Examination

Entities or individuals interested in becoming licensed in the Manufactured Housing industry, with the exception of manufacturers, are required to take a training course and pass an examination.

Applicants must obtain a passing exam score of 75%.

Requirements & Exam Registration

For additional information on how to register with PSI and schedule an examination, please review the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin.

You may contact PSI at (800) 733-9267 or visit the website: www.psionline.com. If an applicant experiences difficulty in reaching PSI on the telephone due to call volume, the best time to call is between 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m. EST.

Prior to application submission, Retail Dealer applicants must have 2 years’ experience in the Manufactured Housing industry.

All applicants must have a Certificate of Completion from the required training course. More information about board approved training courses can be found here.

You will need to bring government-issued identification (Driver’s License, State ID, Passport) and ID with your signature and preprinted legal name.

If you cannot provide the required identification, please notify PSI, (800) 733-9267, 3 weeks prior to your scheduled appointment.

Fee Information

PSI EXAM FEES

All examination fees are paid directly to PSI Examinations Services.

Cash and personal checks are not accepted.

You will need a valid credit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express or Discover) to register.

To register by telephone:

(800) 733-9267 

To register by fax:

(702) 932-2666 

To register by mail:

Please make sure you include the Registration Form located on page 9 of the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin. If you are requesting ADA accommodations or a test site outside of South Carolina, please make sure you also include the form on page 11.

PSI licensure: certification

ATTN: Examination Registration SC MH

3210 E. Tropicana, Las Vegas, NV 89121

Standard Registration Fee - $50

Contractor’s Exam Fee  -    $50 

Salesperson’s Exam Fee -  $50

Retail Dealer’s Exam Fee - $50 

Exam Reference Materials

Dealer and Salesperson Examinations

These examinations are CLOSED book. No notes, books, or materials may be used during the examination. The examination is based on the following reference material:

NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, South Carolina, Manufactured Housing 3rd Edition.,2019

Contractor (Manufactured Housing Contractor, Installer and Repairer)

This examination is OPEN book. The below reference material may be highlighted, underlined, and/or indexed. It must be otherwise unmarked (not written in) and may not contain additional papers (loose or attached).

Manufactured Home Installation Guide – 2nd Edition – by George Porter, Manufactured Housing Institute

NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, South Carolina, Manufactured Housing 3rd Edition.,2019

FAQ

Where do I take the PSI Exam?

PSI has six exam center locations throughout South Carolina. They are located in Greenville/Spartanburg, Columbia, Charleston, Beaufort/Hilton Head, Myrtle Beach and Charlotte.

How long does the test take?

The tests for contactors, dealers and salespersons are 120 minutes each.

Can I reference my training guide(s) during the Dealer and Salesperson Examinations test?

No. These are closed book examinations. No notes, books or materials may be used during the examinations.

Can I schedule my test before I register?

No. You must first register for an examination and then schedule an appointment for the test.