice registered nursing granted by a party state must be recognized by other party states as a license to practice registered nursing if a license to practice registered nursing is required by state law as a precondition for qualifying for advanced practice registered nurse authorization.
A current APRN South Carolina license or temporary license is required to practice advanced nursing in this state. Orientation is considered the practice of nursing in South Carolina. Therefore, all nurses must possess a current South Carolina license and/or temporary license before beginning orientation (including classroom instruction and reading policies and procedures). It is a violation of the Nurse Practice Act to begin orientation without the proper license and can result in action by the Board. Please visit our website at www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/nursing to review the complete South Carolina Nurse Practice Act, Chapter 33, Section 40-33-34 for more details on educational and certification requirements.
An applicant for licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:
APRN's applying for prescriptive authority shall meet the requirements as noted in the S.C. Nurse Practice Act, Section 40-33-34 (E). The Prescriptive Authority application is a separate document from the online application for APRN, Please find the document at this link: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Nursing/pdf/RXAUTH.PDF
The application for Prescriptive Authority needs to be mailed to the board along with the additional fee of $20.
An applicant for licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse whose license in another state is currently restricted to prohibit the practice of nursing by any disciplinary action (i.e. suspension, revocation, or other action) shall not be considered for South Carolina license until the license from the other state of discipline is reinstated to permit the practice of nursing.
Instructions & Information
Prior to completing application, review Section 40-33-34 of the Nurse Practice Act for statutory requirements for licensure as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) in South Carolina. The Nurse Practice Act can be found under Laws/Policies on our website www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/nursing/
Mail any required documents, that were not uploaded, toSC Board of Nursing, Attn: APRN Department, 110 Centerview Dr., Ste 202, Columbia, SC 29210. Please allow 10 business days for processing.
Complete the Affidavit of Eligibility.
Cashier's check, money order or personal check should be made payable to LLR-Board of Nursing.
Documents (marriage licenses & other legal documents) are part of your file and are not returned.
Notify the Board immediately of any change in name or address changes during the application process.
Sign/date the front of your photo and upload or mail in.
Copies of legal documents that authorize a change in name.
Document of master's degree (See Nurse Practice Act). Official transcripts sent directly from your master's of nursing educational program to Board of Nursing.
Copy of current national advanced nursing specialty certification (see approved list on the SC Board of Nursing web page). New graduates shall provide evidence of certification within one year of program completion; however, psychiatric clinical nurse specialists shall provide evidence of certification within two years of program completion.
See the SC Nurse Practice Act and SC Medical Practice for guidelines on the development of written protocols.
Obtain all SC physician signatures and license numbers to be included on your application, if applicable.
Check the status of your application online at www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/nursing. Allow 10 business days for processing after receipt of your application in the Board's office. Also allow 10-business days after receipt of the last document for a license number to be generated.
If you were previously licensed by the SC Board of Nursing as an APRN, DO NOT complete this application. Please visit the Board's web page for an APRN Reactivation/Reinstatement Application. Applications are maintained on file for one year; all fees are non-refundable.
Applicants applying for Prescriptive Authority- complete and submit the Prescriptive Authority Application along with documentation of continuing education hours in pharmacotherapeutics.
If you need a fingerprint card mailed to you, please e-mail NurseBoard@LLR.SC.GOV.
Criminal Background Check (CBC)
Effective March 2, 2009, an applicant for a license to practice nursing in South Carolina shall be subject to a criminal history background check as defined in 40-33-25of the Nursing Practice Act. This criminal history background check should be requested at the same time as your submission of you license application.
This process requires you to furnish a full set of fingerprints and additional information required to enable a criminal history background check to be conducted by the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The cost of conducting a criminal history background check is $51.50.
To schedule an appointment online with L-1 Enrollment Services (L-1), please visit https://www.L1enrollment.comor call 1-866-254-2366 for assistance in scheduling your CBC. For South Carolina Nursing
Licensure use ORI # SC920112Z.
South Carolina applicants will need to show one (1) form of identification - South Carolina State Issued Photo Drivers License.
For out of state applicants who do not hold a South Carolina State Issued Photo Drivers license, you will need to submit two (2) forms of identification from the list below:
State issued photo Drivers License
Social Security Card
If you are a non-resident of South Carolina and reside in an area where no L-1 Enrollment Services /IBT fingerprinting centers are available, please follow the Non-Resident Card Scan Processing Procedures on the next page.
Click here or visit webpage https://www.L1enrollment.comto see if your state has L-1 fingerprinting centers.
Do not return fingerprint card or fingerprint processing fee, $51.50, to the Board.
Non-Resident Card Scan Processing Procedures
Applicants who reside outside of South Carolina may use L-1's Card Scan Processing Program. This program utilizes advanced scanning technology to convert a traditional fingerprint card (hard card) into an electronic fingerprint record. Converting a "hard card” into an electronic record enables an applicant to have their fingerprint record processed as quickly as if they had traveled to an electronic fingerprint processing location. The section below details the procedures for submitting fingerprints to the Card Scan Processing Unit.
South Carolina Licensing and Certification
ATTN: SC CARD SCAN
1650 WABASH AVE SUITE D
SPRINGFIELD IL 62704
Please include a daytime telephone number where the applicant can be reached if we have a question about the fingerprint card.
PLEASE CLICK HERETO ACCESS THE ONLINE APPLICATION