License renewal for cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians and instructors is every odd year ending on March 10th at 11:59 pm.
You are required to obtain 4 hours of Board-approved continuing education (CE) biennially if you have an active SC license and it is not your first time renewing the SC license.
What is required for Continuing Education?
Renewal: All persons licensed in South Carolina as cosmetologists, nail technicians and estheticians must show satisfactory evidence of four (4) contact hours of Board-approved continuing education specific to Board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control to include sanitation and disinfection during the licensing period. CE hours may be completed through a Board-approved in-person or online class.
All persons licensed by the Board as instructors must show satisfactory evidence of having obtained four (4) contact hours of Board-approved continuing education geared toward teaching during the licensing period. These hours may be completed through a Board-approved in-person or online class.
Reinstatement: Cosmetologists, estheticians and nail technicians - If your license expired March 10, 2021, you must complete 12 hours of CE using the 6-hour reinstatement classes located on the Board’s website, and you are required to complete a 4-hour CE course in Board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control to include sanitation and disinfection. In order for your license to be reinstated, you must submit a reinstatement application, the applicable fee, applicable supporting documents, including a passport photo, and you must submit your USC certificates received for the two 6-hour reinstatement classes and the 4-hour CE class. If your license is not reinstated as of March 10, 2024, you will be required to pass the exam again (practical and theory).
Instructors Only - If your instructor license expired March 10, 2021, only half of the 12-hour requirement may be completed online. Therefore, if you complete 6 hours online, you must complete 6 hours in-person with the same CE provider in order to gain full credit. You are also required to complete a 4-hour instructor class and these hours may be taken in-person or online. If your license is not reinstated as of March 10, 2024, you will be required to pass the exam again (practical and theory).
ATTENTION: Cosmetology, nail technician, esthetician, and instructor continuing education classes will be offered during the entire licensure period.
A Continuing Education Certificate replacement form request, from the University of South Carolina, can be obtained at USC Continuing Education Programs or by calling 803-777-9440.
Online Continuing Education Classes - 2023
The below CE providers are approved to offer online continuing education classes. When you click on the below links, you are leaving the South Carolina Board of Cosmetology's webpage. If you experience any technical difficulties with any online CE class, you must contact the respective CE provider for further assistance as LLR staff does not have access to any information that you have supplied to the respective CE provider.
CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER INFORMATION
- CE Provider Application
- CE Provider Packet
- CE Course List (excel format)
- On-site CEU Documentation Checklist
- On-line CEU Documentation Checklist