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SOUTH CAROLINA APPRAISER APPRENTICE PROGRAM 
Doc No.185 

 
SYNOPSIS 

This appraiser apprentice classification was established as the entry-level position.  To obtain an Appraiser 
Apprentice license, the applicant must document 75 hours of approved appraisal qualifying courses and a 4 hour 
Supervisor/Trainee course. 

After issuance of the apprentice license, an apprentice may assist in the performance of real estate appraisals 
provided that the apprentice is actively and personally supervised on each assignment by a State certified appraiser. 

The appraiser apprentice license is valid for five years.  However, before being allowed to elevate to a higher 
classification, he/she must demonstrate the required number of hours of appraisal experience over a minimum of 6-
18 months (depending on licensure classification) and have successfully completed an approved appraisal 
examination and satisfied the additional education requirements of the higher licensure classification. 
 
QUALIFICATIONS 

Appraiser apprentice license may be granted to individuals who meet the following qualifications: 
 

• Have attained the age of eighteen years; 
• Have graduated from high school or hold a certificate of equivalency; 
• Are residents of South Carolina unless they have fully complied with Section 40-60-37 of the Code of 

Laws of South Carolina regarding consent to jurisdiction.  
• Furnish evidence that they have successfully completed not less than 75 hours in appraisal courses 

approved by this office in the QE1, QE2, and QE3 categories and a minimum 4 hour supervisor/trainee 
course. 

 
QUALIFYING EDUCATION 

A minimum of seventy-five (75) hours of study in Real Estate Appraisal is required for an applicant to obtain an 
appraiser apprentice license.  To satisfy the education requirement, applicants must demonstrate that their education 
included coverage of all three courses listed below: 
 

• QE1 Course – Basic appraisal principles (30 hours) 
• QE2 Course – Basic appraisal procedures (30 hours) 
• QE3 Course – National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (15 hours) 

Please refer to the current approved Qualifying Education Course Calendar.  Applicants who have taken appraisal 
courses in the past that are not included on the current directory should contact this office to determine whether the 
course(s) had previously been approved and under which category. 
 
Once individuals have successfully completed the approved courses listed above, along with a supervisor/trainee 
course, they must submit the course certificates of completion with the Appraiser Apprentice Application.. 
 
 

EXAMINATION 

The state licensing examination is not required for the apprentice license. 
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LICENSE RENEWAL 

Appraiser apprentice license expire biannually on June 30 of each even numbered year.  This permit is valid for 
maximum of five (5) years.  At renewal, the apprentice must submit his/her application, evidence of twenty-eight 
(28) hours of Board approved continuing education (to include the most recent USPAP Update), and the $320 
license renewal fee.  If the fifth year falls on an odd year the apprentice would submit a renewal fee of $160. 

 
RESPONSIBILITIES OF A SUPERVISING APPRAISER 
A supervising appraiser must be a State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser or State Certified 
Residential Real Estate Appraiser in good standing with the board and not subject to any disciplinary 
action within the last three (3) years and must have been state certified for a minimum of three (3) years. 
A supervising appraiser must complete a supervisor/trainee (minimum 4 hours) before they can be 
approved to train an apprentice.  A certified appraiser may not supervise more than three appraiser 
apprentices at one time. The supervising appraiser shall have the following duties and responsibilities: 
 

1. The supervisor shall at all times be responsible for and provide direct supervision of the work 
performed by the apprentice.  "Direct supervision" means to: 

 
A. Personally review an appraisal report prepared by an apprentice; and 
    
B. Assign work to the apprentice only if the apprentice is competent to perform such work;   and 
 
C. Accept responsibility for the appraisal report by signing and certifying the report as being 

independently and impartially prepared and in compliance with the Uniform Standards of  
Professional Appraisal Practice, these regulations, and applicable statutory requirements 

 
2. The extent of assistance provided in the appraisal process by the supervising appraiser is directly 

related to the competence of the appraiser apprentice.  The appraiser must maintain an appraisal 
log prescribed by the Appraisers Board to record assignments in which an appraiser apprentice 
participated and submit a certified true copy of this log to the Board when the apprentice applies 
for reclassification. 

 
3. The supervising appraiser shall acknowledge in the appraisal certification the professional 

contribution of the apprentice in accordance with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice and provide the apprentice with a copy of any final appraisal document in which the 
apprentice participated. 

 
4. If the supervising appraiser signs the report alone, the contribution of the apprentice must be 

acknowledged and the specific tasks performed by the apprentice should be clearly stated.  If both 
the apprentice and supervising appraiser co-sign the report, the supervising appraiser must accept 
full responsibility for all aspects of the appraisal process. 

 
5. The supervising appraiser may NOT, under any circumstances, allow and apprentice appraiser to 

sign his/her name or affix his digital signature to an appraisal report. 
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