Examination Information

Individuals interested in becoming a Registered Forester by Examination will take a two part examination for licensure in South Carolina.

Part One: Certified Forester (CF) Examination (150 multiple-choice questions)

Part Two: South Carolina Forestry Specific Examination (35 multiple-choice questions)

Applicants must obtain a passing score of 70% on the South Carolina Forestry Specific Examination.

Applicants must obtain a scale score of 75 for passing on the CF Examination.

Requirements & Exam Registration

Applicants will not be approved for examination prior to a complete “Application for Examination” being submitted to the Board.

Board Staff will notify the Society of American Foresters (SAF) once an applicant has been approved to take the examination.  Applicants will also receive an “Examination Approval Form” via email from Board Staff. Please note, you will need this form to schedule your examination with SAF.

For more information related to the Certified Forester (CF) Examination or to schedule an examination once you have been approved, please contact SAF.

Fee Information

All examination fees are paid directly to SAF. Examinations cannot be scheduled prior to obtaining an “Examination Approval Form” from the Board.

Examination Fees:

Both Exams at the Same Time: $325

State Exam Only: $125

Retake of Both Exams (simultaneous purchase): $200

Retake of State Exam Only: $125

Retake of CF Exam Only: $150

Study Materials

CF examination study materials will be emailed from SAF upon approval for the examination.

South Carolina Forestry Specific Examination Study References

Please find links below that will assist you with preparing for Part II of the examination.

Laws and Policies:
laws.aspx

Invasive Species:
https://www.clemson.edu/public/regulatory/plant-protection/invasive/index.html
http://www.srs.fs.fed.us/pubs/gtr/gtr_srs119.pdf

Endangered Species:
http://www.fws.gov/charleston/endangeredSpecies.html

Best Management Practices:
http://www.state.sc.us/forest/refbmp.htm

Smoke Management Guidelines:
http://www.state.sc.us/forest/smg05.pdf

FAQ
FAQ
Additional Information

Any person licensed to practice forestry by any other state or country whose requirements are determined by the Board to be commensurate with the requirements of this state, may be registered to practice forestry in this state without taking the 2 part examination. Reciprocity is assessed on the individual basis and only once a complete application is submitted to the Board.