

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation **South Carolina Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners** 110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4598 • Contact.VetBoard@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4719 llr.sc.gov/vet

REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

Before calling in to the Board Office - You may check your <u>application status online</u>

If a license is expired for three (3) years or more, reinstatement of the license is not permissible on this form. The applicant must submit an application for licensure and complying with licensing requirements in effect at the time of the new application.

Licensure Requirements:

A person is qualified to receive a reinstatement of licensure if the following requirements are met:

- 1. Your license has lapsed within three (3) years from the date of application.
- 2. If you are currently licensed in another jurisdiction, you must in good standing.
- 3. You must complete the required continuing education as outlined in the Board CE Guidelines, <u>https://www.llr.sc.gov/vet/ce.aspx</u>, within the period of lapsed license:
 - For Veterinary license, thirty (30) hours
 - For Veterinarian Technician license, ten (10) hours
- 4. You must successfully pass the SC Jurisprudence Examination.

Application Process:

Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- 1. Application In addition to a completed application, the following must also be sent:
 - <u>Application Fee</u>: An application fee must be submitted in order to process the application. Check or money order are to be made payable to SC Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. (Fees are non-refundable and non-transferable) *A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, <u>may be assessed on all returned funds</u>.*
 - Veterinarian License Reinstatement fee: \$550.00
 - Veterinary Technician License Reinstatement fee: \$80.00
 - Identification:
 - Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, Passport
 - Copy of Social Security Card, signed
 - Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence Form
 - <u>DEA Registration</u>: DEA registration is required for licensed veterinarians who prescribe controlled substances. Information regarding SC requirement for DEA Registration can be found on the <u>SC DHEC</u>, <u>Bureau of Drug Control website</u>.

- <u>Continuing Education</u>: Documentation of the required hours of CEs taken within the period of lapsed licensure. Review the <u>CE Guidelines</u> on the Board website for course and provider requirements.
- Legal documentation of name change: (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
- <u>Personal History Questions</u>: You will need to attach a written explanation for any "Yes" answers in the Personal History Information section on a separate sheet of paper. Additional information may be requested by the Board Office or a Board appearance may be necessary.

2. Documents to be sent directly to the Board from issuing agency/institution

- <u>License Verifications</u>: Contact each state board you are currently or have previously been licensed with and have the license verification sent directly to the Board office via email or mail. We accept State Issued License Verification forms.
- **3.** Jurisprudence Examination: Once the completed application is approved, you will be emailed instructions with a UserID to take the exam online. A score of 70 or higher is considered a passing score. Do not send in your certificate of passing, the Board is automatically notified.

To prepare for the Jurisprudence exam, you should review the Veterinary Laws and Regulations located on the website at <u>www.llr.sc.gov/vet/laws</u>.