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IMPORTANT RENEWAL INFORMATION - 2020 RENEWALS BEGIN MAY 1st  

South Carolina Real Estate Licensees with a June 30, 2020 expiration date may begin renewing 
their licenses on May 1, 2020. Due to the impact of COVID-19, the timely renewal deadline has 
been extended until September 30, 2020. 

We will be operating with limited office staffing, so we encourage all licensees to please renew 
online and to carefully read all instructions. Detailed FAQs regarding renewal, login help, and 
continuing education are available on our website. This is a time of extremely high volume for 
our staff even under normal circumstances, and the Commission will be operating with limited 
office staffing. Please read FAQs and instructions carefully and make sure you are entering 
USER ID and password exactly when attempting to log-in.  

In addition to online renewals, printable renewal applications will also be available on our 
website. Please do not walk-in applications. Please mail any printable renewal applications with 
check or money order. Please do not mail cash.   

Individuals who are required to report disciplinary action, criminal convictions or pending 
criminal charges since last renewal will need to submit additional documentation and will be 
provided an email address during the renewal process for submission.  

If you do not have a current email address on file with the Commission to reset your password or 
receive your USER ID, please email Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov with your name, license number 
and the last 5 digits of your SSN and request an email address update. We strongly encourage 
you to use your permanent personal email address rather than a work email address so that you 
don’t have to update your email each time you change companies.  

USER ID information will be included in the header of your renewal notice. Password 
information will NOT be provided. You will need to have an up to date email address to reset 
your password or to recover your USER ID online. 

If you do not know your password, click on the "Recover/Reset My Password" link at the bottom 
of the Renew Online webpage. If you do not know your USER ID, there is also a USER ID 
request link.  

Pocket cards also must be mailed to the office location of the supervising Broker or Property 
Manager in Charge. We also encourage you to READ CAREFULLY. All routine questions 
regarding renewal can be found in this Renewal FAQ which will be linked at the top of the 
SCREC web page.  

In order to renew as active, Salesperson and Broker licensees who are not exempt from completing 
South Carolina Continuing Education (CE) must have completed ten (10) hours of CE. Four (4) of 
these hours must include the core course, and the additional six hours may be comprised of electives. 
(BIC licensees will need 8 mandatory hours including 4 hour BIC Duties and Responsibilities class 
and the 4 hour core course. BIC's will only need 2 hours of electives.)  

A regularly updated calendar of upcoming CE courses is available at the following 
link:  https://llr.sc.gov/re/recpdf/Doc151.pdf  

mailto:Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov
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After September 30th, an additional $15 late fee will accrue for each month the renewal is late. 
Licenses not renewed within six months after this date will be canceled by law. As a South 
Carolina Real Estate Licensee, it is your responsibility to keep up with your expiration date and 
to renew. Licensees are required to renew whether or not they receive notice. 

I DO NOT KNOW MY EXPIRATION DATE: If you are not sure of your license expiration 
date, please utilize our licensee lookup to confirm your date. Licensee LookUp  

Renewal Information: 
• Online renewal is strongly encouraged and the quickest way to have your renewal processed and 

for us to update any changes in contact information or license status.  
 

• Please renew before the deadline.  
 

• Please do not wait until the last minute to attempt to renew. The Commission may be working 
with limited office staffing due to COVID-19. Phone support availability will be limited. 

 
• Please do not mail checks with your renewal notice or without completing a proper renewal 

application. ALSO please do not mail renewal application without a check or money order for 
payment.  One cannot be processed without the other. 

 
• Please read questions very carefully when completing the online renewal application and 

answer appropriately. An inadvertent “yes” answer could have you kicked out of the application 
and require that you contact our office to have your online application reset.  
 

• Please complete your own renewal. You as the licensee have to affirm and represent to SCREC 
accurate information regarding your CE, disciplinary or criminal history. Do not rely on others as 
you can be disciplined for misrepresentation or canceled for failure to complete your renewal.  

 
• Please confirm your renewal by going to licensee lookup more than 24 hours after completing 

online renewal. Many licensees begin the process and do not submit payment up expiring 
because the process was not completed, you can confirm your renewal through the licensee 
lookup link on our webpage. 

 
How do I renew my license?  
You can login through online services and pay via credit card or electronic check. The renewal link will be 
posted on the SC Real Estate Commission’s main webpage.  
 
How much are the biennial renewal fees? 

• Broker-in-Charge/Property Manager-in-Charge: $75 per office supervised 
• Broker/Property Manager: $55  
• Salesperson: $45  
• Timeshare Salesperson: $50 

*fees will be the same whether active or inactive status. 
 
What are the penalties for late renewal? 
Licenses expire on June 30th and an expired licensee is considered unlicensed to practice real estate in 
South Carolina. Late renewal fee: Accrues at a rate of $15 per month, licenses not renewed 6 months 
after expiration are canceled by law. 
 
 

https://verify.llronline.com/LicLookup/LookupMain.aspx
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Continuing Education  

• CE Requirements and exemption details can be found at the following link: 
https://llr.sc.gov/re/RECPDF/CE%20and%20Exemptions.pdf 

• Information on CE Broker Continuing Education Reporting can be found at the following link: 
https://llr.sc.gov/re/RECPDF/CE%20Broker%20Web%20Document.pdf 

 
I was active but didn’t complete required SC Continuing Education, can I still renew? 
Yes, answer the CE question that you did not complete CE and wish to place your license on inactive status. 
Your license will be renewed and placed on Inactive until you complete CE and choose to reactivate. If you 
are a Broker in Charge (BIC), you will need to send a paper renewal form and notify us in writing that you 
wish to inactivate and close your supervised office(s). All licensees under your supervision would also have 
to be placed on inactive status.  Downloadable/Printable renewal forms will be located on our 
“Applications and Forms” page (https://llr.sc.gov/re/pub.aspx).  
 
I got locked out/kicked out of online renewals, what do I do? 
If you are unable to log in due to repeated failed password attempts, please close all browser windows 
and try coming back to the website or clearing browser cookies after 20 minutes. It is a temporary lockout 
to prevent password hacking attempts. If you are a Broker in Charge who was kicked out of the online 
application due to answering “NO” to questions regarding Completion of CE, you will need to send in a 
paper renewal form and written request to inactivate/close your office(s). Paper applications can be found 
linked under our “Applications and Forms” link on the SCREC webpage. 
 
All information, applications and forms can be found on our web page at: 
https://llr.sc.gov/re/  
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