Licensure

A current South Carolina Registered Forester license is required to engage in professional forestry activities in this state, as defined in S.C. Code of Laws Title 48 Chapter 27.

Requirements

Instructions for applying for Registration 

Licensure by Examination:

In order to be eligible for registration as a South Carolina Forester, applicants must successfully pass the Certified Forester (CF) examination administered by the Society of American Forester (SAF), pass the South Carolina Forestry Specific Examination, have six years of experience approved by the Board OR have a Bachelor’s Degree in forestry and two-years of experience under a professional forester. When submitting an application to the Board Office, the requirements are as follows:

(1) Complete the “Application for Registration as a Forester by Examination” in its entirety. Application must include notarized signature. Incomplete applications will be returned unprocessed.

(2) Check or Money Order only in the amount of $180 ($130 two-year registration fee and $50 application fee) made payable to SC Board of Board of Registration for Foresters. Fee is non-refundable. NO CASH IS ACCEPTED. Fees are prorated for applications received after April 1st of the year prior to renewal (2016, 2018, 2020, etc). Prorated fee is $115 ($65 one-year registration fee and $50 application fee).

(3) Copy of your valid Driver’s License, State Issued photo ID or Passport

(4) Copy of your Social Security card.

(5) Criminal history background check from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) www.sled.state.sc.us. Non-residents must submit a criminal history background check from the applicant’s resident state (State Law Enforcement Agency or equivalent).

(6) SAF Exam Request Form

(7) Escrow/Trust Account Certification Affidavit (Applicable only to foresters who hold monies belonging to others).

(8) Official College/University Transcripts - Transcripts must bear the seal of the institution and the signature of the Registrar.

(9) Employment Verification form(s)

(10) Five (5) Professional/Personal Reference forms, at least three of whom must be registered foresters with personal or professional knowledge of your forestry experience.

Licensure by Reciprocity:

Listed below are the instructions for applying for reciprocal registration as a forester.

To be eligible for registration as a South Carolina Forester, the applicant must be currently registered in a reciprocal licensing state as a forester. When submitting an application to the Board Office, the requirements are as follows:

(1) Complete the “Application for Registration as a Forester by Reciprocity” in its entirety. Application must include notarized signature. Incomplete applications will be returned unprocessed.

(2) Check or Money Order only in the amount of $180 ($130 two-year registration fee and $50 application fee) made payable to SC Board of Board of Registration for Foresters. Fee is non-refundable. NO CASH IS ACCEPTED. Fees are prorated for applications received after April 1st of the year prior to renewal (2016, 2018, 2020, etc). Prorated fee is $115 ($65 one-year registration fee and $50 application fee).

(3) Copy of your valid Driver’s License, State Issued photo ID or Passport

(4) Copy of your Social Security card.

(5) Criminal history background check from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) www.sled.state.sc.us. Non-residents must submit a criminal history background check from the applicant’s resident state (State Law Enforcement Agency or equivalent).

(6) Escrow/Trust Account Certification Affidavit (Applicable only to foresters who hold monies belonging to others).

(7) Official College/University Transcripts - Transcripts must bear the seal of the institution and the signature of the Registrar.

(8) Verification of Licensure form(s)

(9) Employment Verification form(s)

(10) Five (5) Professional/Personal Reference forms, at least three of whom must be registered foresters with personal or professional knowledge of your forestry experience.

*** Reciprocity is assessed on the individual basis and only once a complete application is submitted to the Board.

Licensure by Reinstatement:

Licensees who allow their registration to lapse (fees are not paid by September 30th of the renewal year) must apply for reinstatement.

To apply for reinstatement, registrants must submit the following:

(1) Complete the “Application for Registration as a Forester by Reinstatement” in its entirety. Application must include notarized signature. Incomplete applications will be returned unprocessed.

(2) Check or Money Order for past renewal fee(s), late fee(s) and $100 reinstatement fee made payable to SC Board of Registration for Foresters. For help assessing your fee, please contact the Board Office.

(3) Copy of your valid Driver’s License, State Issued photo ID or Passport

(4) Criminal history background check from the State Law Enforcement Division (SLED) www.sled.state.sc.us. Non-residents must submit a criminal history background check from the applicant’s resident state (State Law Enforcement Agency or equivalent).

(5) Escrow/Trust Account Certification Affidavit (Applicable only to foresters who hold monies belonging to others).

(6) Employment Verification form(s)

(7) CFE Reporting Form and attendance documents:

(a) Registration lapse of 1-3 years: Complete the CFE requirements for a minimum of one year prior to application for registration.

(b) Registration lapse of 4-10 years: Complete the current CFE requirements for a minimum of two years credits during the 18 months preceding the application for reinstatement.

(c) Registration lapse of 11 or more years: Completion of the examination required for initial licensing.

Fee Information

1. Application: $50 

2. Registration (biennial): $130**

3. Initial License (including application and licensure fee): $180

4. Biennial Renewal (every two years): $130

5. Late Charge (after June 30 thru September): $50

6. Forester License Reinstatement: $100 plus past renewal fees and penalties

7. Examination Fee (payable to the Society of American Foresters): $325

8. Licensee List: $10

9. Duplicate License (wallet card): $3

10. Verification of License: $5 - (https://eservice.llr.sc.gov/SSO/Login/LoginPage?ReturnUrl=%2fOnlineVerification2%2f)

11. Name or Address Change with a new card issued: $3

There is no charge for address or name changes made for the board's record only.  The charge applies if a new license card is requested.

**Initial registration fees are prorated for applications received after April 1 of the year prior to renewal (even years, 2018, 2020, etc.) and approved by the Board.  The prorated registration fee is $115. 

Paper Applications
FAQ
FAQ