Applications/Forms

All Applicants Applying  by Credentials:  Please note that under South Carolina law, in S.C. Code Ann. § 40-15-275(A)(5), an applicant applying by credentials must not be the subject of ANY final or pending disciplinary action in the military or any state or territory in which the applicant has held any other professional license. 

Fee Schedule

See fee schedule for fee details.

Dental License Information

Application to Practice Dentistry by Examination:

Application to Practice Dentistry by Credentials

Board Reg. 39-1, License to Practice Dentistry, was amended on 6/23/06 by the addition of new subsection D and establishes the fees for dental licensure by credentials. The application and requirements have been revised, as of September 1, 2006, and the newly-established fees are now in effect.

Regulation 39-1(D): Dentists licensed in any state or territory of the United States may be issued a license to practice dentistry in this State if the applicant complies with the provisions of Reg. 39-1(B) and Section 40-15-275 and pays a fee of $2000.00.The Board may waive $1500.00 of the fee upon agreement with an applicant to practice exclusively in a rural county for not less than two (2) consecutive years.

The following counties have been identified as "rural" counties by the SC Board of Dentistry: Abbeville, Allendale Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun, Cherokee, Chester, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Edgefield, Fairfield, Georgetown, Greenwood, Hampton, Jasper, Kershaw, Lancaster, Laurens, Lee, Marion, Marlboro, McCormick, Newberry, Oconee, Orangeburg, Saluda, Union and Williamsburg.

Dental Sedation Permit Applications

S.C. Board of Dentistry Sedation Permit Application Information

On November 27, 2017, the South Carolina Board of Dentistry will begin accepting applications for Moderate Parenteral/Moderate Enteral and Deep/General Anesthesia Permit Applications. Full wording of the sedation regulations are posted on the Dental website under “Laws/Policies” at https://llr.sc.gov/bod.

When submitting a permit application, please visit the Dental Board webpage at https://llr.sc.gov/bod for access to applications and forms. Click on "Applications and Forms" in the gray box on the right side of the webpage. Detailed instructions for completing the sedation forms and required documentation are given on each sedation permit application. If you have questions while completing the permit application, you may contact the Dental Board office at 803-896-4599, or you may submit your questions by email to Contact.Dentistry@llr.sc.gov on the Dental Board website.

Once you have completed the sedation application and the required documentation has been received and verified, you will be notified by an LLR inspector of the date and time of the onsite dental office inspection. All locations where sedation will be provided must be inspected and a permit granted. If you are a new applicant who is applying to practice dentistry in this state and offering dental sedation services, you must have an office inspection prior to providing sedation services. Other inspections will be scheduled systematically, but an inspection will not be required to continue existing services. Existing practitioners, however, do need to timely apply for a permit.

Dental practitioners, who are not administering anesthesia themselves but are providing anesthesia for their patients by bringing in outside anesthesia personnel into their dental office, must meet the requirements as noted in the Dental Sedation Act and accompanying regulations, including the requirement to have equipment onsite in accordance with the same.

Restricted Dental Instructor License Information

  Application Packet for License to Practice as a Restricted Dental Instructor:

  1. Restricted Dental Instructor Application

  2. Requirements and Instructions for Restricted Dental Instructor License

  3. Verification of License Form

Restricted Volunteer License Information

  1. Restricted Volunteer License Application

  2. Statute Reference for Volunteer Clinics

  3. Verification of License Form

Specialty License Information

  Application Packet for License to Practice Specialty:

  1. License to Practice Dental Specialty Application

  2. Verification of License Form

Dental Hygiene License Information

  Application for License to Practice Dental Hygiene:

Dental/Orthodontic Technician Registration Information

  Application Packet for Registration as Dental/Orthodontic Technicians:

  1. Dental / Orthodontic Technician Application

  2. Requirements and Instructions for Dental/Orthodontic Technician License

  3. Dental Technician Exam Study Guide

  4. Dental Technician FAQ

Mobile Dental Facility and Portable Dental Operation Information

Local Infiltration Anesthesia Information

Nitrous Oxide Monitoring Information

Apply via Online Electronic Application

Download these Instructions and Forms and click HERE to apply via electronic application for your Nitrous Monitoring Exam. This is for first time exam candidates only.

If you need to re-take the exam fill out the below paper application. OR apply via paper application

Reinstatement of License/Certificate

  Application Packet for Reinstatement of License / Certificate:

Licensee List Request