South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
South Carolina Board of Funeral Service
110 Centerview Dr. « Columbia ¢ SC e 29210
P.0.Box 11329 ¢ Columbia ¢ SC 29211-1329
Phone: 803-896-4497 « Contact.Funeral@Ilr.sc.gov ¢ Fax: 803-896-4554
www.lIronline.com/POL/Funeral/

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FUNERAL DIRECTOR AND/OR EMBALMER LICENSE

When submitting an application to the Board’s Office for a funeral director, embalmer or funeral
director/embalmer license, the requirements are as follows:

e Submit your application by making the applicable application fee via Visa, Mastercard or E-
Check. A returned check fee of up to $30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all
returned funds.

$100 - Funeral Director $100 - Embalmer $150 - Funeral Director/Embalmer

Upload a copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued 1D, Passport or Military 1D

Upload a copy of your social security card

Upload the notarized signature affidavit with a 2”x2” color photo (Passport Type Photo) attached
Upload a completed Verification of Apprenticeship Form (Exam Only)

Upload an official statewide background check from your state(s) of residence covering the past
5 years. (SC: www.sled.sc.gov)

e Upload legal documentation for name change (marriage cert, divorce decree, court order, etc), if
applicable

Have submitted directly to the Board office address above from the issuing agent:

e Official copy of transcripts from an accredited mortuary college of a regionally accredited
academic college approved by the Board.

e Certified copy of National Grades from The International Conference for Funeral Director and/or
Embalmer Exam(s). Contact information www.theconferenceonline.org or (479) 442-7076.

e Verification of out of state licensure, if applicable
ALL APPLICANTS:

STATEWIDE BACKGROUND CHECK

Please provide a statewide background check from the state(s) you have resided in for the past five (5)
years. An applicant for licensure as an embalmer/funeral director must not have been convicted of a
violent crime of found guilty or a felony or crime of moral turpitude. (S.C. Code Section 40-19-230)

VERIFICATION OF COMPLETED APPRENTICESHIP (unless applying by reciprocity):

Have the Verification of Completed Apprenticeship filled out and signed by all required parties. Form is located
within this packet or there is a link on the website to download.
http://llronline.com/POL/Funeral/index.asp?file=pub.htm
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EDUCATION:

Contact the accredited mortuary college or the regionally accredited academic college that has been
approved by the Board and have your official transcripts sent directly to the SC Board of Funeral
Service.

NATIONAL EXAM:

Contact the International Conference for Funeral Director and have a certified copy of your National Grades
and/or Embalmer Exam(s). Contact information www.theconferenceonline.org or (479) 442-7076.

ENDORSEMENT APPLICANT:
An applicant for licensure as an embalmer or funeral director by endorsement must:

Submit proof of a current, active, and unrestricted license of at least five (5) years duration under the laws of
another state or territory that had requirements that were, at the date of licensure, equivalent to the requirements in
effect at the time of application in South Carolina.

Verification of Out-of-State Licensure:
Contact the State Funeral Board you are licensed in and have a license verification sent directly to the
SC Board of Funeral Services (Address is located on the top of these instructions.).

Once an application and other necessary documentation has been received, your name will be forwarded
to The International Conference for eligibility to take the exam(s). Once your name has been forwarded
to The International Conference, you will receive a letter from the Board indicating where to print your
exam application(s) from. The state law exam is based on the Funeral Service Law and Rules and
Regulations of the Board, Preneed and the Safe Cremation Act, which can be found on our website at
http://llronline.com/POL/Funeral/index.asp?file=pub.htm. For additional assistance or clarification,
contact the Board’s Office at (803) 896-4497.

If for any reason you must appear before the Board the completed application packet must be in our
office no later than 10 business days prior to the Board meeting date if you wish to be on the Board
meeting agenda.

After you submit your application by making payment, you may check your application by clicking on
the following link and using your username and password. Please allow up to 24 hours after making
payment for your application to be transmitted to our office. Processing time (initial review of items
submitted) may take between 7-10 business days.

https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/LoginPage

FD-Embalmer App Instructions- Electronic (8/2016) Page 2 of 2


http://www.theconferenceonline.org/
http://llronline.com/POL/Funeral/index.asp?file=pub.htm
https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/LoginPage

