Licensure

No person may practice occupational therapy or may practice as an occupational therapy assistant without a license issued in accordance with the South Carolina Occupational Therapy Practice Act.

A license is not required for an individual:

  • employed as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant by an agency of the federal government if occupational therapy is provided solely under the direction or control of the federal government agency;
  • who is enrolled in a course of study leading to a degree or certificate in occupational therapy in a program approved by the board if the occupational therapy activities and services constitute a part of a supervised course of study and if the person is designated by a title which clearly indicates a student or trainee status including "Occupational Therapy Student", "Occupational Therapy Assistant Student", "O.T.S.", "O.T.A.S.", or other designation approved by the board;
  • fulfilling the supervised field work experience requirements of Section 40-36-230;
  • licensed in this State by any other law and this chapter does not prohibit the person from engaging in the profession or occupation for which the person is licensed.
Requirements

An applicant seeking licensure as an occupational therapist must:

(1) have graduated from an occupational therapy educational program approved by ACOTE or other AOTA endorsed accrediting body for occupational therapy or other educational program which the board considers to be substantially equivalent;

(2) have completed successfully a minimum of six months of supervised field work experience at an educational institution approved by the educational institution where the applicant met the academic requirements;

(3) have passed a board-approved certification exam for the occupational therapist; and

(4) be in good standing with NBCOT or other board-approved certification program.

An applicant seeking licensure as an occupational therapy assistant must:

(1) have graduated from an occupational therapy assistant educational program approved by ACOTE or other AOTA endorsed accrediting body for occupational therapy or other educational program which the board considers to be substantially equivalent;

(2) have completed successfully a minimum of two months of supervised field work experience at a recognized educational institution or a training program approved by the educational institution where the applicant met the academic requirements;

(3) have passed a board-approved certification exam for the occupational therapy assistant; and

(4) be in good standing with NBCOT or other board-approved certification program.

You may apply licensure as an occupational therapist or occupational therapy assistant by:

  • Examination-Applicants who are new graduates and have not been licensed in any jurisdiction.
  • Endorsement-Applicants who hold a current license in another jurisdiction.
  • Reinstatement-Applicant whose license is inactive or lapsed in the state of South Carolina.
How to Apply

Application by Examination Instructions:

(1)   Submit a complete application with fee. Incomplete applications and applications without the fee will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(2)   Submit a certified check or money order in the amount of $135 for OT and $115 for OTA. Applications submitted without the appropriate fee will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(3)   Submit a 2x2 standard photo attached to the application. Any other photo will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(4)   Submit a signed copy of your social security card with your application.

(5)   Submit a legible copy of documents verifying your identity (e.g., copy of valid driver’s license, passport, etc.) with your application.

(6)   Submit a copy of the official document effecting any change of your legal name (e.g., copy of the marriage license, divorce decree indicating the name change, etc.), if applicable, with your application.

(7)   Have your National Board of Certification in Occupational Therapy (“NBCOT”) exam scores mailed directly to the Board office from NBCOT.  If a score transfer to South Carolina is not requested when the application is submitted to take the NBCOT exam, you must have an official score report sent to the Board.  The Board will not accept copies of these documents.  

If it has been six (6) months or longer since you have taken and passed the exam, you must provide verification of a current NBCOT certification in lieu of the exam scores. 

You may contact NBCOT at 12 South Summit Avenue, Suite 100, Gaithersburg, MD 20877-4150.  NBCOT’s telephone number is (301) 990-7979.

(8)   You must successfully pass the Jurisprudence Exam, which tests an applicant’s knowledge of the SC Occupational Therapy Practice Act and Regulations.  You must have a passing score of 70%.   Upon receipt of all required documents, the Board will mail you a letter with instructions on taking this exam.

Application by Endorsement Instructions:

(1)   Submit a complete application with fee. Incomplete applications and applications without the fee will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(2)   Submit a certified check or money order in the amount of $135 for OT and $115 for OTA. Applications submitted without the appropriate fee will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(3)   Submit a 2x2 standard photo attached to the application. Any other photo will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(4)   Submit a signed copy of your social security card with your application.

(5)   Submit a legible copy of documents verifying your identity (e.g., copy of valid driver’s license, passport, etc.) with your application.

(6)   Submit a copy of the official document effecting any change of your legal name (e.g., copy of the marriage license, divorce decree indicating the name change, etc.), if applicable, with your application.

(7)   All states in which you currently hold a permanent license must submit verification of your license(s) directly to the Board. Copies of licenses will not be accepted.  If you have a lapsed license, a license verification is still required.

(8)   NBCOT must submit verification of your current certification status directly to the Board.  A copy of your certification will not be accepted.  You may request that your certification status be sent to the Board by contacting the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy at 12 South Summit Avenue, Suite 100 in Gaithersburg, MD  20877-4150. The NBCOT telephone number is (301) 990-7979. https://secure.nbcot.org/cverification/

Reinstatement Application Instructions:

(1)   Submit a complete reinstatement application with fee. Incomplete applications and applications without the fee will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(2)   Submit a certified check or money order in the amount of $400 for OT and $380 for OTA. Applications submitted without the appropriate fee will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(3)   Submit a 2x2 standard photo attached to the application. Any other photo will not be accepted and will delay the process.

(4)   Submit a signed copy of your social security card with your application.

(5)   Submit a legible copy of documents verifying your identity (e.g., copy of valid driver’s license, passport, etc.) with your application.

(6)   Submit a copy of the official document effecting any change of your legal name (e.g., copy of the marriage license, divorce decree indicating the name change, etc.), if applicable, with your application.

(7)   All states in which you currently hold a permanent license must submit verification of your license(s) directly to the Board. Copies of licenses will not be accepted.  If you have a lapsed license, a license verification is still required.

(8)   NBCOT must submit verification of your current certification status directly to the Board.  A copy of your certification will not be accepted.  You may request that your certification status be sent to the Board by contacting the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy at 12 South Summit Avenue, Suite 100 in Gaithersburg, MD  20877-4150. The NBCOT telephone number is (301) 990-7979. https://secure.nbcot.org/cverification/

(9)   Submit proof of continuing education hours, if applicable.

Fee Information

 Initial License Application Fees 

Occupational Therapist-$135

$135

Occupational Therapy Assistant-$115

$115



Biennial Renewal Fees 

Occupational Therapist-$100

$100

Occupational Therapy Assistant-$80

  $80



Late Renewal Fee (March 16th of renewal year to April 15th of renewal year) 

Occupational Therapist-$150

$50

Occupational Therapy Assistant-$130

$50



Reinstatement Fee (Lapsed Status to Active) 

Occupational Therapist-$400

$300, plus renewal fee of $100 for each renewal cycle

Occupational Therapy Assistant-$380

$300, plus renewal fee of $80 for each renewal cycle



Reinstatement Fee (Inactive Status to Active) 

Occupational Therapist-$150

$50 plus renewal fee

Occupational Therapy Assistant-$130

$50 plus renewal fee



Miscellaneous Fees 

Request license verifications online at Online Portal

License Verification to Another State Board-$5

$5

Name Change with New License-$10

$10

Duplicate License-$10

$10

Duplicate Certificate-$10

$10

Returned Check Charge-$30

$30

Temporary Licensure-$10

$10 per license

Licensee List Request-$10

$10



Paper Applications

Please select the link below for the paper application for the initial license. Please print and mail the application with the fee and supporting documents.

/ot/PDFForms/OTappform.pdf

Please select the link below for the paper application for reinstatement. Please print and mail the application with the fee and supporting documents. You cannot apply online for reinstatement.

/ot/PDFForms/ReinstateApp.pdf

Please select the link below for the online application. Online applications are for initial licenses only.

Online Application Portal

Please submit the documents below with the online application. The documents maybe uploaded or mailed in to the Board.

/ot/PDFForms/OTOnlineAppForms.pdf

FAQ
FAQ