

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation South Carolina Board of Architectural Examiners

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 (overnight) P.O. Box 11419 • Columbia • SC 29211-1419 (mailing) Phone: 803-896-4408 • Contact.Arch@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-704-6772 www.llr.sc.gov/arch

2023-2025 INDIVIDUAL ARCHITECT RENEWAL

Renewal Instructions / Requirements:

- Biennial renewal fee of \$115 in the form of a check or money order only (no cash) made payable to LLR-Board of Architectural Examiners. (All fees are non-refundable. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.)
- Renewal / Late Fee: Renewed/postmarked on or before 6/30/2023: \$115 Renewed/postmarked 7/1/2023 - 7/31/2023: Late Fee \$50 + Renewal Fee \$115 = \$165 Renewed/postmarked 8/1/2023 - 8/31/2023: Late Fee \$150 + Renewal Fee \$115 = \$265 Practice is not allowed after August 31, 2023, until a valid renewal form has been completed and accepted.
- If you have had a legal name change since your initial licensure or since your last renewal, please attach the legal documentation with this renewal form (Marriage Certificate, divorce decree, court documentation).
- Ensure you complete all areas of the renewal form; incomplete applications will be returned.

Continuing Education:

• Twenty-four hours of continuing education are required. All 24 hours must include the study of relevant technical and professional architectural subjects related to safeguarding life, health, property, and promoting the public welfare (HSW).

LICENSEE INFORMATION

Name:		Registration Number:			
Since you were licensed, have If yes, please submit legal docu					
Home Address:		City:	State:	Zip:	
Mailing Address:	(If different than above)	City:	State:	Zip:	
Phone:	Email Address:	(Required)			
Business Name:		Phone:			
Email Address:		Fax:			
Address:		City:	State:	Zip:	

CONTINUING EDUCATION

Do not send proof of your continuing education hours. Keep the documentation in the event your report is audited.

- Twenty-four hours of continuing education are required for the reporting period July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2023. All 24 hours must include the study of relevant technical and professional architectural subjects related to safeguarding life, health, property, and promoting the public welfare. Carry over within the period is allowed.
- First –Time Registrants: If this is the first renewal period for your South Carolina registration, you are exempt from the continuing education requirements for this reporting period. If your South Carolina registration number is 10673 or higher, this exemption applies to you.
- **Registrants on Active Military Duty:** Individuals serving on active military duty are exempt from continuing education requirements and the renewal fee while serving. If this applies to you, you will need to submit a copy of your orders with your renewal form.
- **Personal Hardships:** Personal hardship requests are considered on an individual basis and must be received by June 1, 2023, prior to renewing, for review by the Board. If you have already been granted a personal hardship exemption by the Board in writing, you are exempt from the continuing education requirements and should submit your letter from the Board with your renewal form.

	🗆 No
\Box Yes	🗆 No
□ Yes	🗆 No
□ Yes	🗆 No
	st 22 □ Yes □ Yes □ Yes □ Yes

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS

If you answer "yes" to any of the below questions, you must attach a written explanation and documentation as requested.

1.	Since January 1, 2021, have you had a professional or occupational license placed on probation, restricted, suspended, revoked or denied renewal, or have you been otherwise disciplined by any professional or occupational board other than South Carolina?	□ Yes	□ No
2.	Since January 1, 2021, have you surrendered or allowed a professional or occupational registration or license to lapse in any jurisdiction, other than South Carolina, due to pending or threatened disciplinary action?	□ Yes	□ No
3.	Since January 1, 2021, have you been found by any court to have violated the architectural registration laws or the professional/occupational laws of any jurisdiction? (If yes, provide dates, and details including results of any appeals if not previously provided to the Board.)	□ Yes	🗆 No
4.	Since January 1, 2021, have you been convicted or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a felony of any kind or to a non-felony crime involving drugs or moral turpitude? (If yes, provide court documents along with your explanation.)	□ Yes	□ No
5.	Since January 1, 2021, has there been a change in your lawful presence? (If yes, attach an updated Verification of Lawful Presence form.)	□ Yes	🗆 No

ATTESTATION

I HEREBY swear/affirm I have read all questions on this renewal application and have answered truthfully, accurately and completely. I hereby acknowledge that failure to answer these questions truthfully, accurately and completely shall constitute cause for the initiation of disciplinary action against my South Carolina licensure.

Signature of Licensee

Date

PRIVACY NOTICE

South Carolina law requires the agency to collect personal information which is only disseminated as required by law. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on your renewal application and other documents on file may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical purposes.