|Board Phone:||(803) 896-4681|
|Board Staff:||Missy Jones|
|Advice Counsel:  ||Mary League   **|
|Directions:||110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC|
**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.
The apprenticeship training program requires formal optical education as well as employment. All requirements of the program must be completed to qualify to sit for the South Carolina Practical Examination in Opticianry.
The following are required before a South Carolina optician’s license can be issued:
Career Progression Program: A home study education program for opticians offered through the National Academy of Opticianry (NAO). For information concerning this program contact the NAO at 800-229-4828, or www.nao.org, or email email@example.com. Other educational materials may also be purchased through the NAO.
Penn Foster Career School: This is an accredited school of independent study that offers a training program for opticians. For information contact an enrollment advisor at 800-272-4410 or visit their website at www.pennfoster.edu.
Durham Technical College Optical Apprentice Certificate: An internet/classroom-based program offered through Durham Technical College located in Durham, North Carolina. For information concerning this program contact the school at 919-686-3333 or on-line at www.durhamtech.edu.
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology Optical Sciences Eyeglasses Diploma: For information visit their website at www.NAIT.ca.
REQUIREMENTS FOR A SOUTH CAROLINA LICENSE TO PRACTICE OPTICIANRY
The S.C. Practical Examination is administered by The Learning Curve. Upon receipt at the Board’s office of the application, a letter is sent to the applicant providing information concerning how to register for the examination with The Learning Curve. The Learning Curve will provide candidate with all examination information.
Examination Date / Location: December and June of every year / 110 Centerview Drive, Columbia, South Carolina 29210
Licensure Application Fee: $25 payable to S.C. Opticianry Board – submit with application form to Board office
S.C. Practical Examination Fee: $295 money order / certified check payable to The Learning Curve
DO NOT SEND the $295 examination fee to the Board office; send only to The Learning Curve.
ONLY a MONEY ORDER or CERTIFIED CHECK will be ACCEPTED by THE LEARNING CURVE.
Send the licensure application to:
South Carolina Board of Examiners in Opticianry
PO Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
Or you may complete and submit your application online at www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Opticians
A copy of the S.C. Opticianry Practice Act and Regulations can be obtained from the website at www.llronline.com. Select Professional Licensing Boards, Opticianry, then on right side of screen select Board Information/Laws and Policies.
REQUIREMENTS FOR A CONTACT LENS DISPENSING LICENSE:
South Carolina Practical Examination
All applicants seeking a license to practice opticianry in South Carolina are required to pass the S.C. Practical Examination. The examination is administered in Columbia, South Carolina twice a year in June and December by The Learning Curve. All examination information will be provided by The Learning Curve to applicants approved by the Board to sit for the practical examination.