## South Carolina Board of Nursing

## **Renewals -- Frequently Asked Questions**

## **Data Security**

### 1. Q. How safe is it to renew my nursing license online?

Data security is very important to the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation. Our Agency utilizes state-of-the-art security systems to protect our nurses' and other professional/occupational licensees' information.

## **Competency for LPNs and RNs**

### 2. Q. Are Continuing Education hours now mandated by the Board of Nursing?

For RN's and LPN's the Board of Nursing does not mandate continuing education hours (30 contact hours in the 2-year renewal period). It is your choice as to which of the four continued competency options you choose for your renewal. The licensed nurse needs to select only one of these options. We strongly recommend that you print out the Competency Requirement Criteria available <a href="here">here</a> to use as a reference.

## 3. Q. Is the class I took from XYZ Continuing Education Company approved by the Board for the renewal/reinstatement competency requirement?

The Board of Nursing does not approve individual courses. The Board accepts completion of 30 contact hours of continuing education from providers recognized by the Board as demonstration of competency for renewal. The list of Board recognized providers can be found on the Competency Requirement Criteria under Education on the Board's website. Your course must be provided by or approved by an organization on the list. We strongly recommend that you print out the Competency Requirement Criteria available <a href="here">here</a> to use as a reference.

# 4. Q. Can I count taking a course in school as a nursing program under option (c) of Section 40-33-40 - completion of an academic program of study in nursing or a related field recognized by the Board?

Yes. This option will be especially practical for licensed practical nurses seeking their degree for registered nurse or registered nurses seeking to obtain a higher degree such as their baccalaureate, masters or doctorate. (1 academic semester hour = 15 contact hours; 1 academic quarter hour = 12.5 contact hours. Must receive a minimum grade of 'C' for the course)

### Failure to Renew by April 30, 2024

#### 5. Q. Can I pay and place my lapsed nursing license on inactive status now?

No. The Nurse Practice Act, Section 40-33-41 requires that your nursing license be current and active to be placed on official inactive status.

# 6. Q. I have record of my payment for Inactive Status but it has not been updated on Licensee Lookup yet, what do I do?

Send an email with your inquiry to <a href="MurseRenewal@Ilr.sc.gov">NurseRenewal@Ilr.sc.gov</a> for assistance.

## 7. Q. I have retired and have no plans at present to return to practicing nursing in South Carolina. What should I do?

You can do nothing and simply allow your SC nursing license to lapse or you can request Inactive Status by logging into the renewal portal and paying the \$15 fee for the INACTIVE status.

## 8. Q. I moved to another state and have not worked in South Carolina for several months. Am I still required to renew my SC license?

No, however, you should maintain an active license in your home state.

# 9. Q. I received a 'Notice of Lapsed License' will this Notice be reported to other states or any type of data bank? If not, can you provide me something in writing that it will not be reported?

The notice is simply a notice of lapsed licensure and is not a disciplinary action. If you fail to renew your license before 4/30/2022 the license will lapse and that information will be reported to the national database. If you would like to confirm your license status, you may verify your license on Licensee Lookup on our website <a href="here.">here.</a> If you would like to confirm the status of your license with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, you may check their website <a href="here.">here</a>.

### Reinstating License

## 10. Q. What are my options if I practiced nursing after my license lapsed on April 30, 2022 and I do not wish to sign a consent agreement?

You may request a disciplinary hearing.

# 11. Q. How often is the Licensee Lookup updated? Can I work before my new expiration date shows up on Licensee Lookup?

<u>Licensee Lookup</u> is updated within 48 hours. After April 30, 2024, please confirm on the website that your license has been updated before returning to work.

# 12. Q. Can I pay to renew my nursing license which expires on April 30, 2024 with an American Express credit card?

Currently, our online system will accept all major credit card payments or a debit card. You also have the option to pay with an electronic check.

### **APRNs**

## 13. Q. I'm an Advanced Practice Nurse (APRN). Do I have to provide continuing education hours to renew, if so, how many?

Competency for an APRN license is an updated National Certification. An APRN can look up the expiration date of their certification by going to License Lookup to see if their certification is current.

## 14. Q. I'm an Advanced Practice Nurse (APRN) with Prescriptive Authority. Do I have to provide continuing education hours to renew, if so, how many?

It is necessary for you to renew your prescriptive authority with your APRN license. Competency for an APRN with prescriptive authority (RX) is an updated National Certification in addition to 20 hours of Pharmacotherapeutics with 2 of the 20 hours focused on controlled substances. The APRN must keep these CE's in their personal file and if audited must produce them for the Board in 72 hours. **DO NOT SEND THE CE's TO THE BOARD UNLESS YOU ARE REQUESTED TO DO SO.** 

Follow the links below for:

### **Board Approved Listing for Pharmacotherapeutics Education**

### **Approved Advanced Practice Certification Organizations**

## 15. Q. I'm an Advanced Practice Nurse (APRN) and want to add Schedule 2 controlled substances to my APRN Prescriptive Authority when I renew. What should I do?

Advance Practice Nurses must contact BOTH the Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) and the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) to request controlled substances to be added to their registrations.

# 16. Q. As an APRN, how can I find out if my licensing information such as Rx authority, change of practice, certifications, etc. is up to date?

You may access Licensee Lookup to view your license information at: License Lookup

Please allow 24 hours for updated information to post.