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Basic Requirements for Licensure for Foreign Graduates 
 

 
In order to become a licensed pharmacist in South Carolina, the law requires that a Foreign Graduate 
must first obtain an Intern Certificate by submitting the following information: 

 
• Completed SC Pharmacy Intern Certificate Application 
• Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Certificate (FPGEC) 
• The Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) (iBT) score 
• Social Security card 

 
1.  Upon receiving the intern certificate, you are required to work 1,500 intern hours under the 
supervision of a licensed pharmacist in a retail or institutional setting.  A Notification of Employment 
form must be submitted to the Board office within ten days of the beginning or each calendar year and 
within ten days of beginning each new employment.  An Affidavit of Practical Experience form must be 
submitted to the Board office within ten days after the end of each calendar year, and within ten days 
after the end of each employment.  These forms are located on the Board’s website: 
www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/pharmacy. 
 
Once the 1,500 intern hours are completed, you are eligible to take the pharmacist licensing exams 
(NAPLEX and MPJE).   

 
2.  Apply for the NAPLEX and the MPJE examinations on the NABP website at www.nabp.net.  
Download and read the entire NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin carefully and follow instructions 
explicitly.   

• There is a $485 fee for the NAPLEX 
• There is a $200 fee for the MPJE 

 
3.  Submit the South Carolina Board of Pharmacy Application for Examination.  Attach the fee of $350 
(personal checks are accepted), a certified copy of your birth certificate and one of your two 
photographs with signed attachments.  Foreign graduates do not need to have the Certification of 
Clinical Experience or College Affidavit.  Attach the original FPGEC certificate to the application.  The 
original FPGEC certificate will be returned upon verification. 

http://www.llronline.com/POL/Pharmacy/
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/pharmacy
http://www.nabp.net/


Once the Application for Examination is received and you are registered to take the NAPLEX/MPJE, 
you will be made eligible to take the exams.  The NAPLEX/MPJE examinations are administered by 
Pearson VUE and given Monday through Saturday, except holidays.  Pearson VUE will provide the 
Authorization to Test (ATT) and confirmation letters.  The ATT will provide all the scheduling 
information you require, and the confirmation letter will include verification of the examination date and 
time as well as the address of the testing center.   Study material recommendations and links to the study 
material can be found online at the Board’s website: www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/pharmacy.   
 
4.  After successful completion of all requirements, the Office of Licensure and Compliance will send 
you a Pharmacist’s Initial Licensure Application and an information form.  You must complete both of 
these forms and return them to the Office of Licensure and Compliance along with the $70 initial 
licensure fee, no more than thirty days after receipt. 

http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/pharmacy

