# SC LIQUEFIED PETROLEUM GAS BOARD

## **OFFICE INFORMATION**

#### **OFFICE STAFF**

Molly Price – Administrator Janene Medlin – Program Assistant Hardwick Stuart – Advice Counsel

#### **OFFICE CONTACT INFORMATION**

110 Centerview Drive PO Box 11329 Columbia, SC 29211-1329 Phone: (803) 896-5571 Fax: (803) 896-9651

#### **OFFICE HOURS**

The Board is open Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m., except on the following State holidays:

- Wednesday, July 4, 2018, for Independence Day.
- Monday, September 3, 2018, for Labor Day.
- Monday, November 12, 2018, for Veteran's Day.
- Thursday Friday, November 22-23, 2018, for Thanksgiving Day
- Monday Wednesday, December 24-26, 2016, for Christmas Day.

### **BOARD MEMBERS**

**Richard O'Sheal** Chairman LP Gas Dealer

**John D. Butcher** Vice - Chairman General Public

**Robert Freeman, III** LP Gas Dealer **John A. Irick** LP Gas Installer

**Larry A. Lucas, Jr**. General Public

**Anthony Segars** Fire Service

**Jerry R. Tindal** General Public



## MEETING DATES

The SC Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board will meet at the SC Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, Kingstree Building, room 105 at 10 a.m. on the following date:

September 6, 2018

#### CONTENTS

Renewals	2
Examination Info	3
FAQs	4

# RENEWALS

# 2018-2020

Renewal Applications for the South Carolina Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board are now available online at <u>www.llr.sc.gov/POL/LPGas</u>.

Licenses and permits must be renewed before June 30, 2018. A late fee of \$100 will be applied to all renewal applications postmarked July 1, 2018– August 31, 2018. After August 31<sup>st</sup>, SC Code of Laws §40-82-220(G) requires that you re-apply and take the examination(s) before you can reinstate your license.

LP Gas Employee Permit holders, if you have chosen to have all correspondence sent to your employer, it is **YOUR** responsibility to ensure the permit is renewed.

If you have any questions, you may contact the Board office by telephone at (803) 896-5571, or by email: <u>Contact.LPGas@llr.sc.gov.</u>

The South Carolina Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board is now part of LLR's Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing. The Board is located at the S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Office, 110 Centerview Drive in Columbia.

#### LICENSE RENEWAL FEES

- **Dealer License** renewed on or before June 30, 2018, fee is \$400.
- Installer License renewed on or before June 30, 2018, fee is \$200.
- **Reseller License** renewed on or before June 30, 2018, fee is \$150.
- **Transporter License** renewed on or before June 30, 2018, fee is \$500.
- Utility Plant License renewed on or before June 30, 2018, fee is \$500.
- Cylinder Exchange License renewed on or before June 30, 2018, fee is \$200 (1-25 racks); \$400 (26-100 racks); \$600 (101-499 racks); \$800 (500-999 racks); \$1,000 (1,000 or more racks).
- Employee Permit renewed on or before June 30, 2018, fee is \$50.
- A late fee of \$100 will be applied to all renewals postmarked July 1, 2018 – August 31, 2018. After August 31<sup>st</sup>, re-application and examination must be completed.

# EXAMINATIONS

#### <u>DATES</u>

Exams will be held at the SC Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulations at 110 Centerview Drive, Columbia, SC 29210 in the Kingstree Training Room (room 102), unless otherwise indicated.

> July 27 August 3 August 17 (room 204) September 7 September 21 (room 204) October 5 October 19 November 2 (room 204) November 16 December 7 December 21

The examinations are open-book. Study materials only are permitted. Booklets or pamphlets provided by employers or suppliers will not be allowed into the testing site. The Board does not supply NFPA booklets, and sharing of study materials during testing is not allowed.

#### STUDY MATERIALS

<u>Reseller Examination</u>: NFPA 58, 2008, 2011 or 2014 edition; LP Gas State Statue 40-82-70; SC LP Gas Regulations Subarticle 5

<u>Dealer and Installer Examination</u>: NFPA 54, 2009 edition; NFPA 58, 2008, 2011 or 2014 edition; NFPA 59, 2009 edition; LP Gas State Statue 40-82-70; SC LP Gas Regulations Subarticle 5

#### EXAMINATION REGISTRATION

A complete LP Gas Employee Permit Application must be submitted to the Board prior to an examination being scheduled. An application can be found at www.llr.sc.gov/POL/LPGas/index.asp?file=pub.htm.

Once the application is processed, a letter will be sent confirming your examination date. Board staff will accommodate examination date requests based on availability.

#### **RE-EXAMINATION**

A request for re-examination may be submitted to the office along with a check, money order or credit authorization form for \$25 made payable to the LP Gas Board. A re-examination form can be found at <u>www.llr.sc.gov/POL/LPGas/index.asp?file=pub.htm</u>. Once the Board has processed the request, a letter will be sent confirming your examination date.

Any applicant who fails the written examination for the second time, is required to wait at least thirty (30) days before reapplying, per SC Code of Regulations, Section 71-8304.4(B)(2).

#### EXAMINATION REVIEW COMMITTEE

At the October 4, 2017, meeting, the Board approved the creation of an Examination Review Committee. The Committee is tasked with developing new examinations for all LP Gas licensure categories. New examinations are slated for implementation in 2019.

# FAQS

## As a Liquefied Petroleum Gas Dealer, how do I obtain a final inspection of a new site location?

Once the supplier of propane has ensured that the installation of equipment is compliant with appropriate codes and standards, the dealer (supplier) must request an inspection of the equipment/installation by calling (803) 896-5571 or emailing contact.lpgas@llr.sc.gov.

## Is there an age requirement for working with propane in South Carolina?

Yes, employees must be at least 18 years old.

#### How long are the licenses and permit cards valid?

Board licenses and permits are valid for a two-year period. All licenses and permits expire every two years on June 30, regardless of the date issued (even years). All licenses and permits must be kept active. Those operating under inactive licenses and permits may be subject to disciplinary action by the Board. LP Gas employees who allow their permits to lapse must retake and pass the appropriate examination to reobtain a permit.

#### Does South Carolina have reciprocity with other states?

Reciprocity is not offered. In order to work with LP Gas in South Carolina, you must pass the required examination.



#### Does everyone who pumps propane have to be certified and hold a permit card?

No, employees may work under a permitted employee's certification. However, the permitted employee is responsible for the training of others, and is the responsible party for that location. This training must be documented in writing in each employee's training file.