

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation **South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board** 110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4630 • <u>Contact.REAB@llr.sc.gov</u> www.llr.sc.gov/appr

## REINSTATEMENT OF LAPSED OR CANCELLED APPRAISER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

Licenses not renewed by the date of expiration are no longer valid in accordance with 40-60-34(H).

*Licensees have twelve months from the date of expiration to complete and submit a reinstatement application (SC Code 40-60-34(H)).* 

Licenses not reinstated by the last day of the twelfth month following expiration are cancelled. Licenses may be considered for reinstatement upon proper application to the Board office (Regulation 137-800.05)

### **Requirements for Reinstatement – Within twelve months of expiration**

A licensee is eligible for reinstatement of expired licensure if the following requirements are met:

• Submission of a completed reinstatement application

5	1	1 5		
License Type	Renewal Fee	Renewal + Reinstatement Fee (postmarked July 1-31)	Renewal + Reinstatement Fee (postmarked August 1-31)	Renewal + Reinstatement Fee (postmarked August 1 -June 30)
Apprentice Appraiser (if non-extendable date is prior to the June 30 <sup>th</sup> renewal date)	\$255.00	\$315	\$335	\$375
Licensed or Certified Appraiser	\$330.00	\$390	\$410	\$450
Mass Appraiser	\$255.00	\$315	\$335	\$375

• Payment of license renewal fee and pro-rated penalty fee:

• Submission of Continuing Education documentation for the last licensed renewal period into <u>CE Broker</u>.

Licensees must complete 28 hours of <u>Board approved continuing education</u> of which seven hours <u>must</u> be the most current National USPAP Update (SC Code 40-60-35(A)(1)). Nonresident licensees may be considered exempt from this states CE requirement if satisfying the CE requirements of the jurisdiction of their residence (status will be verified through the National Registry). *Nonresident exemption must be reported into <u>CE Broker</u>*  Additional continuing education requirement apply for the following licenses types:

- <u>Apprentice Appraiser</u> Qualifying Education courses (excluding QE 1, 2, and 3 and the Supervisor/Trainee course) may be submitted and counted towards meeting continuing education requirements. Proof of course completion must accompany application and is subject to review and approval. *QE courses will not be uploaded to CE Broker by the education provider. The appraiser will be required to submit QE course certificates to their CE Broker account.*
- <u>Mass Appraiser</u> Seven hour of annual instruction on the laws applicable to assessment as provided by the Department of Revenue or other Board approved provider (SC Code 40-60-35(A)(2)). This will satisfy 14 hours of the required 28 hours needed for renewal.

## **Requirements for Reinstatement – Greater than twelve months of expiration**

A licensee may be considered eligible for reinstatement of expired licensure if the following requirements are met:

- Submission of a completed reinstatement application
- Payment of renewal and maximum reinstatement fee:
  - Appraiser: \$450
  - Mass Appraiser: \$375
- Submission of Continuing Education documentation for unrenewed cycles into <u>CE Broker</u>. *Example below:*

Expiration date	Reinstatement	Reinstatement	Reinstatement
	postmarked after	postmarked after	postmarked after
	07/01/2024	07/01/2026	07/01/2028
June 30, 2022	56 hours	84 hours	112 hours

Of the completed hours, seven hours <u>must</u> be the most current National USPAP Update (SC Regulations 137-800.05). If you are uncertain of your last expiration date, contact board staff for assistance.

- Apprentice Appraisers must reapply using the Apprentice Application if it has been one year from the expiration date. Qualifying courses must not be over five (5) years old from the date the course was completed (SC Code 40-60-33(1)).
- Nonresident licensees may be considered exempt from this state's CE requirements if satisfying the CE requirements of the jurisdiction of their residence. *Exemption must be reported into <u>CE Broker</u>.*

Applications for reinstatement following a cancellation of license are subject to review and approval by the Board office. An appearance before the Board may be required for approval. (SC Regulations 137-800.05)

#### **Application Process**

# Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- 1. <u>Application</u> Once a complete application is on file, it will be reviewed in the order received. Board staff may request additional documentation or explanation.
- 2. <u>Board Appearance</u>: An application hearing may be required if the application cannot be approved at staff level. Notice will be sent if an application hearing is required.



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board

> 110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4630 • <u>Contact.REAB@llr.sc.gov</u> www.llr.sc.gov/appr

## APPRAISER REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION

This application is for reinstatement of lapsed or canceled licensed or certified credential issued by this Board.

## Submit the following with your application:

- Check or money order made payable to LLR-SC Real Estate Appraisers Board. (See fee chart below. All fees are non-refundable. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.) NO CASH IS ACCEPTED
- Submission of Continuing Education (CE) documentation for the last licensed renewal period and each twenty-four (24) month renewal period during which the license was lapsed or cancelled. Information concerning CE requirements and courses can be found in the Board's <u>CE</u> <u>Guidelines</u>. Proof of CE should be uploaded by the education provider into <u>CE Broker</u>. Nonresident licensees may be considered exempt from this state's CE requirements if satisfying the CE requirements of the jurisdiction of their residence. *Exemption must be reported into <u>CE</u> <u>Broker</u>.*
- Legal name change documents (if applicable)
- If you are active duty military, you are exempt from license fees during the period of service (past continuing education hours must be completed before license can be reinstated). A copy of the current military orders **must** be submitted with the application.

<u>Application Process</u>: Once a complete application is on file, it will be reviewed in the order received. Board staff may request additional documentation or explanation. An application hearing may be required if the application cannot be approved at staff level. Notice will be sent if an application hearing is required. Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period, you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

rees:						
License Type	Renewal Fee	Renewal + Reinstatement Fee (postmarked July 1- 31)	Renewal + Reinstatement Fee (postmarked August 1-31)	Renewal + Reinstatement Fee (postmarked August 1 -June 30)	Cancelled Reinstatement Fee (1 year following expiration)	
Appraiser	\$330.00	\$390	\$410	\$450	\$450	
Mass Appraiser	\$255.00	\$315	\$335	\$335	\$335	

Fees:

### **APPLICANT INFORMATION:**

<b>Licensure Type (check one):</b> □ Lice	nsed Appraiser	Certified Appraiser	□ Mass	Appraiser	
Name:		License No.:			
Since you were initially licensed or last renewed, have you legally changed your name? $\Box$ Yes $\Box$ No					
Prior Name:					
Home Address (Physical):		_City:	_State:	_Zip:	
Mailing Address:(If different than ab	City:		_State:	_Zip:	
Phone:	Email:				
<b>BUSINESS INFORMATION:</b>					
Company Name:		Phone:			
Address: Street		City	State	Zip	

## **PERSONAL HISTORY:**

If you answered "yes" to any of the below, attach a detailed written explanation and a certified copy of the criminal plea, conviction or final order. Obtain certified copies from the clerk of court in the county where the conviction occurred, or, if a license disciplinary action, from the regulatory authority that issued the license or certification. Also attach any explanation you think the Board should consider, and if you like, letter(s) of recommendation. Your application will not be processed without these documents.

1.	Have you had a license to practice a regulated profession or occupation in this State, another state or jurisdiction canceled, revoked, suspended or otherwise disciplined that has not already been reported?	□ Yes	□ No
2.	Have you ever been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony?	□ Yes	□ No

I, \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, am the person described and identified, have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations of any kind, and I swear or affirm that all statements made by me herein are true and correct. Should I furnish any false or incomplete information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute the cause for denial or revocation of my license to practice Real Estate Appraisal in South Carolina.

Signature of Applicant

Date

## PRIVACY DISCLOSURE

South Carolina Law requires that every individual who applies for an occupational or professional license provide a social security number for use in the establishment, enforcement and collection of child support obligations and for reporting to certain databanks established by law. Failure to provide your social security number for these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Social security numbers may also be disclosed to other governmental regulatory agencies and for identification purposes to testing providers and organizations involved in professional regulation. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law.

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical services.