S.C. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING AND REGULATION BOARD OF DENTISTRY PO BOX 11329, COLUMBIA, SC 29211-1329 Telephone (803) 896-4599 Fax (803) 896-4719 www.llr.state.sc.us

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR RESTRICTED DENTAL INSTRUCTORS As per Section 40-15-175, with all stipulations being met

- 1. Applicant must teach dental medicine full-time at the Medical University of South Carolina College of Dental Medicine, an ADA accredited dental auxiliary program at a technical college in this State, or at a boardrecognized hospital based residency program situated in this state. A letter from the Dean or President must be submitted to the Board, certifying employment as a full-time member of the faculty.
- 2. Applicant must hold a valid and current license in another state. The enclosed VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE IN ANOTHER STATE FORM must be completed and signed by an official of that State Board with the Board Seal affixed. Applicant must not have been refused a license or had a license revoked in this state, another state or territory of the US or District of Columbia.
- 3. Applicant must successfully complete the written South Carolina Dental Practice Act (DPA) Examination (jurisprudence exam) in order to be considered for licensure. Results of the DPA Examination are valid for one (1) year from the date the examination was successfully completed. NOTE: Applicant will be mailed instructions with a user id and password to take the exam online. A score of 70 or higher is considered a passing score.
- An application must be completed and submitted with a fee of \$300.00, payable by a check or money order 4. to SCDLLR, Board of Dentistry. NO REFUNDS are made after an application and fee have been filed with the Board.
- 5. A CURRICULUM VITAE outlining your professional career must be enclosed with your application.
- 6. This license must be renewed biennially. A requirement for renewal will be a letter from the Dean or President certifying current full-time employment as a faculty member and a copy of the current license of the State Board in which your initial application was based. Applications will be mailed on or about October 15th to the last address provided. You are responsible for contacting the Board Office if you fail to receive a renewal application.
- **NOTE:** The application and other documents are valid for one year. After one year the applicant must reapply.

$\sqrt{}$ CHECKLIST FOR COMPLETING RESTRICTED INSTRUCTOR LICENSE APPLICATION

All questions on the application answered. Verification of Licensure Form sent to another state where you are licensed. \$300.00 Fee attached to application. Curriculum Vitae enclosed with application. Letter from the Dean or President certifying full-time employment as a Faculty member. Recent Photograph attached to application.

09/2014