Minutes of the Lower Coastal Commission of Pilotage Meeting June 12, 2018 899 Morrison Dr. Charleston, SC 29402

Board Members present were:

Ms. Amy Riley (Chairman)
Capt. Chris Thornton
Mr. Henry Hay
Mr. David Galloway
Mr. Darrell Johnson
Capt. Whit Smith (sitting in place for Mr. Nell)

Excused Absences were noted for:

Mr. Ken Riley Mr. Darrell Johnson Mr. Keith Nell

Staff and other present were:

Capt. Whit Smith, Charleston Pilot Assoc.
Capt. John Cameron, Charleston Pilot Assoc.
Ms. Elizabeth Hills, Charleston Pilot Assoc.
Lt. Justin Heck, USCG
Dr. Rita Melton LLR
Mr. Hardwick Stuart, LLR Advice Attorney
Ms. Annabelle Thies, Maritime Assoc.
Mrs. Noreen Milligan, Secretary

The Commissioners of Pilotage for the Port of Charleston met Tuesday June 12, 2018 at the Maritime Association Office, 899 Morrison Dr. in Charleston, South Carolina. Whereas, proper notice of date, time, place and agenda information having been properly provide to the Charleston Post and Courier and proper notice also having been posted at the Maritime Association Office 24 hours prior to the time scheduled for the meeting and quorum having been noted as present, Chairman Riley called the meeting to order at 5:00 PM. All votes reference herein was unanimous unless otherwise noted.

Chairman Riley asked the Commission to approve the agenda. **Motion:**Commissioner Thornton moved to approve the agenda and Commissioner Hay seconded it. **The motion passed**. Chairman Riley asked the members to read the draft of minutes taken during the May 8, 2018 meeting. **Motion:** Commissioner Galloway moved to accept the minutes and Capt. Smith seconded the motion. **The motion passed**. Next, the Financial Report showed that checks written since the last meeting totaled \$561.02 and there was one deposit of \$4,560.00, the Commission had \$13,529.78 on hand. **Motion:** Capt. Smith moved to accept the Financial Report and Commissioner Galloway seconded the motion. **The motion passed**.

Under Old Business Lt. Heck gave the Coast Guard report. There have been no more issues reported on the Ft. Sumter range. The pilots will continue to monitor the brightness of the range lights. Hurricane season is starting and the Coast Guard is in the process of forming a Harbor Safety Committee. There will be safety zones in place during the 4^{th} of July celebration.

Dr. Melton gave the LLR Report. There was one physical for June and the physical in July the pilot has retired (Jervey J. Lockwood, III). There was no new information to report on the Lower Pilotage Policies and Procedures Manual. Please continue to send updates to the LLR Web site.

There was nothing new to report on the Savannah River Maritime Commission.

The Harbor Deeping Project is underway and the dredging company is keeping the pilots informed of where they will be dredging.

On June 7th Capt. Whit Smith received a letter from the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers in regards to the Commission and Harbor Pilots concerns with the placement of artificial reefs. They are working on several changes to the placement of the reefs that will not impact the Pilot Boarding Area B. The Commission and Pilots were pleased with the Corps changes to the reefs.

There was no new business to be discussed.

There were no Commissioner Comments.

There were no legal comments.

Chairman Riley asked if there was any public comment. Ms. Thies said that the Maritime Assoc. had some ideas about the Harbor Safety Committee and would be in touch with the Coast Guard. Ms. Hills extend an invitation from the Harbor Pilots to the Commissioners to attend the APA (American Pilots Assoc.) Convention in Savannah, Georgia from September 30 to October 6. The Pilots will check on the cost and get back with the Commissioners. Mr. Stuart will check with LLR and make sure that there are no ethical issues.

Under announcements, Lt. Heck thanked the pilots for working with the Coast Guard during the Coast Guard Commander's visit.

There being no further business to bring before the Commission, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Riley Chairman

Noreen K. Milligan Secretary