A current South Carolina Appraisers license is required to engage in professional appraisal activities in this state, as defined in S.C. Code of Laws Title 40, Chapter 60, Article 1.
A current South Carolina Appraisal Management Company registration is required to engage in appraisal management activities in this state, as defined S.C. Code of Laws Title 40, Chapter 60, Article 3.
You can check to see if an appraiser or appraisal management company is licensed in the state from the link below:
The Real Estate Appraisers Board in South Carolina issues licenses in seven different classifications: Certified General, Certified Residential, Licensed, Apprentice, Licensed Mass, Certified Residential Mass, and Certified General Mass.
Requirements listed on South Carolina Appraiser Classifications, Criteria and Authorized Tasks:
Appraiser Licensing & Certification Requirements:
Apprentice – After the first 3 appraiser courses (QE1, QE2 and QE3) along with a Supervisor/Trainee course are completed, an applicant can apply for the apprentice license. The apprentice must already have a Certified Appraiser who will supervise during the apprenticeship and the Certified Appraiser is also required to have the Supervisor/Trainee course. Approved courses can be found on the Board’s Qualifying Education Calendar.
Appraisal Management Company – Must apply with the Appraisal Management Company application and supply required information as indicated on the application. No classes or exam are required before applying.
Fees are biennial except where noted:
Apprentice initial or renewal - $255
Mass appraiser renewal - $255
Appraiser license/certification initial (reciprocity) or renewal - $255
Appraisal Management Company Registration - $1,000
Appraiser late penalty for renewal - $60 (July 1-31); $80 (August 1-31); $120 (After August 31 and before June 30 of the following year)
*License replacement fee - $5
*Personal name change - $5
Inactive status - $160
*Reinstatement from inactive licensed or certified appraisers - $90
*License certification - $5
*Course approval (under 15 hours) - $80
*Course approval (15 hours or more) - $160
Course approval renewal - $80
Penalty for late course renewal - $40
*Instructor approval - $160
Instructor renewal - $120
Penalty for late instructor renewal - $40
*Roster request (Appraisers or Appraisal Management Companies) - $10
*Change in appraiser classification - $60
*Appraiser equivalent continuing education approval - $40
*Bad check charge - $30 (or amount specified by law; see Section 34-11-70)
*Temporary practice permit - $120
Appraiser Federal Registry fee - $80
Appraisal Management Federal Registry fee - $25 per appraiser on panel in a given year.
*Fees listed are per application.
Applications currently on website:
Appraisal Management Company Registration: Appraisal Management Company Registration Form
Appraiser Active Renewal: Appraiser Active Renewal Application Form
Appraiser Inactive Renewal: Appraiser Inactive Renewal Application Form
Continuing Education Approval: Continuing Education Approval Form
Appraiser Apprentice: Appraiser Apprentice Permit Application
Reciprocal: Reciprocal Appraiser Application
Appraiser Reclassification: Appraiser Reclassification Application
Mass Appraiser Reclassification: Mass Appraiser Experience Log and Reclassification Application
Temporary Practice: Temporary Practice Permit Application
Appraiser Instructor Qualification (approved instructors offering additional course): Appraisers Board Instructor Qualification Application
Appraiser Provider: Appraisers Board Provider Application
Appraiser Course Approval: Appraisers Board Course Approval Application
Appraiser Instructor (new instructors): Appraisers Board Instructor Application
Distance Education Course: Distance Education Course Application
Distance Education Instructor: Distance Education Instructor Application
Forms currently on website:
Surety Bond: Surety Bond Form
Bond Claim: Bond Claim Form
Appraiser Apprentice Program Information: SC Appraiser Apprentice Program Information
Appraiser Licensing & Certification Requirements: Appraiser Licensing & Certification Requirements
PSI Candidate Information: PSI Candidate Information Bulletins
SC Appraiser Classification, Criteria and Authorized Tasks: SC Appraiser Classification
Appraiser Experience Log Instructions: Appraisal Experience Log Instructions
Licensee List Request: Licensee List Request Form
Change of Address: Change of Address
Continuing Education Course Calendar: Continuing Education Course Calendar
Qualifying Education Course Calendar: Qualifying Education Course Calendar
Q: How many hours do I need to become Licensed?
A: One thousand hours (1,000) over a period of six (6) months of logged experience needs to be submitted in order to be eligible for Licensed status.
Q: How many hours do I need to become Certified Residential?
A: One thousand five hundred (1,500) over a period of twelve (12) months of logged experience needs to be submitted in order to be eligible for Certified Residential status.
Q: How many hours do I need to become Certified General?
A: Three thousand hours (3,000) with one thousand five hundred hours (1,500) being in nonresidential properties over a period of eighteen (18) months of logged experience needs to be submitted to be eligible for Certified General status.
Q: Do my hours accumulate?
A: Yes. For example, you completed one thousand hours (1,000) hours to become Licensed and now you want to upgrade to Certified Residential. You will need to submit an additional five hundred hours (500).
Q: I am a mass appraiser and want to use my mass hours to upgrade to a "fee" license. How many mass hours can I use?
A: You may use fifty (50) % of your mass hours towards the experience requirements. For example, you are an apprentice and want to apply for the Certified Residential level using some of your mass hours. You may use seven hundred and fifty mass hours (750) towards the required one thousand five hundred hours (1,500).
Any person licensed to practice as a Licensed or Certified Real Estate Appraiser by any other state or country whose requirements are determined by the Board to be commensurate with the requirements of this state, may be licensed to practice as a real estate appraiser in this state without taking the examination. Reciprocity is assessed on the individual basis and only once a complete application is submitted to the Board.
If you submitted your application electronically, please use the same username and password when you created your application account.
If you have forgotten your username and need to request it, use the email address you registered within the application.
Before starting the online application – download and print the forms and instructions here:
If you submitted your application by paper via mail, use the email address you entered on your paper application.
If it does not show up or you did not notate an email address, contact the Board you applied with and give them this information so you may be able to check your application status online. Ensure you have allowed 5-7 business days from
the date the Board received your application for it to be uploaded in to the system.
Appraisers can check application status, print a copy of their license, change their address or request a verification of their license using the Agency online portal: