

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation South Carolina Board of Nursing

110 Centerview Dr • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 12367 • Columbia • SC • 29211-2367 Phone: 803-896-4550 • NURSEBOARD@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4515 llr.sc.gov/nurse

REQUIREMENTS AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR APRN PRESCRIPTION AUTHORITY APPLICATION

An Nurse Practitioner (NP), Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM), or Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) who applies for prescriptive authority must comply with the following requirements pursuant to Section 40-33-34(E)(1) by submitting the following:

Initial Prescriptive Authority Applicant

After obtaining a SC nurse practitioner, certified nurse mid-wife, or clinical nurse specialist license, a prescriptive authority application may be completed with the following requirement(s):

- Provide evidence of completion of forty-five (45) contact hours of education in pharmacotherapeutics acceptable to the board, within two (2) years before application. At least fifteen (15) of the forty-five (45) hours should be in controlled substances.
 - New graduates (graduated within two (2) years before the application) who have completed a graduate level pharmacology course meet the educational requirements for prescriptive authority and controlled substances.

Note: If your official college transcript was provided with your initial application, you do not need to send in another transcript.

Endorsement Applicant with Existing Out-of-State Prescriptive Authority

(Has an existing out-of-state prescriptive authority license.)

After obtaining a SC nurse practitioner, certified nurse mid-wife, or clinical nurse specialist license, a prescriptive authority application may be completed with the following requirement(s):

- a current state-issued license verification or a current DEA registration that reflects current prescriptive authority licensure;
- show proof of twenty (20) contact hours in pharmacotherapeutics within two (2) years before application. At least fifteen (15) of the twenty (20) hours should be in controlled substances.

Requirements for Reactivating/Reinstating Prescriptive Authority

- Applicants whose privileges have lapsed for less than six (6) months do not require additional contact hours.
- Applicants whose privileges have lapsed for more than six (6) months or who previously held prescriptive authority in another state whose privileges in that state have expired by more than six (6) months, must meet the requirements of a first time applicant (see Initial prescriptive authority).

Board Approved Listing for Pharmacotherapeutics Education:

https://llr.sc.gov/nurse/PDF/Board_Approved_Listing_for_Pharmacotherapeutics_Education.pdf

APPLICATION FOR PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY DO NOT FAX OR EMAIL APPLICATIONS – THEY WILL NOT BE PROCESSED.

- Complete this prescriptive authority application and submit with the required \$20 fee. You may submit a check or money order in the amount of \$20, payable to the SC Board of Nursing. Application fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law may be assessed on all returned or insufficient funds.
- Submit supporting documentation as indicated in the Requirements above, if applicable.

Application By:

□ Initial Application	Endorsement Application		
Reactivate/Reinstate - Date license inactive/expired:			

APPLICANT INFORMATION

Last Name:	First:	Middle:	Suffix:
Mailing Address:			
C	(Street, City, State, Zip)		
Phone:	Last 5 of SSN:	SC License No.:	
Email Address:			(NP, CNM or CNS)
Primary Practice/Agency:		Phone:	
Address:			
	(Street, City, State, Zip)		

PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY INFORMATION

1.	Do you have an active NP, CNM or CNS license with Prescriptive Authority in another		
	state?	🗆 Yes	🗆 No
	If YES, you will need to provide a copy of your out-of-state DEA registration or a copy of		
	a license verification that shows where you held prescriptive authority.		

2. Will you be participating in Telemedicine?

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONS

Please respond to all questions. If you answer "Yes" to any question, you must attach a written explanation. In addition, if you answer "Yes" to any question, you may be requested to appear before the full Board to answer additional questions and/or provide additional information.

- 1. Since you were initially licensed or since your last renewal: Have you been the subject of disciplinary action with regard to a license, been revoked or sanctioned by any licensing authority, association, licensed facility, or staff of such facility?
- 2. Since you were initially licensed or since your last renewal: Have your privileges been restricted or terminated by any association, licensed facility, or staff of such facility; or have you ever voluntarily or involuntarily resigned or withdrawn from such association or facility to avoid imposition of such measures?

 \Box Yes \Box No

 \Box Yes \Box No

	any unresolved or pending complaints been filed against you with any federal or state agency, professional association, licensed hospital or clinic, or staff of such hospital or clinic?	□ Yes	□ No
4.	Since you were initially licensed or since your last renewal: Have you been arrested, charged or convicted (including a nolo contendere plea or guilty plea) in any state or federal court (other than minor traffic violations) whether or not sentence was imposed or suspended?	□ Yes	□ No
	If yes, attach a certified copy of the court records regarding your conviction, the nature of the offense date of discharge, if applicable, as well as a statement from the probation or parole officer sent directly to the Board from the above-mentioned authorities.		
5.	Since you were initially licensed or since your last renewal: Have you been diagnosed and/or been treated for a substance abuse disorder or any physical, mental or emotional condition which in any way currently affects or limits your ability to practice nursing safely and in a competent and professional manner?	□ Yes	□ No
6.	Are you participating in a substance abuse and/or alcohol, drug treatment, or monitoring program?	□ Yes	🗆 No

3. Since you were initially licensed or since your last renewal: To your knowledge have

We recommend having your collaborating physician and written practice agreement in place before applying. The written practice agreement does not need to be submitted unless you are audited by the SCBON. The SCBON will notify you in advance if you are being audited.

I HEREBY swear/affirm the statements made in this application to be TRUE to the best of my knowledge. A copy of the signed and dated practice protocols are on file in the office/agency of my employment and will be made available upon request.

Signature of Applicant

PRIVACY DISCLOSURE

South Carolina Law requires that every individual who applies for an occupational or professional license provide a social security number for use in the establishment, enforcement and collection of child support obligations and for reporting to certain databanks established by law. Failure to provide your social security number for these mandatory purposes will result in the denial of your licensure application. Social security numbers may also be disclosed to other governmental regulatory agencies and for identification purposes to testing providers and organizations involved in professional regulation. Your social security number will not be released for any other purpose not provided for by law.

Other personal information collected by the Department for the licensing boards it administers is limited to such personal information as is necessary to fulfill a legitimate public purpose. The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act ensures that the public has a right to access appropriate records and information possessed by a government agency. Therefore, some personal information on the application may be subject to public scrutiny or release. The Department collects and disseminates personal information in compliance with The South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the South Carolina Family Privacy Protection Act, and other applicable privacy laws and regulations. Additionally, the Department shares certain information on the application with other governmental agencies for various governmental purposes, including research and statistical services.

Date

Advanced Practice Registered		-			
New Employment / Change of Practice Request Form / Prescriptive Authority (§40-33-34 (D) (3) and (H)(4) – APRNs must submit a change of practice form within 15 days of change)					
Return this completed form by loggin			on or email to <u>nurse</u>	board@llr.sc.gov for processing.	
	PLEASE DO N	NOT FAX.			
Select type of Advanced Practice th					
Nurse Practitioner (NP)	Certified Nurse-Midwife (CNM		ical Nurse Specia	list (CNS)	
Last Name	First Name		Middle Name	Maiden Name	
Home Address (Street, City, State, Zip):			Home Phone:		
Last five of SSN:	SC License #:		Specialty Area:		
Reminder: All physicians can only work with no more than six (6) NPs, CNMs, CNSs, or PAs at any one time without prior approval by the SC Board of Medical Examiners. Updates/changes must be submitted to the Board within 15 days of change. If you have questions, please send an email to <u>NurseBoard@LLR.SC.GOV.</u>					
□ New Employment	\Box Change of Practice Site(s)	🗌 Change	of Physician(s)		
☐ Additional Practice Site(s)	☐ Additional Physician(s)	🗌 Reinsta	tement of RX		
		•		must reapply for RX by submitting an application.)	
	Lic. #				
3.	Lic. # Employer Name (Use blank copie				
PRIMARY Practice Site			add multiple practi	ce sites and/or physicians):	
(If more than 2 sites, duplicate form as needed	a)	Practice Address: (Street, City, State, Zip Code)			
Primary Physician	Collaborating Physician (All phys	Collaborating Physician (All physicians must have a permanent SC license in good standing)			
☐ Alternate Physician	Business Address: (Street, City,	Business Address: (Street, City, State, Zip)			
SC Physician's License No:	Practice Specialty:		Primary Practice S	ite Phone Number	
COLLABORATING PHYSICIANS MU		T A PRACTICE	SITE LOCATED	WITHIN THE GEOGRAPHIC	
BOUNDARIES OF SC. CODE SECTION 41-47-195. By signing this document, I affirm that I understand the limitations imposed upon physicians as set forth in S.C. Code section 40- 47-196.				forth in S.C. Code section 40-	
Signature of Collaborating Physic	ian			Date	
SECONDARY/ADDITIONAL	Employer Name (Use blank copies of this form to add multiple practice sites and/or physicians):				
Practice Site		Practice Address: (Street, City, State, Zip)			
(If more than 2 sites, duplicate form as needed	d) Collaborating Physician (All phys	icians must have a	permanent SC license ir	n good standing)	
Primary Physician		,		6 6	
☐ Alternate Physician	Business Address: (Street, City,	Business Address: (Street, City, State, Zip)			
SC Physician's License No:	Practice Specialty:		Secondary Practic	e Site Phone Number	
COLLABORATING PHYSICIANS MU BOUNDARIES OF SC. CODE SECTION By signing this document, I affirm the	ON 41-47-195.				
47-196. Signature of Collaborating Physician Date					
A copy of the written practice agreement, for NP, CNM, or CNS signed and dated by all the physicians listed above and myself are on file in the office/agency of my employment and available upon request.					
Please do not send written practice agreements unless requested.					
I HEREBY Swear/affirm the statements made in this document to be TRUE to the best of my knowledge.					
Signature and Title of Applicant				Date	