Any person desiring to be licensed as a chiropractor may apply to the Board to take the licensure examination. Applications and accompanying documents will be valid for one year from the initial application date. After one year a new application, with attendant documents and appropriate fees, must be submitted. Applicants must be within 90 days of graduation or graduated, and passed all applicable National Board examinations prior to taking the Board examination. The following information must be sent to the Board directly from the organization or school:
1. Pre-professional education transcript. Certified copy of the applicant's transcript from an accredited pre-professional college. Two years (60 semester hours) toward a degree from a college or university accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools or an accrediting agency of equal status and recognition.
2. Chiropractic college transcript. Certified copy of the applicant's transcript from a chiropractic college accredited by or has recognized candidate status with the Council of Chiropractic Education or with the Commission on Accreditation of the Straight Chiropractic Academic Standards Association or meets equivalent standards. Students who are within 90 days of graduation may submit an attested letter from the chiropractic college establishing his/her estimated date of graduation.
3. National Board of Chiropractic Examiners scores. Certified copy of Parts I, II, III, and IV from the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) with the NBCE recommended passing score is required for applicants graduating from a chiropractic college on or after January 1, 1997. Graduates from chiropractic college on or after July 1, 1987, but before January 1, 1997 must have passed Parts I, II and III and passed a practical examination approved by the Board, such as the Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC) or Part IV. Graduates from chiropractic college prior to July 1, 1987 must have passed Parts I and II and passed a practical examination approved by the Board, such as the Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC) or Part IV. Applicants must have completed and passed all required parts of the National Board examinations prior to application for the South Carolina examination.
For information regarding the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) examinations, you may contact:
- National Board of Chiropractic Examiners
901 54th Avenue
Greeley, CO 80634
Telephone: (970) 356-9100
4. Verification(s) of Licensure. Complete verification required from each state, active or inactive, in which the applicant is or has been licensed (if applicable)
5. One passport size photo.
6. Fees. A certified check or money order in the amount of $300. An application is not complete until all the required information is received by the Board office.
State Examination Requirements
Applicants must be tested on South Carolina statutes and ethics and must pass with a score of 75 percent or better. If an applicant fails to achieve a score of 70 percent or better, he may retake the examination after 24 hours.
Denial of Application
An application may be denied if the applicant has committed any act that indicates that the applicant does not possess the character and fitness to practice chiropractic, including any act that would be grounds for disciplinary action against a licensed chiropractor.
Temporary or Limited License
No temporary or limited license is issued.
A license may be granted for applicants who meet the following requirements:
1. Applicant must have practiced for one continuous year immediately preceding application to this Board. (Note: There are pending changes to this requirement.)
2. Applicants who matriculated after July 1, 1987 must meet all National Board examination requirements as set forth above in the Application Section.
3. Applicants who matriculated prior to July 1, 1987 must:
- Have passed a state examination substantially equivalent to the National Board examinations or passed National Board Parts I and II;
- If National Board examination Parts I and II have not been passed, a Waiver form must be completed and submitted from the state in which he was licensed by examination, to include subjects tested and grades
4. Verification of licensure from every state where a license has been held, active or inactive, current or expired. Verification must be sent directly from the state board to this office.
5. Applicant must be tested in South Carolina statutes and ethics and must pass with a 75 percent or better. If you fail to achieve a score of 75 percent or better, you may retake the examination within 24 hours. Applications are valid for one year only, and must be completed within one year of initial application date, if not the file will be closed and the applicant must reapply.