

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4588 • BoardInfo@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4484 llr.sc.gov/cosmo

REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE COSMETOLOGY BOARD INSTRUCTOR EXAM APPLICATION

REQUIRMENTS

- Must have a high school diploma or a General Education Development (GED); and
- Be a licensed cosmetologist, nail technician or esthetician who has practiced for at least two years; or,
 - o after receiving a cosmetology, nail technician or esthetician license, has completed a seven hundred fifty (750) hours instructor training program; and
- Must have received forty-five (45) hours of training in a teaching methods course approved by the board; and
- Pass the NIC Theory and Practical Instructor Exams.

EXAM INFORMATION

Examinations are administered by PSI. You may visit their site to obtain the <u>Candidate Bulletin</u> and learn about test dates and times. https://test-takers.psiexams.com/sccos

• Early testing is permissible as authorized by your cosmetology-related school/program. To test early, candidates must have completed the 45 hours of training in the teaching methods course and 650 hours in the instructor training course (if applicable).

The Candidate Bulletin also provides the information for Exam Accommodations (ADA) and how to apply.

You will need the below documentation to upload to your application.

- Copy of your valid driver's license, state issued ID, passport or military ID
- Copy of your social security card
- Copy of high school diploma or GED
- Signed and notarized Verification of Lawful Presence (Attached)
- Recent 2 x 2 passport-type photo
- Copy of 45-Hour Methods of Teaching Certificate
- 750-Hour Student Instructor Training Affidavit* (applicable to those licensed for <u>less than</u> two years as a RC, NT or ES)
- Copy of current RC, ES, or NT license
- Legal name change documentation, if applicable

If your current RC, ES, or NT license is an out-of-state license, you will need to request a License Verification from the state. The verification(s) must be mailed or emailed from the other state board(s) directly to our office. The Board email address is boardinfo@llr.sc.gov.



South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4588 • BoardInfo@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4484 llr.sc.gov/cosmo

COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR EXAM APPLICATION

Include with your application:

- Check or money order in the amount of \$45 made payable to **SC Board of Cosmetology**. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, <u>may</u> be accessed on all returned funds. (All fees are non-refundable)
- Copy of your social security card
- Copy of your valid driver's license, state issued ID, passport or military ID
- Copy of high school diploma or GED
- Signed and notarized Verification of Lawful Presence (Attached)
- Recent 2 x 2 passport-type photo
- Copy of 45-Hour Methods of Teaching Certificate
- 750-Hour Student Instructor Training Affidavit* (applicable to those licensed for <u>less than</u> two years as a RC, NT or ES)
- Copy of current RC, ES, or NT license

Have sent directly to the Board:

- License verification for RC, ES, or NT license if license outside of SC.
- <u>Cosmetology Board Affidavit of Completion</u> (If applicable)

Select Exam Credential: \square IRC \square INT \square IES		
Type of Exam: ☐ Theory Only ☐ Practical Only ☐ Theory and Practical		
Name: Date of Birth:		
Have you ever legally changed your name? ☐ Yes ☐ No Former Name/Alias: If yes, please submit legal documentation supporting the change. (Marriage certificate, divorce		
Home Address:		
Mailing Address:		
Phone: Email:		
Social Security Number: Gender: \square Female \square Male		
1. Have you read the Candidate Handbook for the profession to which you are applying?	□ Yes	□ No
CURRENT LICENSE Credential: □ RC □ NT □ ES		
State current license is held in: Date Issued:		
Are you seeking to reinstate an expired South Carolina Instructor's license?	□ Yes	□ No

EDUCATION

TEACHING METHODS COURSE (Required)

Na	me of the instructor who taught the 45-hour methods of teaching course: _		
Sta	art Date: Completion Date:		
ST	TUDENT INSTRUCTOR TRAINING (Skip this section if not applicable	ole)	
	oplicable to those licensed for <u>less than</u> two years as a RC, NT or ES	,	
Na	ame of the establishment where you completed 750 hours of student instruc	ctor training:	
Stı	udent Enrollment Date: Student Completic	on Date:	
1.	If you have been licensed as a Cosmetologist, Esthetician or Nail Techni years, have you completed the required number of student instructor hou profession from an accredited cosmetology school?		□ No
2.	Are you applying PRIOR to completing your training courses (Must hav 650 hours)?	e completed at least Yes	□ No
	If yes, a <u>Cosmetology Board Affidavit of Completion</u> is required after grapproved cosmetology program.	raduation from the	
ΡF	ERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS		
1.	Have you ever been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to a for to a non-felony crime?	elony of any kind ☐ Yes	□ No
	If yes, submit a statewide criminal background check from the state's law agency where the crime took place (SLED for SC, third party criminal background be accepted.) and court documents/disposition.		
2.	Have you ever had a license to practice to cosmetology denied, suspender revoked or surrendered, or have you ever been disciplined by an occupat authority in this state or any other state or jurisdiction?		□No
	If yes, submit a letter of explanation.		
I c	ETTESTATION ertify that all statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of the false or incorrect information provided by me may result in the cancellast application.		
Sig	gnature:	2 x 2	
Da	te:	Recent Passport Type Photo	

PRIVACY NOTICE

South Carolina Law requires that every individual who applies for an occupational or professional license provide a social security number for use in the establishment, enforcement and collection of child support obligations and for reporting to certain databanks established by law. Failure to provide your social security number for these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Social security numbers may also be disclosed to other governmental regulatory agencies and for identification purposes to testing providers and organizations involved in professional regulation. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law.

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical services.



STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING AND REGULATION VERIFICATION OF LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY



Pursuant to Section 8-29-10, *et seq.* of the South Carolina Code of Laws (1976, as amended), the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation must verify that any person who applies for a South Carolina license is lawfully present in the United States. Complete and sign this affidavit of eligibility. The information provided is subject to verification.

Section A: LAWFUL PRESENCE in the United States.				
The undersigned, of				
(Print clearly First, Middle, and Last name) (Home Address, City, State, and Zip Code) being first duly sworn deposes and states as follows:				
Check only one box:				
1. I am a United States citizen; or				
2. I am a Legal Permanent Resident of the United States eighteen years of age or older; or				
3. I am a Qualified Alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act, Public Law 82-414, eighteen years of age or older, and lawfully present in the United States.				
4. Other:Please submit any documentation that supports this status.				
Date of Birth:				
Alien Number: I-94 Number:				
(If you checked number 2, 3, or 4 you must attach a copy of your immigration documents. See instruction sheet for a list of accepted immigration documents.)				
Section B: ATTESTATION.				
I understand that in accordance with section 8-29-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, a person who knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall, in addition to other sanctions imposed by this State or the United States, be guilty of a felony, and upon conviction must be fined and/or imprisoned for not more than 5 years (or both).				
I understand that the representations made in this Affidavit shall apply through any license(s) or renewals issued, and that I shall have an affirmative duty to immediately advise the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation of any change of my immigration or citizenship status.				
I swear and attest the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I understand that under South Carolina law, providing false information is grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of a license, certificate, registration or permit.				
Signature of Affiant				
SWORN to before me thisday of, 20				
Notary Signature				
Print Name				
Notary Public for				

Rev: 02-02-2015

My Commission Expires: __

INSTRUCTION SHEET FOR COMPLETING AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY

CHECK box 1:

If you are a United States Citizen by birth or naturalization

CHECK box 2:

If you are a Legal Permanent Resident and you are not a U.S. Citizen, but are residing in the U.S. under legally recognized and lawfully recorded permanent residence as an immigrant.

PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.

CHECK box 3:

If you are a Qualified Alien. You are a Qualified Alien if you are:

An alien who is lawfully admitted for residence under the INA.

An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.

A refugee who is admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA.

An alien who is paroled into the United States under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA for a period of at least 1 year. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA (as in effect prior to April 1, 1997) or whose removal has been withheld under Section 241(b)(3).

An alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.

An alien who is a Cuban/Haitian Entrant as defined by Section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980.

An alien who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, or whose child or parent has been battered or subject to extreme cruelty.

PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS.

ACCEPTED IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS:

Unexpired Reentry Permit (I-327)

Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card With Photograph (I-551)

Unexpired Refugee Travel Document (I-571)

Unexpired Employment Authorization Card Which Contains a Photograph (I-766)

Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language)

Temporary I-551 Stamp (on passport or I-94)

I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport

I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant, F-1, Student Status)

DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor, J-1, Status)

Rev: 02-02-2015