South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

9
IILR South Carolina Board of Funeral Service
110 Centerview Dr.  Columbia « SC» 29210
Q P.0. Box 11329 « Columbia  SC 29211-1329

Phone: 803-896-4497 « Contact.Funeral@llr.sc.gov « Fax: 803-896-4554
llr.sc.gov/fs

Crematory Operator Requirements and Registration Process Overview

Before calling in to the Board Office - You may check your registration status online at:
https://llr.sc.gov/fs/

Reqistration Requirements:
An individual is qualified to receive a Crematory Operator registration when the following
requirements are met:

1. Submit a complete application and pay the application fee to the Board.

2. Successfully complete a Board-approved crematory operator training course and submit the
certification of completion to the Board.

3. Provide the Board with an official statewide criminal background check for every state you have
resided in within the past 5 years.

Registration Process Overview:

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not
received within this one (1) year period; you must resubmit the application. This includes, but is not
limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

1 Application — In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:

= Application Fee: $50 application fee made out to SC Board of Funeral Service. (Fees
are non-refundable and non-transferable) A returned check fee of up to $30, or an
amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds.

= Identification:
= Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport, or military ID

= Copy of your Social Security Card

= Crematory Operator Training: A copy of the certificate of completion from a Board-
approved crematory operator training course must be submitted with your application.
The current Board-approved training courses are:

= NFDA Cremation Certification Program — For information on this program,
visit the National Funeral Directors Association at
https://nfda.org/education/cremationcertification.

= CANA’s Crematory Operations Certification Program — For more information
on this program, visit the Cremation Association of North America at
https://www.cremationassociation.org/cocp.html

= Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence


https://llr.sc.gov/fs/
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= L egal documentation of name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)

= Background Check: An official statewide criminal background check for the state(s)
you have resided in within the past five (5) years is required. If a conviction (or guilty
plea) is reported, the applicant must provide a written explanation on the matter.
Applicants with prior criminal convictions and/or guilty pleas will be reviewed on a
case-by-case basis and may be required to appear before the Board regarding the
background check results.

= Personal History Questions: For any “Yes” answers to the Personal History
questions, a written explanation must be provided. Additional information may be
requested by the Board office or an appearance before the Board may be necessary.

Issuance of Registration: Upon receipt of a complete approved application, the Board office
will send notification of registration. A copy of the registration may be printed from the
Online Portal at https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/LoginPage?ReturnUrl=%2fSSO%2f.
A physical copy of the certificate will be mailed to the mailing address indicated on the
application.
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