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Salesperson License Requirements and Application Process Overview  
 

Before calling in to the Commission Office – You may check your application status online at:  
https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/LoginPage. 

 
Licensure Requirements: 
A person is qualified to receive a salesperson license when the following requirements are met: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age or older. 

2. Have graduated high school or hold certificate of equivalency recognized by the United States 
Department of Education. 

3. All applicants must complete 60 hours of classroom education, Unit I Fundamentals of Real Estate, 
and an additional 30 hours of classroom education, Unit II Advanced Real Estate Principle Course. 

 Exemptions:  

i. Applicant with law degree, 

ii. Applicant with a bachelor or higher degree with a major in real estate, or 

iii. Georgia reciprocity applicant (Licensed by written exam and is a current GA 
resident) 

4. Complete the Commission-approved fingerprint and social security number background checks. 

5. Successfully pass the national and state examinations.  

 Exemptions: 

i. A non-resident with an active license in another jurisdiction or whose license in 
another jurisdiction has not been expired for more than six months will only be 
required to take the State exam, OR 

ii. A Georgia reciprocity applicant is not required to take any examinations. 

Application Process: 

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not 
received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. 
This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.  

1. Application – In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent: 

 Application Fee: $25 application fee made out to SC Real Estate Commission.  

(Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) A returned check fee of up to $30, or an 

amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds. 

 Identification:  

 Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport  

 Copy of signed Social Security Card 

https://llr.sc.gov/re/recpdf/doc140.pdf
https://llr.sc.gov/re/recpdf/doc140.pdf
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 Proof of Residency: Copy of your valid Driver’s License showing home address.  

 Education: High school diploma, GED Certification, college diploma or transcript. 

Only the highest level of completed education needs to be submitted.  

 Official college transcripts must be sent directly to the Commission office from 

the school. If the school is no longer in existence, contact the State Education 

Department for records. 

 Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence 

 Consent to Jurisdiction and Service of Process (if applicable): applicable to non-

resident applicants only. 

 Legal documentation of name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.) 

 Personal History Questions:  For any “Yes” answers in the Personal History 

Information, a written explanation must be provided. For explanation of criminal history, 

completion and submission of the Explanation Form is required. Additional information 

may be requested by the Commission Office or an appearance before the Commission 

may be necessary. 

 Real Estate Education (if applicable): Copy of the certificate of completion of Unit I 

Fundamentals of Real Estate and Unit II Advanced Real Estate Principle Course. Unit II 

may be submitted after examination.  

2. Documents should be sent directly to the Board from the issuing agency/institution. 
 Education Verification: Contact your college/university to request an official copy of 

your transcript be sent directly to the Commission office. Transcripts may be emailed to 

contact.REC@llr.sc.gov or mailed to the Commission office. Only the highest level of 

completed education need be submitted. If the school is no longer in existence, contact 

the State Education Department for records. 

 Certification of Licensure: Contact each state jurisdiction you are currently or have 

previously been licensed with and have the certificate of licensure sent directly to the 

Commission office via email at contact.REC@llr.sc.gov or mail.  

 
3. Background Check: Once the Commission is in receipt of your application, information on 

attaining the required background checks will be emailed. The Commission requires completion 

of two background checks:  

 Fingerprint based check.  

 Social security check.  

Do not complete the background check process until you receive instructions from the 

Commission. Applications cannot be approved until both background reports have been received 

and reviewed by the Commission office. 
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4. Examination:  Once a completed application has been received and approved, applicants will 

be authorized to take the examination. The examination is administered by PSI Testing Service. 

Applicants will not be authorized to take the exam until a complete application is on file. 

 

Applicants will receive notification from PSI when they are authorized to register for the 

examination. Applicants are responsible for registering and scheduling with PSI. The 

examination registration fee is to be paid directly to PSI upon registration ($63 for National and 

State exam and $55 for State exam only).  

 

Exam eligible applicants are encouraged to review the PSI Real Estate Candidate Information 

Bulletin.  

 

PSI will send examination score reports directly to the Commission office. Please do not send 

your score report to the Commission office. 

 

5. Licensure: Upon receipt of passed examination, the Commission office will send notice that the 

following is required prior to licensure issuance: 

 $50 Initial Licensure fee 

 Supervision Attestation Form 

 Certificate of completion of Unit II Advanced Real Estate Principle Course, if applicable 

and not already submitted to the Commission office. 




