MINUTES

South Carolina Board of Pyrotechnic Safety February 27, 2019, Board Meeting Kingstree Building, Room 105 110 Centerview Drive, Columbia, SC

Meeting Called to Order

Chairman Rodney Wyndham called the meeting to order at 10:07 a.m. Other members attending the meeting included: Kelly Campsen, Ann Graham, Chris Laundra, Josh Spencer, Ricky Howell and Stewart Robertson.

Staff members attending the meeting included: Molly Price, Administrator; Johnnie Rose, Program Coordinator; Gigi Lewis, Office of General Counsel; Robert Elam, Office of General Counsel; Erin Baldwin, Office of Disciplinary Counsel; Jonathan Jones, State Fire Marshal; and Shawn Stickle, Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal, State Fire.

Others attending the meeting included: Laci Steele, Clark Famulina, Daniel Dun, Ike Plumcid, Warren Holland, Mike Hughes, Paul Abbott, Steve Elliott, Tom Elliott, Keith Ramsey and Ike Plemons

Public Notice

Mr. Wyndham announced that public notice of this meeting was properly posted at the SC Board of Pyrotechnic Safety office, Synergy Business Park, Kingstree Building, and on the board website and provided to all requesting persons, organizations, and news media in compliance with Section 30-4-80 of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act.

Pledge of Allegiance

All present recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Excused Absences

MOTION: None.

Approval of Meeting Minutes

MOTION: To approve the minutes of the August 29, 2018, Board Meeting.

Spencer/Howell/approved.

Introduction of Board Members and Others

Board members and Board staff introduced themselves.

Staff Reports

Administrator's Remarks

Ms. Price welcomed the newest Board member, Mr. Chris Laundra and newest staff member, Johnnie Rose to the Board.

Total numbers for annual licenses issued for 2019 appear to be down; however, the Board issued 328 annual permits, 371 temporary permits for the New Year season, 30 wholesaler licenses and 4 jobber licenses.

For the upcoming July 4th season, reminder notifications will be mailed by May 6, 2019, for temporary licenses. The application cutoff date this year for July 4th season is Monday, June 17, 2018, after this date applications will be charged a \$200 late processing fee.

The Board approved task force to review the CFRS checklist will be scheduled ASAP with a meeting date hopefully in April or May. Inspection reports will be reviewed in the next few weeks and follow up citation visits will happen prior to July 4th. Ms. Price wanted to thank the owners of the CFRS facilities who made repairs and stayed in touch with her to get the issues fixed.

The Board will meet three more times this year: May 22, 2019, August 14, 2019, and December 4, 2019, in room 105.

As a reminder, Statement of Economic Interest forms are to be completed by all current board members, even if you were recently appointed to the board. Filing the Statement of Economic Interest Report is required no later than March 30, 2019, at 12:00 p.m.

Also, Ms. Price informed the Board of Senate Bill 535 has been introduced. This bill would add two seats to the Board from the Fireworks Industry. She will keep board members informed about this bill going forward.

ODC Investigative Report

Erin Baldwin stated that Mr. Gourley is no longer with the Office of Disciplinary Counsel; therefore, she will be assisting the Board on disciplinary actions until further notice. She assured the Board that there would be no gap in services.

Disciplinary Hearings

Mr. Campsen recused himself from both cases.

Case # 2018-24 and 2018-25

Attorney Baldwin made a motion to consolidate both cases due to the fact the issues are identical.

MOTION: To consolidate both cases 2018-24 and 2018-25.

Spencer/Howell/approved.

MOTION: To enter into closed session for Case # 2018-24; 25.

Spencer/Howell/approved.

MOTION: That case numbers: 2018-24 and 2018-25 be dismissed based on the State's

motion to dismiss.

Spencer/Laundra/approved.

Election of Officers

MOTION: Josh Spencer nominated Rodney Wyndham to remain as Board Chairman.

Spencer/Howell/approved.

MOTION: Kelly Campsen nominated Josh Spencer to remain as Vice-Chairman.

Campsen/Howell/approved.

Public Comments

Mr. Tom Elliot of the Fireworks Association stated that the fireworks business is a broad business and they have asked the legislators to look at equal representation on the Board. He is hopeful that the board would support the Bill that would add two seats to the Board from the fireworks industry.

Mr. Steve Elliot recommends the Board read the Bill (H. 1378 and S. 481) in its entirety and come to a conclusion on what position the Board would take. He feels there should be a liaison from the Board so there would be representation and more effective communication to relay the proper information to the Board and the public.

Chairman's Remarks

Mr. Wyndam welcomed and thanked everyone for coming to the meeting. He mentioned that he has read the Bill and he understands where the concern could come in with regards to it. He encouraged the full Board to read over the Bill and the Board will discuss at a later date.

Executive Session - Not Needed.

Adjournment

MOTION: To adjourn. Spencer/Campsen/approved.

The meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.