## REAL ESTATE

## LICENSING AGREEMENT

Between

South Carolina Real Estate Commission

And

North Carolina Real Estate Commission

## WHEREAS:

The states or jurisdictions (hereinafter "states") named above desire to permit the granting of real estate licenses for the mutual benefit of their citizens.

## NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS UNDERSTOOD THAT:

- I. Upon satisfaction of the requirements set forth below, a real estate licensee currently licensed in North Carolina ("NC") will be granted a South Carolina ("SC") real estate license without being required to demonstrate additional real estate education or experience as follows:
  - a. Individuals holding an active NC provisional broker license in good standing shall be eligible for a SC associate license upon receipt of the following:
    - i. Complete SC associate application and application fee;
    - ii. Completion of the required background checks for SC licensure;
    - License verification from North Carolina showing date of licensure, expiration date, and complete record of any disciplinary actions taken by the NC Commission;
    - iv. Proof of completing the required 90 hours of post-licensing education required by NC or 90 hours of pre-licensing education required by SC; and
    - v. Proof of passing the SC portion of the associate examination.
  - b. Individuals holding an active NC broker license in good standing with less than five years active practice as a broker (provisional broker license not to be counted), shall be eligible for a SC associate license upon receipt of the following:
    - i. Complete SC associate application and application fee;
    - ii. Completion of the required background checks for SC licensure;

- iii. License verification from NC showing date of licensure, expiration date, and complete record of any disciplinary actions taken by the NC Commission; and
- iv. Proof of passing the SC portion of the associate examination.
- c. Individuals holding an active NC broker license in good standing with five or more years active practice as a broker or broker-in-charge (provisional broker license not to be counted) shall be eligible for a SC broker license upon receipt of the following:
  - i. Complete SC broker application and application fee;
  - ii. Completion of the required background checks for SC licensure;
  - iii. License verification from NC showing date of licensure showing proof of five years active practice as a broker (excluding active practice as provisional broker), expiration date, and complete record of any disciplinary actions taken by the NC Commission;
  - iv. Proof of completing SC's Unit IIIA Broker Management and Unit IIIB Brokerage Principles courses; and
  - v. Proof of passing the SC portion of the broker examination.
- II. An individual licensed in SC is eligible for licensure in NC as follows:
  - a. Individuals holding an active SC associate, broker, or broker-in-charge license in good standing within the three years prior to application shall:
    - i. Be eligible to receive an NC broker license upon completing the NC broker application, paying any applicable fees, and passing the NC portion of the broker examination; or
    - ii. Receive an NC provisional broker license upon completing the NC provisional broker application and paying any applicable fees. They must also comply with the provisions of G.S. 93A-4(a1), which requires completing 90 hours of post-licensing education required by NC within 18 months of provisional broker license issuance.
  - b. Individuals holding an active SC associate, broker, or broker-in-charge license in good standing within the three years prior to application shall be able to obtain NC broker-in-charge ("BIC") eligible status upon having met or performing the following requirements:
    - i. Being an active NC broker;
    - ii. Having two years of full-time brokerage experience in NC or SC within the previous five years;

- iii. Submitting the appropriate form needed to request BIC eligible status or to be designated as a BIC; and
- iv. Completing the 12-hour BIC course within one year of requesting BIC eligible status or within 120 days after submitting the BIC designation form.
- III. Either state may terminate this licensing agreement upon giving 30 days' written notice to the other state.

In Witness Whereof, the real estate licensing authority of each has caused this agreement to be executed by its respective officers.

SC Real Estate Commission Signature	Ill Sendsen
SC Real Estate Commission Signature	T. Anthony Lindsey, Chai  NC Real Estate Commission
Printed Name: John Rinehart	Printed Name: T. Antony LINDSEY
Date:10/24/2024	Date: 16/17/24