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2022 Legislative Update  

Board of Pharmacy 

 

The following bills were enacted by the General Assembly during the 2022 legislative session and 

may impact the Board of Pharmacy and/or the Board of Pharmacy licensees:  

 

Pharmacy Access Act & Central Fill Pharmacy Permits, S.628/Act 210 

S.628 will allow pharmacists to dispense a self-administered hormonal contraceptive or administer 

an injectable hormonal contraceptive to a patient who is 18 years of age or older, or under 18 if 

the person has evidence of a previous prescription from a practitioner for a self-administered 

hormonal contraceptive or an injectable hormonal contraceptive, pursuant to a standing order by a 

prescriber to a patient. The Act requires the Board of Medical Examiners and the Board of 

Pharmacy to issue a written joint protocol, no later than six months after the passage of the Act, to 

authorize a pharmacist to dispense a self-administered hormonal contraceptive or administer an 

injectable hormonal contraceptive without a patient-specific written order. The Act also creates a 

new central fill permit issued by the Board of Pharmacy.  

Effective date: The Pharmacy Access Act will take effect upon the issuance of the BME and BOP 

written joint protocol, which must be issued no later than November 23, 2022, six months after 

approval of the Governor on May 23, 2022.  The central fill permit section is effective May 23, 

2022. 

 

South Carolina Opioid Recovery Act, H.5182/Act 222 

H.5182 establishes the Opioid Recovery Act, which creates the SC Opioid Recovery Fund from 

which money will be distributed to help address and remediate opioid-related issues, and creates 

the SC Opioid Recovery Fund Board to administer the SC Opioid Recovery Fund.  

Effective date: May 23, 2022 

 

Prohibition on State or Political Subdivision Covid-19 Vaccine Mandate, H.3126/Act 142 

H.3126 prohibits vaccine mandates by the State and its political subdivisions for employees, 

independent contractors and nonemployee vendors, including firefighters, among others. The Act 

requires an employer to honor a religious exemption or medical exemption regarding any COVID-

19 vaccine or booster requirement, and prohibits discrimination based on vaccination status in 

accommodations, dining, retail, entertainment and other establishments. The Act reenacts the 

COVID-19 Liability Immunity Act of 2021.  

Effective date: April 25, 2022 

Repeal date: December 31, 2023, unless reauthorized by the General Assembly 

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess124_2021-2022/bills/628.htm
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess124_2021-2022/bills/5182.htm
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess124_2021-2022/bills/3126.htm


2 
 

South Carolina Parkinson's Disease Research Collection Act & Opioid Antidote 

Distribution, S.1011/Act 211 

 

S.1011 creates the South Carolina Parkinson’s Disease Research Collection Act to require Medical 

University of South Carolina (MUSC) to collect data on the incidence of Parkinson’s disease in 

SC and other epidemiological data. Every patient diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease or a related 

Parkinsonism must be notified about the database and the opportunity to participate. The Act also 

requires MUSC to provide notification of the mandatory reporting of Parkinson’s disease and 

parkinsonism to the Board of Medical Examiners at least 180 days prior to requiring information 

be reported. The Act also allows a hospital to distribute an opioid antidote to a person at risk of 

experiencing an opiate-related overdose or a caregiver of a person at risk of experiencing an opiate-

related overdose, and shielding a hospital from civil or criminal liability or from disciplinary action 

from the licensing board for distributing the same.  

Effective date: May 23, 2023, twelve months after approval by the Governor 

 

Rena Grant Sickle Cell Disease Voluntary Patient Registry Act, H.3166/Act 206 

H.3166 requires DHEC to develop and maintain the sickle cell disease voluntary patient registry 

to enable individuals diagnosed with sickle cell disease to register so that physicians and other 

health care practitioners providing care to the patient may confirm the patient’s diagnosis.  

Effective date: May 23, 2022 

 

Medical Assistants, S.613/Act 171 

S.613 amends the Nurse Practice Act to define “Certified Medical Assistant” (CMA) as a graduate 

of post-secondary medical assisting programs identified in the Act and amends the definition of 

unlicensed assistive personnel to exclude CMAs, adds that they can be supervised by physicians, 

PAs, and APRNs, and establishes that UAPs cannot administer medicine except as otherwise 

provide by law.  The definitions are added to the medical practice act, as well, and clarify that 

CMAs include medical assistants who are currently employed in that capacity on the effective date 

of the Act who do not have the required certification, but who achieve such certification no later 

than two (2) years after the effective date of the Act. The medical practice act is further amended 

to add 40-47-196 establishing which tasks can and cannot be delegated to a CMA, and which tasks 

can be delegated to UAP.  Sections 40-47-30(A)(5) and 40-47-935(C), related to physician and 

PA delegation of tasks to unlicensed assistive personnel, are deleted from the medical practice act.   

 

Effective date: July 15, 2022, Sixty days after approval of the Governor.  

 

  

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess124_2021-2022/bills/1011.htm
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess124_2021-2022/bills/3166.htm
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess124_2021-2022/bills/613.htm
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Unlicensed Persons Authorized to Provide Medications, S.1059/Act 179 

S.1059 amends the Nurse Practice Act, Section 40-33-43, to allow unlicensed persons with 

documented medication training and skill competency evaluations to provide medications in 

intermediate care facilities for persons with intellectual disabilities, as defined in Article 3, Chapter 

7, Title 44, and in nursing homes, as defined in Article 3, Chapter 7, Title 44. The Act also requires 

the SC Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to develop a Medication Technical 

Certification Program, which shall include curriculum, training, competence, and testing 

certification requirements. DHHS shall also create and maintain a Medication Technical Registry.  

Effective date: May 16, 2022 

 

Disclaimer: This legislative update is not intended as legal advice. LLR is providing this 

legislative update to notify licensees of recently enacted legislation that may impact his or 

her practice area or license.  This legislative update provides only a high level overview of 

enacted legislation and licensees are urged to review the entire enacted legislation, which is 

available in the hyperlinks above.  

 

 

https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess124_2021-2022/bills/1059.htm

