boardhome
Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Calendar
          Agendas
          Minutes
          Board Members
Licensure
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Fees
          Education
          FAQ
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
Information
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Email:contactllr@llr.sc.gov
        Board Phone:(803) 896-5171
        Administrator:Roger K. Lowe
        Board Staff: Iris Perez-Gonzalez
        Advice Counsel:   Georgia Lewis   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

Boiler Safety Program

FAQ

What is a boiler?

A boiler is a closed vessel in which water or other liquid is heated, steam or vapor is generated, or steam is superheated, under pressure or vacuum, for external use by the direct application of energy.

Are there any exemptions?

Certain boilers are exempted from regulation under this legislation. Exemptions include all pressure vessels, boilers on a farm, boilers under Federal Control under Regulations of Title 49, heating boilers located in private homes or in apartment houses of less than six family units. For additional exemptions, click here.

Required information on each boiler?

LLR will keep a complete record of the name of each boiler owner or user and his or her location, the type, dimensions, maximum allowable working pressure, age, and the last record inspection of all boilers.

What type of paperwork needs to be filed?

Evidence of inspection will be performed by a certified special inspector employed by an insurance company or employed by a private inspection entity.

How much will it cost?

Fees for registering a boiler and filing the report of inspection with the State of South Carolina will be $25 for all boiler owners. However, failure to comply may result in a civil penalty of no more than $5,000 for each violation. Failure to comply after written notice may result in a penalty of up to $100 per day.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)


The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.