Renew My License

2021-2023 Renewals are now open for Mechanical Contractor’s Licenses. As a reminder, you must have the appropriate Financial Statement, Surety Bond or Surety Bond Continuation Certificate on file with the Board to renew. Please submit financial documentation via the Document Submission portal. Please note, original Surety Bonds must be mailed to the Board. You may renew your license without late penalties until October 31, 2021. You may use the Owner-Prepared Financial Statement, Doc #172, for Groups 1-4.

Renew My License Online

To begin the renewal process for your Mechanical Contractor’s License, all licensees are required to submit only one of the following financial documents prior to accessing the online renewal software:

  • Financial Statement - your financial statement must have a balance sheet date within 12 months of the date renewals begin and be the appropriate financial statement to correlate with your group number (see additional information in the section below). You may use the Owner-Prepared Financial Statement, Doc #172, for Groups 1-4 or
  • Surety Bond - If this is your first time submitting a surety bond, you must provide the Surety Bond Form to your bonding company and send the original by mail to the Board. Original Bonds cannot be submitted via Document Submission. If you already have a surety bond on file that has not yet expired, you are not required to submit anything at this time. If your surety bond has expired or is about to expire, you may submit your Surety Bond Continuation form via Document Submission. NOTE: Surety Bonds payable to the South Carolina Residential Builders Commission are not accepted by the South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board for license renewal.

You can submit this information via the Document Submission portal using your User ID and Password. If you have forgotten or do not know these credentials, select I Forgot / Do Not Know My User ID and/or I Forgot My Password. Please submit your documentation and allow 7-10 business days for processing. You will be able to renew your license online once the information has been updated and approved. After staff reviews your documents, if additional information is required, you will be contacted by email or by phone. Documents are processed in the order received.

DUE TO THE LARGE VOLUME OF DOCUMENTS RECEIVED DURING RENEWALS, DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED AFTER 5PM ON 10/15/2021, MAY NOT BE PROCESSED BY THE 10/31/2021 DEADLINE. Therefore, if you wish to renew by 10/31/2021 without late penalty, you are encouraged to submit your documents by 10/15/2021. You also have the option to mail in your financial documentation, the Renewal Form (Document #175), and $135 renewal fee. To avoid the late renewal penalties, all documents must be postmarked by 10/31/2021.

Paper Applications and Forms

You must submit either the appropriate Financial Statement, Surety Bond or Surety Bond Continuation Certificate with your renewal application. Failure to submit the required financial documentation or bond will result in your license not being renewed.

Doc #175- 2021-2023 Mechanical Contractor Renewal Application

Doc #172- Owner-prepared Financial Statement

Surety Bond Form for Mechanical Contractors

Additional Applications and Forms:

Doc #142- Explanatory Statement of "Yes" Answers

Doc #180- Revision Application

Doc #165- Initial Application/Reinstatement Application

Affidavit of Eligibility Form

Financial Statement / Surety Bond Requirements For Renewals

FINANCIAL STATEMENT OR SURETY BOND REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWALS:

Groups 1 and 2 - Owner Prepared financial statement with an affidavit of accuracy, Document #172; or a Surety Bond Form for Mechanical Contractors.

Groups 3 and 4 - Owner Prepared financial statement, Document #172; financial statement compiled by a licensed CPA or a licensed PA in accordance with GAAP, including all disclosures required by GAAP or a Surety Bond Form for Mechanical Contractors.

Group 5 - Reviewed financial statement from a licensed CPA or licensed PA, prepared in accordance with GAAP principles, including all disclosures required by GAAP (cannot be on an "income-tax basis"); or submit a Surety Bond Form for Mechanical Contractors.

MECHANICAL CONTRACTORS

Group Number

$ Limit Per
Job

Net Worth
Requirement

Surety Bond
Requirement

Group # 1

$17,000

$3,500

$7,000

Group # 2

$50,000

$10,000

$20,000

Group # 3

$100,000

$20,000

$40,000

Group # 4

$200,000

$40,000

$80,000

Group # 5

$Unlimited

$200,000

$400,000

* Verify your CPA or PA is licensed at https://cpaverify.org/

Renewal Fees

Mechanical Contractor’s Licenses renewed on or before October 31, 2021:
Fee is $135

Renewal Late Fees:

Renewed/postmarked 11/01/2021 - 11/30/2021:
Late Fee $100 + Renewal Fee $135 = $235

Renewed/postmarked 12/01/2021 - 12/31/2021:
Late Fee $150 + Renewal Fee $135 = $285

Renewed/postmarked 01/01/2022 - 01/31/2022:
Late Fee $200 + Renewal Fee $135 = $335

After January 31, 2022, your license is lapsed and must be reinstated by submitting (1) the Initial/Reinstatement Application, Doc #165, (2) your financial document, and (3) $350 reinstatement fee.