Licensure

This section is for information regarding obtaining licensure with the South Carolina Real Estate Commission as a Salesperson, Broker or Property Manager.

DACA LICENSE ELIGIBILITY:

In accordance with S.C. Code of Laws Section 8-29-10 and a SC Attorney General Opinion dated March 3, 2018, DACA status recipients are not able to receive a professional license in South Carolina.

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIRED:

Please visit the following link to obtain your SC Real Estate Commission criminal background check prior to submission of your application: http://llr.sc.gov/recheck.

Requirements

I don't have a Real Estate license in SC or in any other state, how do I get licensed?
All applicants must be over the age of 18 and have a high school diploma (or certificate of equivalency), and be lawfully present and eligible to work in the United States. If you have a law degree or a four year baccalaureate degree from a higher education institution with a major in real estate, you do not have to take pre-licensing courses for any license type, or meet the experience requirements for Broker qualification. A transcript can be accepted and reviewed to authorize you to apply for the Sales, Broker or Property Manager examination.

Salesperson license: You must complete the Commission approved pre-licensing Course (60 hours - Unit I Sales) then apply to take the SC Real Estate Sales examination. Before you apply for a license you will also need to complete an additional Unit II: Advanced Real Estate Principles course (30-hours). Passing Score sheets and proof of completion of the Unit II course must be submitted with your licensure application.

Broker license: You must have three (3) years of "Active" licensed salesperson experience within the last five (5) years prior to attempting to qualify for a broker license. You must complete the Commission approved Broker IIIA and IIIB pre-licensing courses (60 additional hours) then apply to take the SC Real Estate Broker Examination. After passing the examination, you can submit a Broker application with passing score sheets. Post examination applications will be provided by the exam provider PSI. A broker qualified applicant can also apply to become a Broker in Charge and establish an office under their supervision.

Property Manager license: You must complete the Commission approved Property Management (30 hours) pre-licensing course then apply to take the South Carolina Property Manager Exam. After passing the examination, you can submit an application for a Property Manager or Property Manager in Charge license. Property Manager in Charge applicants must also complete a 7 hour PMIC class prior to issuance of a an "in Charge" license. Post examination applications will be provided by the exam provider PSI.

PDF Exam Application

Online Applications

I'm a licensed Real Estate Salesperson or Broker in another jurisdiction, how do I get licensed in SC?

SCREC recognizes the qualifications of licensees of other jurisdiction, however one must still must apply for and take the SC portion of the real estate examination (and if applying to become a broker, meet the 3 years actively licensed sales experience requirements). With your examination application, you will need to submit certification(s) of licensure from any jurisdiction(s) in which you have held licensure in the last 5 years. You must also have been licensed within 6 months prior to SC Application.

Resident applicants with licenses in other jurisdictions who have been residents for more than 6 months will also need to take the following pre-licensing education:

  • Salesperson exam applicants (SC resident for more than 6 months with a license in another jurisdiction) will have to take Unit II: Advanced Real Estate Principles class (30 hours)
  • Broker exam applicants (SC resident for more than 6 months) with a broker license in another jurisdiction will have to take Broker Unit IIIA and Broker Unit IIIB classes (60 hours)

PDF Exam Application

Online Applications

How to Apply
  • Obtain Pre-Licensing Education Certificates, Qualifying Transcript or Certification of Licensure History from another jurisdiction.
  • Obtain Criminal Background Report.
  • Submit Application for Examination or Reciprocity (GA Residents who qualified by written examination in GA Only)

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIRED: Please visit the following link to obtain your SC Real Estate Commission criminal background check prior to submission of your application: http://llr.sc.gov/recheck

Fee Information

SC REAL ESTATE COMMISSION FEES

Examination Fees:

Application $25

*An Examination administration fee is payable directly to examination vendor. The fee for the vendor is currently $63 for both portions and $55 for just the State portion.

New License:

1. Broker-in-Charge/Property Manager-in-Charge (biennial) $250

2. Broker/Property Manager (biennial) $125

3. Salesperson (biennial) $50

4. Upgrade of Salesman Provisional License to Full Sales $25 (only applicable for provisional licenses issued before January 1, 2017)

Renewal:

1. Broker-in-Charge/Property Manager-in-Charge (biennial) $75 per office

2. Broker/Property Manager (biennial) $55

3. Salesperson (biennial) $45

4. Inactive Broker/Salesperson/Property Manager (biennial) $120

5. Timeshare Salesperson $50

*The late renewal fee is $15 per month, beginning July 1st through December 31st. After December 31st, the licensee must reapply.

Licensing Transactions:

1. License Transfer $0

2. Duplicate License $10

3. Certification of Licensure $5

4. Personal Name Change $10

5. Change of License Status

a. Activate License (same classification) from Inactive $10

b. Company Name or Address Change ($10 per associated licensee or maximum of $250 an office)

Initial Application

Pre-licensing Exam Applications

"In-Charge" Upgrade Applications

Reciprocity Applications

FAQs
  • Obtain Pre-Licensing Education Certificates, Qualifying Transcript or Certification of Licensure History from another jurisdiction.
  • Obtain Criminal Background Report.
  • Submit Application for Examination or Reciprocity (GA Residents who qualified by written examination in GA Only)

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIRED: Please visit the following link to obtain your SC Real Estate Commission criminal background check prior to submission of your application: http://llr.sc.gov/recheck

Renewals

Renewals

Salesperson, Broker and Property Manager license renewals begin on the first weekday of May for your license expiration year. Renewal notices will be sent out that date. You will not be able to renew your license prior to that date. The license expiration date is June 30th. After June 30th of your expiration year, your license is considered expired and late renewal/reinstatement fees will accrue at $15 per month. If not renewed by December 31st, the license will be canceled by law and cannot be reinstated without re-qualification for initial licensure.

All information regarding online renewals, retrieving login information, CE requirements, CE reporting through CE Broker, and the login link for renewals will be found further down on this page. If you are unable to renew online, mail-in renewal form links are below:

Online Renewals

Online Renewals

2019 Mail-In Renewal Forms