The Commissioners of Pilotage issues licenses to qualified harbor pilots for the Ports of Charleston, Port Royal, Georgetown and Little River in accordance with South Carolina Code of Laws 54-15-10 (Upper Commission) and 54-15-40 (Lower Commission). The Pilotage Commission consists of two commissions, an Upper Commission and Lower Commission. The full text of these statutes is posted on the Pilotage Commission website under "Laws/Policies."

SC LLR can assist you with examination information and materials, continuing education requirements and opportunities, licensure applications and renewals, board information, and more.

Disclaimer of Liability

With respect to any information found on this website, neither the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation or any of its employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, including the warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information, apparatus, product, or process disclosed, or represents that its use would not infringe privately owned rights.