boardhome
Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Calendar
          Agendas
          Minutes
          Board Members
Licensure
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Fees
          Education
          FAQ
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
Information
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Email:Contact.SocialWork@llr.sc.gov
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4664
        Administrator:Marlo Thomas-Koger
        Board Staff:Sheliah Jones
        Advice Counsel:   Mary League   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Board of Social Work Examiners

General Information for South Carolina Social Work Licensure Applicants

The requirements for licensure are identified below. PLEASE READ THE MATERIAL CAREFULLY TO BE CERTAIN THAT YOU ARE APPLYING FOR THE APPROPRIATE LEVEL.

1. Application:
NON REFUNDABLE APPLICATION FEE: $45.00 FOR EACH LEVEL

Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW)
Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW)
Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW-Clinical Practice) and
Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW-Advanced Practice)

SEE REQUIREMENTS FOR EACH LEVEL

2. Check or money order: $45.00 payable to LLR, Board of Social Work Examiners. Each of the three levels of licensure requires a separate fee of $45.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE).

3. Transcript(s) of college credits: Each transcript must be an official transcript, sent directly from the educational institution in a sealed envelope to the Board office. Student copies are not acceptable! Only official transcripts with degree reflected will be accepted.

4. Verification of Licensure Form: A verification of licensure form is required for EVERY state in which you are licensed, active or inactive. Make copies of the form as needed.

5. ASWB exam: Once you have submitted your application and the necessary paperwork for the level of licensure for which you are applying, the Board will approve you to sit for the examination and issue you a Candidate Handbook. READ THIS HANDBOOK CAREFULLY! You must then call the testing service to register for the examination. Please note that the Board will not approve you to take the licensure exam until the items required for each level of licensure are submitted to the Board office.

6. Reciprocity: South Carolina does not have formal reciprocity with any other state, however, if you have already passed the ASWB examination in another state and the level of the exam you took is appropriate to the licensure level you are applying for in South Carolina, your score will be accepted in South Carolina. You will have to contact the testing service ASWB and request that they send an official copy of your test score directly to the Board office. Their number is (800) 225-6880. Test score verifications are not accepted from other states.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)


The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.