

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

Athletic Commission



110 Centerview Drive Post Office Box 11329 Columbia, SC 29211-1329 Phone: (803) 896-4571 FAX: (803) 896-4350 Henry D. McMaster Governor

> Emily H. Farr Director

At its May 23, 2023, meeting, the South Carolina Athletic Commission discussed sanctions for any contestant who fails a drug test taken as part of an event or exhibition under the jurisdiction of, and sanctioned by, the Athletic Commission.¹

The Athletic Commission voted to adopt the following sanctions related to failed drug tests:

Class A: Cannabinoids (marijuana) or any pharmacological substance not addressed that is not currently approved by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use (i.e., illegal recreational drugs).²

First Offense:	Administrative suspension of 90 days and a fine of \$1,000
Second Offense:	Administrative suspension of 180 days and a fine of \$3,000
Third Offense:	Administrative suspension of 365 days and a fine of \$5,000
Fourth Offense:	Indefinite administrative suspension with permanent sanctions issued by the Commission, up to and including revocation ³
Class B: Tested positive for or used or injected stimulants, narcotics, erythropoietin, human growth hormones, anabolic agents, peptide hormones, glucocorticosteroids, Beta-2 agonists, hormone and metabolic modulators, diuretics and other masking agents, anti-estrogenic agents, or other drugs identified on the WADA Anti-Doping Code Prohibited List. ⁴	

First Offense:	Administrative suspension of 90 days and a fine of \$1,000
Second Offense:	Administrative suspension of 180 days and a fine of \$3,000
Third Offense:	Administrative suspension of 365 days and a fine of \$5,000
Fourth Offense:	Indefinite administrative suspension with permanent sanctions issued by the Commission, up to and including revocation ³

¹ While the Athletic Commission does not currently mandate drug testing as part of sanctioning an event in South Carolina, a licensed promoter conducting a sanctioned event may require drug testing of those contestants fighting in its event.

² S.C. Code Reg. 20-27.19 provides that the Commission's administrator may impose administrative sanctions for any failed drug test.

³ S.C. Code Reg. 20-3.8; S.C. Code Reg. 20-21.2; S.C. Code Reg. 20-27.82.

⁴ Use of the WADA prohibited substances list is authorized by S.C. Code Reg. 20-3.8.

A licensee may appeal an administrative suspension to the Athletic Commission provided such appeal is filed within thirty (30) days of written notice of the suspension.

Failure to take a drug test when required by a promoter or the Athletic Commission will result in the licensee being unable to compete in the scheduled event for which the licensee refuses to test.

In the event a licensee wins a bout, but it is subsequently determined that the licensee tested positive for a Class A or Class B substance, the fight in question shall be declared a "no contest" by the Commission.