IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR ALL SOUTH CAROLINA APPRAISERS
At the August 13, 2020 meeting, the South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board voted to accept the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) minimum requirements for appraiser education and experience as allowed in S.C. Code 40-60-39. The Board’s statutes and regulations will be amended through the legislative process to reflect the Board’s decision. Please refer to the AQB document on the Board’s website for these current AQB appraiser education and experience requirements.
Renewals were extended for payment and CE requirements for appraisers from June 30, 2020 to September 30, 2020, so Appraisers can complete the CE requirements and renew up to September 30th without penalty. Before renewing, twenty-eight (28) hours of CE must be completed for the renewal period beginning July 1, 2018. These twenty- eight (28) CE hours must include the 7-hour 2020-21 USPAP Update.
The renewal extension information can be reviewed at www.llr.sc.gov/appr. All renewal information has been updated on the website. Choose the tab “Renew My License” near the top of the page for renewal information.
Additional questions can be directed to staff by choosing the appropriate option under “Contact Us” on the right side of the page.
- The Real Estate Appraisers Board next regular meeting will be held on November 12, 2020, at 10:00 a.m. in Room 105.
- Real Estate Appraisers CE Tracking System
CE BROKER CUSTOMER SUPPORT
MON-FRI 8AM-8PM EST
LIVE CHAT AVAILABLE SUPPORT.CEBROKER.COM
Hyperlink (Activate Your Free Basic Account): https://www.cebroker.com/sc/account/basic
- SC Professional Appraisers Coalition - www.scpac.net
- SC Chapter of the Appraisal Institute - www.sc-ai.org
- Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council
- Real Estate Commission
- Association of Appraiser Regulatory Officials
- The Appraisal Foundation
Important information for all Appraisal Management Companies registered with the South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board
All Appraisal Management Companies currently conducting business in South Carolina must be registered with the South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board. If you were registered and missed the June 30, 2019 renewal, you can still renew by paying late fees. There was no renewal fee in 2019, but the late fees are $100 per month up to June 30, 2020. You can locate the renewal application on the Board website under applications and forms (www.llr.sc.gov/appr). You can also find other Appraisal Management Company forms, including the surety bond form, if you choose to submit a bond to the Board.
Appraisal Management Company registrations are renewed biennially in odd years. Registrants will receive notice of their next renewal for Appraisal Management Company registration after April 1, 2021.
National Registry fees were due on June 30, 2019, from Appraisal Management Companies who conducted business in South Carolina during 2018. South Carolina has submitted all registered Appraisal Management Companies to the National Registry, including newly registered companies. All Appraisal Management Companies will be required to submit the National Registry form and fees every year prior to June 30th. We will be collecting the National Registry fees for 2020 after April 1, 2020. The National Registry form will require a report of the number of appraisers on your panel that completed a covered transaction in South Carolina between the dates of January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019. The expiration date, once fees are submitted in 2020 for the National Registry, will be June 30, 2021.
As always, please contact Board staff for answers to any of your questions concerning laws, regulations, procedures or other requirements if you are unable to locate your answer on the website. You may also contact staff at Contact.REAB@llr.sc.gov.