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     South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation  
Board of Examiners for Licensure of Professional Counselors, Marriage & Family Therapists 

And Psycho-Educational Specialists 
  110 Centerview Drive 

         Post Office Box 11329 
      Columbia, SC 29211-1329 

(803) 896-4658

REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION 
[Applicable for lapsed license from four (4) months to two (2) years] 

Check one:         LPC License #_______  LMFT License #_______      LPES License#_______   

 LPC Supervisor License#______  LMFT Supervisor License#______ 

Fee:     LPC, LMFT, or LPES is $300.00 reinstatement fee per license, plus the renewal fee of $150.00 per license 
   LPC/S or LMFT/S is $300.00 reinstatement fee per license, plus the renewal fee of $100.00 per license 

Please type or print all information.  Incomplete applications will be returned.    Failure to answer all questions or make full 
disclosure of any facts or information called for in this application shall constitute cause for the denial of this application or 
the revocation of your license to practice in South Carolina.   
Remit fee by money order, cashier check or personal check, made payable to SC Board of Counselors with this application. 
The reinstatement fees and renewal fees are non-refundable.   

Full Legal Name 
First Middle Maiden (if married)        Last 

Mailing Address: 
Street/PO Box    City    State    Zip 

Home Address:  
Street (physical address required)  City    State    Zip 

Business/Work Name:________________________________________________________________________________ 

Business Address:___________________________________________________________________________________  

Telephone #:     __________________________       _________________________________ 
 (Home)  (Business)   (Cell) 

Date of Birth:_________________________

Social Security No.:  

     Home Email:_______________________________________________ 

 Business Email:____________________________________________ 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
DATE RECEIVED STAMP 

Date: ______________________ 

Check#____________________ 

Amount#___________________ 

Control#___________________ 
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Race: (for statistical purposes only)  

American Indian    African American   Caucasian   Hispanic    Oriental/Asian   Other 

Sex:   Male    Female 

* The disclosure of the social security number for identification purposes is authorized and mandated by state and federal statutes.
The social security number is not subject to disclosure as public information.

Since you obtained your initial license or last renewed your license, have you: 
1. Been convicted, pled guilty, or pled nolo contendere for violation of any federal, state, or Yes     No

local law, or do you have charges pending (other than a minor traffic violation)?   
If yes, attach a detailed letter of explanation along with a criminal records check from the  
state(s) in which you were convicted and court document(s) pertaining to your conviction, 
guilty plea or nolo contendere plea. 

2. Had any investigation, formal complaint, disciplinary action or consent order filed against you Yes     No
by anyone?
If yes, attach a detailed letter of explanation.

3. Have you ever held a license or currently hold a license, certificate or registration in counseling, Yes     No
marriage & family therapy or school psychology that has been subject to disciplinary
proceedings before a state regulatory body or had your license, certificate or registration
suspended, revoked or limited in any way?
If yes, attach a detailed letter of explanation.

4. Developed any disease or condition, physical, mental or emotional, including alcohol or
other substance abuse that might interfere with your ability to competently and safely perform
the essential functions involved in your profession? Yes     No
If yes, attach a detailed letter of explanation.
(If you are currently enrolled in the Recovering Professional Program, by private agreement,
you may answer “No” to this question.)

5. Practiced as a Professional Counselor/Marriage & Family Therapist/Psycho-Educational Specialist/Supervisor
             in the state of South Carolina since your license was placed in lapsed status?     Yes     No

If yes, attach a letter of explanation.  

6. Had your license been disciplined by any state since you last renewed your Yes     No
South Carolina license?  If yes, attach a detailed letter of explanation.

7. Have you ever been licensed in another state? If so, please list state/s and license number(s).
State:_____________License #______________Type of License:_________________
State:_____________License #______________Type of License:_________________
State:_____________License #______________Type of License:_________________

Affirmation of Continuing Education and Statement of Compliance 

I affirm that I have completed the required number of CE hours for this license for the renewal period Yes     No
Enter the actual number of CE hours you have obtained for this license.________________________ 

Biennial CE hours are 40 CE hours each for LPC, LMFT, and LPES or 25 formal (face-to-face attendance) CE hours per license type for multiple 
license holders of LPC, LMFT, and LPES.  
Biennial CE hours are 10 CE hours each for LPC/S and LMFT/S or 5 formal CE hours for each license type for dual supervisor 
license holders.   



3 

I hereby swear/affirm that I have read all questions on this reinstatement application and have answered 
truthfully, accurately, and completely.  I hereby acknowledge that failure to answer these questions truthfully, 
accurately and completely shall constitute cause for the initiation of disciplinary action against my South Carolina 
license. 

Print Name      License No.________________________________ 
(first, middle, last) 

Signature______________________________________________     Date______________________________________ 

Remember to:
   Complete and answer all questions on this application.   
   Sign and date this application. 
   Attach all required letters and information regarding “yes” answers. 
   Provide continuing education documentation.  
   Enclose money order, cashier’s check or personal check made payable to SC Board of Counselors.  No cash accepted. 

Note:   
Anyone licensed on 07/01/98, or after, as a Supervisor must maintain their LPC license to be qualified to have a license as an LPC/S 
and must maintain their LMFT license to be qualified to have a license as an LMFT/S. 

Send application to: SC Board of Professional Counselors 
P O Box 11329 
Columbia, SC 29211-1329 

Rev 06/12 

PRIVACY DISCLOSURE
South Carolina Law requires that every individual who applies for an occupational or professional license provide a social 
security number for use in the establishment, enforcement and collection of child support obligations and for reporting to 
certain databanks established by law. Failure to provide your social security number for these mandatory purposes will 
result in the denial of your licensure application. Social security numbers may also be disclosed to other governmental 
regulatory agencies and for identification purposes to testing providers and organizations involved in professional 
regulation. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law.

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal 
information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose.  The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures 
that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some 
personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and 
disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina 
Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares 
certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including 
research and statistical services.
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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING AND REGULATION 

VERIFICATION OF LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES 
AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY 

 
 

 

Pursuant to Section 8-29-10, et seq. of the South Carolina Code of Laws (1976, as amended), the Department 
of Labor, Licensing and Regulation must verify that any person who applies for a South Carolina license is 
lawfully present in the United States. Complete and sign this affidavit of eligibility. The information provided is 
subject to verification. 

 

Section A: LAWFUL PRESENCE in the United States. 

 
The undersigned _ _____, of _ _ 

(Print clearly First, Middle, and Last name) (Home Address, City, State, and Zip Code) 

being first duly sworn deposes and states as follows: 
 

 
 

Section B: ATTESTATION. 

 
I understand that in accordance with section 8-29-10 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, a person who 
knowingly and willfully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation in an affidavit shall, in 
addition to other sanctions imposed by this State or the United States, be guilty of a felony, and upon 
conviction must be fined and/or imprisoned for not more than 5 years (or both). 

 

I understand that the representations made in this Affidavit shall apply through any license(s) or renewals 

issued, and that I shall have an affirmative duty to immediately advise the Department of Labor, Licensing and 
Regulation of any change of my immigration or citizenship status. 

 
I swear and attest the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I 
understand that under South Carolina law, providing false information is grounds for denial, 
suspension, or revocation of a license, certificate, registration or permit. 

 
 

 

Signature of Affiant 
 
SWORN to before me this day of , 20   

 
 

 

Notary Signature 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Print Name 

 
Notary Public for    

 

My Commission Expires:    

Check only one box: 

1. I am a United States citizen; or 

2. I am a Legal Permanent Resident of the United States eighteen years of age or older; or 

3. I am a Qualified Alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act, Public Law 
82-414, eighteen years of age or older, and lawfully present in the United States. 

4. Other: Please submit any documentation that supports this status. 

Date of Birth:  _ 
 
Alien Number: _   I-94 Number:      

(If you checked number 2, 3, or 4 you must attach a copy of your immigration documents. See 
instruction sheet for a list of accepted immigration documents.) 
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INSTRUCTION SHEET FOR COMPLETING AFFIDAVIT OF ELIGIBILITY 
 

CHECK box 1: 

If you are a United States Citizen by birth or naturalization 
 

CHECK box 2: 

If you are a Legal Permanent Resident and you are not a U.S. Citizen, but are residing in the U.S. under legally 
recognized and lawfully recorded permanent residence as an immigrant. 
PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS. 

 
CHECK box 3: 

If you are a Qualified Alien. You are a Qualified Alien if you are: 
An alien who is lawfully admitted for residence under the INA. 
An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA. 
A refugee who is admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA. 
An alien who is paroled into the United States under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA for a period of at least 1 year. 
An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA (as in effect prior to April 1, 1997) 
or whose removal has been withheld under Section 241(b)(3). 
An alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 
1980. 
An alien who is a Cuban/Haitian Entrant as defined by Section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act 
of 1980. 
An alien who has been battered or subjected to extreme cruelty, or whose child or parent has been battered or 
subject to extreme cruelty. 
PROVIDE A COPY OF ALL IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS. 

 
 

ACCEPTED IMMIGRATION DOCUMENTS: 

Unexpired Reentry Permit (I-327) 
Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card With Photograph (I-551) 
Unexpired Refugee Travel Document (I-571) 
Unexpired Employment Authorization Card Which Contains a Photograph (I-766) 
Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language) 
Temporary I-551 Stamp (on passport or I-94) 
I-94 (Arrival/Departure Record) in Unexpired Foreign Passport 
I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant, F-1, Student Status) 
DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor, J-1, Status) 
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